We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every one should stay here.”
Review of Blue Hayes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Every one should stay here.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked a two night stay at this hotel for my partners birthday.
From the sec we pulled up in the car we could not have been made more welcome by Malcolm had his small team.
After taking a walk around the town we took the short walk back up the coast path to the hotel.
Again the door was opened for us and we were taken up to are room.
The room was large had stunning views and as for clean the only word is out standing...
The rest of the hotel was to the same stunning standard.
We used the bar area both nights before walking into town great drinks with even better views .
The 1st morning we had breakfast in the room while looking over the bay no better way to start the day.
If you check this place out and feel its expensive remove that from your thoughts and go straight to the booking page that's if you can get a room.
Hotel...stunning
Views.....stunning
Staff....outstanding
Food ....outstanding

A must place to visit and stay..

Room Tip: You will be happy with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
270
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our seventh visit to St Ives & Blue Hays has been the best hotel we have stayed in. From the warm welcome of all the staff & Malcolm himself, nothing was too much trouble, the entire hotel was spotless, the carpets were to die for. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice all cooked fresh & to perfection. A 10 minute walk into St Ives makes this hotel really convenient. We hope to come back again in the future. Many thanks Russell & Janet Emm. (Wiltshire).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet_emm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this weekend for special birthday treat and had the most fabulous time. The welcome was so warm and friendly and the hotel is spotless, perfect in every way. Had the best 2 nights sleep ever as the mattress and pillows were so luxurious. It felt like no one had been in that room before because it was so clean! The breakfasts were fantastic, and the views over the bay just made it so special. We were in the Garden Suite and our mission now is to go back again and again until we've stayed in each suite - and then start all over again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan44W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our return visit a couple of weeks ago to the Blue Hayes Hotel and the Blue Hayes team was, as expected – fantastic! The same high standards and friendly staff were there for us. Malcolm (the owner) especially was his usual helpful , happy and funny self, nothing is too much trouble. Even the foggy and misty weather for the first part of our stay could not dampen our enjoyment. A whole year on, and the light coloured décor and carpets were as new and the breakfast seemed even better than before (didn’t think that was possible). We’ll be booking early for our next visit, so not sure if we should be recommending it here as we don’t really want the completion…..
See you next year Blue Hayes.
Angelo and Julie

Room Tip: Avoid the Bay Suite, Its ours !!!...........:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is our sixth stay at this oasis and what can I say; the standard remains the best you can get.
Words can't express what you can expect on arrival and throughout your stay.
Attention to detail, cleanliness, comfort, views, friendliness are of the highest standard with breakfasts to die for.
Nothing is too much for Malcolm and all of his staff, with your every need catered for in an exceptional manner; I think they must be psychic as you only have to think and it's there.
The fact there is no 24 hour room service or night porter is not an issue which the inspectors who limit the star rating should consider when rating this gem.
Although the hotel doesn't serve dinner, being in a location with numerous gastronomic delights, there is much to explore in the town, just a couple of minutes away.
We have booked our next visit for later in the year and can't see a time when we won't spoil ourselves at least twice a year in the future.

Room Tip: Bay suite has great views that can be enjoyed whilst relaxing in a chair without getting up from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying here on numerous occasions and have yet to be anything other than amazed by it. Owner Malcolm and his excellent team run a tight ship that gives guest an experience they will never forget. Everything from the very warm welcome to the decor of the house and well manicured gardens lend themselves to very relaxing stays and idyllic breaks whatever the weather. This is one place I will return to again and again and would definitely recommend as a place to escape to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: Every room is excellently appointed and perfect for any needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnetteJ03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We know we have reviewed this hotel twice before but it is so worth it! Everyone should know just how amazing it is. Once you have been there, you will just keep bouncing back, like us. The spacious rooms, luxuriously furnished with everything you could want, teamed with the attentiveness of Malcolm and his staff cannot, in our opinion, be surpassed.
Breakfast is a delight, with so much on offer, fresh from the kitchen. Try the devilled kidneys, superb! Once eaten, stroll gently down the cliff path, accessed from the hotel garden, and try all that St.Ives has to offer. A late lunch at the Porthminster Beach cafe is recommended. Spoil yourselves. Blue Hayes is a dream!

Room Tip: They are all great but we like the Bay Suite. The Master has a wonderful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heatherogburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
18.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hayes Hotel

Property: Blue Hayes Hotel
Address: Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#4 Family Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Hayes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small private luxury hotel in its own grounds above Porthminster Beach, overlooking the harbor and St Ives Bay. Six luxurious rooms - one has a balcony, another a roof terrace, and another a patio and garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hayes St Ives
Hotel Blue Hayes
Blue Hayes Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing