We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Hayes Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boskerris Hotel(Carbis Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
396
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
396
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suitegodrevy suiteprivate hotellight suppersgarden suitebreakfast menu isattention to detailhotel is immaculatebottle of champagnenothing is too much troublesmall hotelherringanniversary cardspecial hotelalready booked for next yearcoastal pathperfect in every way
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Blue Hayes sits high above and overlooking St. Ives. Each of the four days we were there, the weather was perfect so we enjoyed breakfast from the elegant porch/patio overlooking their very green backyard, all of which looks out over the water in the foreground with the city in the background. The breakfast...unbelievably extensive...was as good as the view.

Michael recommended unfailingly good choices for dinner each night we were there. They also have "light" cold dinner that look/sound scrumptious. That was inviting after a long day of walking, driving, sightseeing...to simply come back, get a bottle of wine, sit on the porch and watch the sun descend...but each of our four nights, we opted to find another good restaurant, guided by Malcolm's good judgment. That said, we ended up at one of his recommendations...Porthmeor (wonderful tapas) on two of the four nights. Alba and Porthminster were the very good choices the other two nights.

The room and bathroom were very large and comfortable. The place is spotless...largely an off white color...hard to see how they manage to keep it spotless.

We asked Malcolm for suggestions of walks, driving tours, and gardens. He produced in short order customized, color itineraries of multiple options. I have never had a place respond so thoroughly and on point. This made for four incredibly good days, driving throughout the area, stoping for terrific one or two mile walks and on two occasions spending a couple of hours in beautiful gardens...one, The Lost Garden of Heligan near St. Austell's is particularly worth a visit.

We recommend the Blue Hayes with highest accolades.

Room Tip: Ours was the garden suite, but I suspect that every room is equally outstanding.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Having reviewed Blue Hayes several times, its difficult to find something different to say that doesn't sound like a cliche, so I will keep it simple.... Fabulous stay with excellent weather. Thank you Malcolm and the team for another great holiday. See you next year we hope!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnetteLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was our first visit to St.Ives and the Blue Hayes Hotel in celebration of our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed for 6 Days in May 2014 and the whole experience from the minute we arrived to the time we left was Heaven. Malcolm and his wonderful team made our every need a reality. Personal service from a lovely bottle of chilled champagne and anniversary card in our room upon our arrival to meeting my dietary needs. The warm comfortable atmosphere wonderful Breakfasts and light suppers rounded off by great staff with interesting stories made our stay feel like we were family and I must say I shed a tear when we had to leave. Thank you all so very much for making our trip of 25 years the best memory of the 3 weeks we spent in England . We stayed in the Treylon suite with rooftop terrace and although a little chilly it was a lovely place to sit and write in my journal in the afternoons. from the back gate you can walk right into town or take the south coast trail as far as you want to walk. All in all the best hotel we have ever stayed in a great place to recharge and pamper yourself after all your worth it :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Germaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have been around the world in the 5 star hotels and none of them hods a candle to The Blue Haze and the entire staff and Malcolm. The setting, the turquoise water, the lounges, wih solf blue and creme, the terrace, the rooms.....it is a haven.
THE FOOD.....a most delightful breakfast..anything hot, cold....and if you do not feel like going out to dinner you can order in the morning for evening. Nikki, the Chef is supreme.

You can go out the yard to the gate to the right and hit the coastal path and go for miles, you can go let and be in St Ives town in 6 minutes....or the coastal path in that direction. The train station is right in town so you can go to the north or the east......It was by far our most favorite for all reasons in the whole of Cornwall and we started in the north east and ended to Boscastle.....so I have walked the coastal path in 16 different places.....this was the best to me.

My husband will be 82 in 2 weeks and hates to travel. From the time we left our front door to get to Cornwall, southwest, is approx 16 hours. He still wants to go back and only stay here for 39 days!!
Because there are only 6 rooms, it is booked out a year and with a lot of people who go back over and over.

There is nothing like it anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: if you want a room looking to the sea you need really see if one is available but really, the lounge is where my husband stayed while i hiked and the terrace.....you don;t need a sea view room to enjoy it!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 66travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at Blue Hayes around Easter 2014 for a couple of nights and it was every bit as good as described in the reviews. Expensive, but you get what you pay for. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. The in-house light dinners are a very nice alternative to going out, and you can stay in the lounge for drinks then stagger back to your room...or sit on the balcony enjoying the view. Easy walk into town and back, a little climb back up the slope but not onerous. There is a beach at the bottom of the path, and town is just beyond. Can honestly say we enjoyed every moment. Well, maybe not the moment of truth at checkout....

Room Tip: Master Suite had nice balcony, perfect view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenvalley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews