We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply brilliant”
Review of Blue Hayes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Wow, what an amazing find from trawling through tripadvisor. The reviews were true to form and can only compliment the hotel, owners, managers and staff. It was truly a wonderful experience from check-in to check-out. The food was a delight and superb. Would recommend highly to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulObi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Apologies for late review, New Year's resolution just got around to it, we visited St Ives last summer while touring Devon & Cornwall.
Blue Hayes Hotel is a very well run hotel indeed with friendly staff and a relaxed feel.
We stayed in August, our room was just lovely - light and airey with fabulous views.
We slept well, the bed itself was very comfortable, and the bedroom spotlessly clean.
Breakfasts were delicious, with a wide choice. A great stay, well recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

What more can I say about Blue Hayes and Malcolm which has not already been said, I guess the fact that we return time and time again, from Australia, shows how much we love to visit. Malcolm's friendliness and care to detail making our holiday always wonderful, it is a testament to the man himself as Blue Hayes is Malcolm. When we stay we do so for at least 2 weeks, we find it a wonderful place to unwind and a wonderful base to visit the many historic places and little fishing villages along the Cornwall coast, always coming home to a friendly drink at the bar and one of Blue Hayes' beautiful suppers. We have come to know the staff as family they are always there willing and friendly to all. Blue Hayes just draws you back time after time or is it Malcolm.
Dr. R & Mrs S MacDougall

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heraclea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is the one if the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It is luxurious, service is excellent and the views are breath taking.There is even parking!
Blue Hayes offers maximum quality. The rooms are of a very high standard with all the little extras you expect at this level.
The hotel is quiet, calm and within easy walking distance of the town along a scenic path taking in the beach along the way.
Breakfast is extensive and freshly cooked and, whilst the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, room service and pre-ordered cold plates are very tasty. The hotel provides good advice about dining out and there are many very good restaurants to walk to in the evenings.
If you want something, or some advice...ask...nothing is too much trouble

Room Tip: The Bay suite is great as is the master suite. All rooms with sea views are of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherogburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

After looking on the Internet for a special hotel for our friends and ourselves, came across The Blue Hayes Hotel, a most amazing place from the time we stepped through the door until the day we left.
Malcolm & Jade gave us a very warm welcome, we were shown to our rooms, and to a very high standard with many little extras which made it more special, once settled in we were given complimentary tea & biscuits in a very homely lounge/bar area.Malcolm & staff were always on hand to any requirement we should need, nothing was to much trouble, and with such cheerful personalities.
The hotel decor was spotless and clean, breakfast had something for everyone and of such high quality, never needing another meal until the evening, in one of the many fabulous restaurants in St Ives.
Blue Hayes is a place we look forward to staying in the near future, that's if we can get booked in as they get booked up months in advance,having stayed we can see why so many people return.
Well done Malcolm & staff, keep up the good work.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank karmaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed at Blue Hayes over 9 years ago for our honeymoon which comprised of a tour of Cornwall and Devon staying in all the best hotels.

We have often been nostalgic for this hotel which was by far the best we have ever stayed in, let alone being the best of our honeymoon.

Malcolm is an extraordinary man and has created something unique and special in a world of commercialisation and triteness.

We haven't stayed here recently but by all accounts nothing has changed.

This review is an homage to Malcolm, his vision, his hotel and our wonderful honeymoon in St Ives.

By the way Malcom, it must have set us up right - we have 5 kids now!

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyA2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We returned to Blue Hayes for the second time at the end of August and again had a wonderful time, excellent, friendly, discreet service, spotlessly clean, fabulous breakfasts and wonderful views from our balcony over St Ives (from the master suite). Have already booked for next September as its hard to get in if you leave it till next year! No need to use the car as there are lovely walks from the back of the hotel (if you dont mind hills!). Malcolm and Sue are always very welcoming, a real gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Master suite has a lovley balcony with sea views to St Ives and a huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
307 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hayes Hotel

Address: Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Hayes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small private luxury hotel in its own grounds above Porthminster Beach, overlooking the harbor and St Ives Bay. Six luxurious rooms - one has a balcony, another a roof terrace, and another a patio and garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hayes St Ives
Hotel Blue Hayes
Blue Hayes Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing