We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Count House
Ranked #47 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A home from home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed here about a month ago and cannot praise it enough. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed and showed to our room, which was perfect, we had a sea view. The rooms have everything you need including a hairdryer and a very well explained guide to St. Ives. I had a wonderful nights sleep and then delicious scrambled eggs for breakfast cooked freshly. The owners Ken and Cheryl are very kind and make you feel right at home. A perfect base to explore the delights of St Ives.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCRABTREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    17
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
78
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were part of the walking group mentioned in the previous review. All 12 of us were accommodated comfortably in this quaint B&B. We seemed to take over the whole house! Cheryl and Ken were friendly and welcoming hosts. The breakfasts were delicious, especially Cheryl's "done-to-perfection" poached eggs. A beautiful fresh fruit salad was there each day along with a good choice of cereals including a luxury muesli which even my husband enjoyed. He normally dismisses muesli as not even worth looking at, let alone consuming! Being out walking all day we didn't spend much time in the house but there was a pleasant lounge where we could relax should we so wish. The spotlessly clean rooms were on the small side but the beds were very comfortable. Our room had sea views - perfect! Other reviewers have mentioned the location but I think there are more advantages than disadvantages being at the top of a hill in a busy tourist town like St Ives. Stay at The Old Count House and see for yourself!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyann66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

An excellent stay in every respect! We would pick out the breakfasts, the warm and comfortable communal areas, well appointed bedrooms and the friendliness of our hosts, Cheryl and Ken. Nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-on-Avon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed with Cheryl and Ken whilst walking the SW Coastal Path. They were excellent hosts; friendly and helpful but left us to our own devices. The rooms are spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and a good selection of tea/coffee extras. Breakfasts are beautifully cooked and very efficiently produced; the choice of fresh fruit and/ or cereal beforehand was also very welcome. Parking spaces are on the "tight" side, but we had no real difficulty, even though there we had 6 cars within our group. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay devon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

stayed at the count house yet again............(also april 2011) nothing has changed.......still the warm welcome/comfortable beds/excellent breakfasts.......a real home from home

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amartinbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I would thoroughly recommend "The Old Counthouse". My friend and I had a wonderful 3 days here. Cheryl and Ken were warm and friendly and very professional. The accommodation was spotless and breakfasts were well prepared and presented, with a very good choice. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We are looking forward to our next stay with Cheryl and Ken.

Room Tip: Very close to Park & Ride - an asset at St. Ives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneD520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We were recommended to The Old Counthouse by my partners most trusted friend, and the recommendandion was perfect for us. From the moment we enquired via email, the proprieter, Cheryl, was warm, friendly and informative. On arrival after a long drive, We were greeted with a friendly smile and showed to a fanstasic room that was spotlessless clean, with character that is almost impossible to find these days, and topped off with a beautiful sea view! The hotel was convienient for routes out of St Ives to the local tourist attrctions, and only a 5 minute walk to the harbour. The owners couldn't have been any more friendly and accomodating, and we are looking forward to returning whenever we can!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#23 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Leaf Guest House
Little Leaf Guest House
#3 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Count House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Count House

Property: The Old Count House
Address: 1 Trenwith Square, St Ives TR26 1DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Count House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Old Count House Hotel St Ives
The Old Count House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing