We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The English Riviera right at your doorstep”
Review of Blue Hayes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The English Riviera right at your doorstep”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel is an absolute beauty! Situated just above the coast path in St. Ives, it is everything you could want in a small private hotel. Tastefully decorated in shades of blue, cream, and soft white, the coimmon areas provide a sense of space, tranquility, and relaxation. Sitting on the terrace looking out on the water, you could imagine yourself on the Riviera, a truly Mediterranean atmosphere. The rooms provide you with all the amenities, and more. We were in the Trelyon Suite which had a terrace with a water view, table, chairs, umbrella and loungers. The breakfasts are without parallel. They have to be enjoyed to be believed. The choices are endless and expertly prepared. The proprietor and staff make you feel so comfortable. Knowledgeable and helpful with all manner of requests, Malcolm and his staff have a winning combination. This is a definitely a destination to return to again and again. Blue Hayes is conveniently situated within walking distance to St Ives Harbour and restaurants.
Don't miss this one!

Room Tip: The Trelyon Suite has a huge terrace. The Master Suite looks directly on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank circe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
272
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was our third stay at Blue Hayes, after our previous visits,we wouldn't have thought it could get any better, wrong !
We arrived earlier than expected,and as arranged with Malcolm,we were parking the car at the hotel,and returning later to access our suite,however,as soon as we drove onto the forecourt,Malcolm greeted us and invited us to have breakfast,which was a wonderful gesture,and very welcome !
This year we stayed in a different suite, ( Godrevy ) we had previously stayed in the Trelyon suite,which has it's own terrace,and is really beautiful,the Godrevy suite,is just stunning,beautifully appointed,( as are all the suites ) decorated in creams and pale blues,it is a large, airy,lovely room,dual aspect,with two of the windows having wonderful sea views.
The hotel is,as I have previously reviewed,immaculate, and absolutely beautiful.
If you read my previous reviews of Blue Hayes,I cannot add anything more,Malcolm is a superb proprietor,but more than that,he is genuinely interested in his guests,and is very caring.
We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary again whilst there,and yet again we had a personalised card and champagne in our room,these are the thoughtful gestures that Malcolm makes, remembering special occasions from our previous visits.
I cannot fail to mention Sue again,what a wonderful lady ! Sue greets everyone like friends returning,and will always "go the extra mile " to ensure that you are happy,and like Malcolm,is genuinely interested in the guests.
Jade and Stephanie are two really lovely young ladies,who work tirelessly in the dining room or on the terrace,serving meals and also work on reception.
Malcolm and all his staff,( I apologise for not mentioning them all by name ) continue to make Blue Hayes,something VERY SPECIAL, (we have now booked in for next year and following years ! )
If you want somewhere, wonderful,magic,immaculate,friendly and perfect,then choose Blue Hayes,you WONT be disappointed !!

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful,Trelyon Suite has it's own terrace,Master,Bay,and Godrevy suites all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitty093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We spent three days in the Blue Hayes Private Hotel, and we simply could not have asked for better accommodations. Malcolm, the proprietor, has spared no expense nor overlooked any detail in his extensive three year renovation of this beautiful property. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary, and we arrived to find a large greeting card and a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne. The view from our suite was stunning. The location, a 10 minute walk up the paved footpath from St. Ives was perfect. The included breakfasts were delicious and generous with an extensive selection. We cannot overstate the attention we received from Malcolm and his staff. They know what it takes to make their guests in this six suite hotel feel welcomed and pampered. Visiting with Malcolm, himself, was worth the trip. If you have a chance to visit the Blue Hayes we highly recommend it. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abby1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

A lovely hotel. We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved every minute. We were greeted as Mr and Mrs on our arrival and welcomed by champagne in our room. The Treylon suite was perfect and it was great to have the privacy of our own balcony. A really quiet get away and we barely noticed the other guests. We were able to park the car in the hotel's car park. St Ives was easily accessible by the coastal path.The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts are truly fantastic and catered brilliantly for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. Breakfast was enjoyed with fantastic views of St Ives and the sea. Expensive but well worth the money as a treat.

Room Tip: Trelyon has a private balcony (but not much of a sea view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachandmart186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A lovely place. Things couldn't have been better. Malcolm and his staff are true professionals in taking care of their customers. All aspects from our room to food served were brilliant. We will definitely be back, the sooner the better. Would recommend this little piece of heaven to everyone in need for a relaxing vacation with great oceanic views and nature, good food and arts.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

It's difficult to top the other reviews-- a beautiful hotel where you wish you could curl up and stay for a week. The staff are so warm and inviting from the moment you arrive and the rooms are quite, private and beyond immaculate. We stayed in the Bay suite, other family members stayed in Treylon, both were wonderful. The views from the Bay suite are incredible. We can't wait to return next spring.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plannergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is the perfect place to recharge one's batteries and enjoy the delights of St Ives. The whole staff are incredibly welcoming (pot of tea and biccies revived us after the train journey from London) and the overall impression is that they really care about the hotel and your stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished and as other reviewers have commented, everywhere is spotless! Breakfasts are hearty and delicious. We always enjoyed the coastal walk into town and even braved a return journey one night armed with a torch.

Room Tip: The Trelyon Room looks out onto road but it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjcanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
18.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hayes Hotel

Property: Blue Hayes Hotel
Address: Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#4 Family Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Hayes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small private luxury hotel in its own grounds above Porthminster Beach, overlooking the harbor and St Ives Bay. Six luxurious rooms - one has a balcony, another a roof terrace, and another a patio and garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hayes St Ives
Hotel Blue Hayes
Blue Hayes Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing