We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendously welcoming and accommodating!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Count House
Ranked #50 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tremendously welcoming and accommodating!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I made a very last minute booking and Cheryl was most helpful, when we arrived late she even lent me a pound for the bus as I had no change! Ken and Cheryl genuinely care about their guests and ensure they make your stay the best it can possibly be. The guesthouse has a very interesting history and is so quaint, exactly how an English B&B should be which is just what I wanted to show my Turkish Partner. The location was great with amazing views and a regular bus into town if you if you would prefer to not walk 5 minutes or if you're too tired after spending the day surfing! I would certainly go back to The Old Count House. Great breakfast, comfy beds, safe parking, great location and lovely people! Thank you Cheryl and Ken!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    17
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
78
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I loved our visit to the Count House and St Ives.We travelled over 300 miles to be there but it was worth every mile. Much truth as been said in recent previous reviews so we don't want to repeat to much.
The place is a winner,we met friendly folk there and the hosts kept our travel home pack of Crème teas in their fridge overnight for us to take home on our last 9th day.Thanks.
The conservatory and its ambience we should have took more time in, cause its wonderful to relax there,the aroma from the garden is delightful.Wish we had taken advantage of the massage machine there to, we intended to, but time goes so fast when you're content and busy making other plans.
Great stay, St Ives, Lands End, Lizard Point,Mouse Hole,St Michaels mount and the lovely run along the B336? is fantastic close to the count House.
Cheryl & Ken our legs are hopefully ready for another visit.
Lets go.!

Room Tip: Sea view first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a beautiful B&B which is warm, friendly and cosy. Ken and Cheryl who own The Old Count House are lovely people who go beyond their duties to ensure you enjoy your stay. The breakfast is delicious, the beds are extremely comfy and the rooms are spotlessly clean!

The centre of St Ives is a short walk away which offers some great restaurants, shops and fabulous beaches.

In a nutshell, it is quite frankly hard to fault anything about The Old Count House and I would highly recommend this place! Thank you for your kind hospitality :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Wheal Trenwith, the holiday apartment & received fantastic customer service right from the start. Ken & Cheryl were so helpful, friendly & warm & the apartment was lovely & brilliant value. The cream tea on arrival just added to the great service - thanks so much x

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lissieriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

What a nice place to stay while in St Ives! The Old Count House is managed by a friendly couple doing their best to make you feel welcome. The sea view from my room certainly added value. Close to almost everything, beach and shops within a few minutes walk. Breakfast very good and quite a few possibilities. If they add freshly squeezed juice it's top notch!

Room Tip: If wifi is a priority do ask because the present wifi works not in all rooms. You might have to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerstinBjellerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palotina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is excellent: impeccably clean and comfortable. The rooms are big and many have sea view. The breakfast is simply perfect. The cost is totally fair. The owners are kind and friendly. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Those with sea view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabíola Bono F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My fiance and I adore St Ives and decided to return to The Old Count House for the second year running, after a brilliant first stay. We were not disappointed! Cheryl and Ken greeted us like old friends, and the place now feels like a home from home. We had a very comfortable room with a good hot shower and you can always rely on a fantastic breakfast to set you up for a day of exploring! It's a 10 minute walk to the sea front, where we spent most evenings. We really valued the friendly atmosphere and feel this B&B offered fantastic value for money. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8Lois8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#29 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Leaf Guest House
Little Leaf Guest House
#3 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#11 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Count House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Count House

Property: The Old Count House
Address: 1 Trenwith Square, St Ives TR26 1DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Count House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Old Count House Hotel St Ives
The Old Count House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing