We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is litterally the most incredable place we have ever been.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Hayes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Gambrills, Maryland
Level Contributor
276 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“This is litterally the most incredable place we have ever been.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have been around the world in the 5 star hotels and none of them hods a candle to The Blue Haze and the entire staff and Malcolm. The setting, the turquoise water, the lounges, wih solf blue and creme, the terrace, the rooms.....it is a haven.
THE FOOD.....a most delightful breakfast..anything hot, cold....and if you do not feel like going out to dinner you can order in the morning for evening. Nikki, the Chef is supreme.

You can go out the yard to the gate to the right and hit the coastal path and go for miles, you can go let and be in St Ives town in 6 minutes....or the coastal path in that direction. The train station is right in town so you can go to the north or the east......It was by far our most favorite for all reasons in the whole of Cornwall and we started in the north east and ended to Boscastle.....so I have walked the coastal path in 16 different places.....this was the best to me.

My husband will be 82 in 2 weeks and hates to travel. From the time we left our front door to get to Cornwall, southwest, is approx 16 hours. He still wants to go back and only stay here for 39 days!!
Because there are only 6 rooms, it is booked out a year and with a lot of people who go back over and over.

There is nothing like it anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: if you want a room looking to the sea you need really see if one is available but really, the lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 66travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
252
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at Blue Hayes around Easter 2014 for a couple of nights and it was every bit as good as described in the reviews. Expensive, but you get what you pay for. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. The in-house light dinners are a very nice alternative to going out, and you can stay in the lounge for drinks then stagger back to your room...or sit on the balcony enjoying the view. Easy walk into town and back, a little climb back up the slope but not onerous. There is a beach at the bottom of the path, and town is just beyond. Can honestly say we enjoyed every moment. Well, maybe not the moment of truth at checkout....

Room Tip: Master Suite had nice balcony, perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenvalley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Blue Hayes "experience" begins the moment you drive into the car park and are greeted by the owner, Malcolm. From this point on you will be looked after by the most helpful, friendly and professional staff you could wish for. The whole team, whilst being affable and engaging individuals, do all share some sort of DNA that helps to promote the relaxed atmosphere that is Blue Hayes. There is always a cheerful greeting at reception - in person or on the phone. Breakfast is a feast delivered with a smile, whether taken in the dining room, on the sunny terrace or in your own room. Room service is smooth and unobtrusive as is the exceptional housekeeping. The cocktail bar atmosphere is most welcoming (with a good drinks selection for a small private hotel) and leads onto the terrace to take in the vista of St.Ives harbour. The "light supper" menu is in fact a selection of quite exceptional cold feasts ! The public rooms are serene and tastefully decorated and include paintings and ceramics that echo the feel of St.Ives.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank syewtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just returned from a wonderfull weekend staying in the Blue Hayes Hotel overlooking St.Ives bay.I am not trying to sell the hotel to anyone as it is already booked throughout the year.It is a small family run hotel,employing the most helpful staff and it is all overseen by Malcolm the owner.The rooms are spotless clean and well presented and we had our own private terrace, which I believe applies to all rooms.The grounds are kept very tidy and the breakfast verandah was perfectly located overlooking the beautifull St.Ives bay.Certainly not the cheapest hotel in St.Ives but you will have great difficulty beating it.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at this wonderful hotel in April. The hotel was spotless, the staff was all helpful and friendly, and the view from our Bay Suite was spectacular. We were able to walk down the Southwest Coast path into town, or were a short cab ride from downtown if we didn't want to walk. The hotel is well located, not right in the hustle and bustle of the downtown.
The three recommendations for dinners made by Malcolm and his team were all excellent choices. Malcolm himself was extremely helpful with all aspects of our stay, and he even provided us with print outs of hikes we could do in the Penwith Pennisula. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

For the second time in less than a year my mother and I stayed at this beautiful private hotel. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we stepped out of the car. Our Bay Suite room was as calm and as lovely as the first time. One of the major attractions of the hotel, apart from its proximity to St Ives Bay, is the relaxed oasis it provides. Once again the staff were delightful, the breakfast amazing in both choice and quality and the whole atmosphere one of peace and style. Thanks to Malcolm and his wonderful hotel it is our intention to stay again as soon as possible!

Room Tip: All of the rooms look fabulous, but the Bay Suite is spacious, light and has stunning views of Godre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I booked a two night stay at this hotel for my partners birthday.
From the sec we pulled up in the car we could not have been made more welcome by Malcolm had his small team.
After taking a walk around the town we took the short walk back up the coast path to the hotel.
Again the door was opened for us and we were taken up to are room.
The room was large had stunning views and as for clean the only word is out standing...
The rest of the hotel was to the same stunning standard.
We used the bar area both nights before walking into town great drinks with even better views .
The 1st morning we had breakfast in the room while looking over the bay no better way to start the day.
If you check this place out and feel its expensive remove that from your thoughts and go straight to the booking page that's if you can get a room.
Hotel...stunning
Views.....stunning
Staff....outstanding
Food ....outstanding

A must place to visit and stay..

Room Tip: You will be happy with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hayes Hotel

Property: Blue Hayes Hotel
Address: Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#4 Family Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Hayes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small private luxury hotel in its own grounds above Porthminster Beach, overlooking the harbor and St Ives Bay. Six luxurious rooms - one has a balcony, another a roof terrace, and another a patio and garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hayes St Ives
Hotel Blue Hayes
Blue Hayes Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing