We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Fantastic Location”
Review of Blue Hayes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2006

We stayed at Blue Hayes for 4 nights in November and cannot recommend it highly enough. Our room was fabulous - we had the Bay Suite which was light and nicely decorated with fabulous views over the bay from our bed. The bed itself was huge and comfortable, with really super squishy pilllows. The bathroom was spotless and had a super fast filling bath! As for the breakfasts - they were just amazing, served by friendly staff who were happy to provide any combination of a huge range of dishes.

We were staying for our honeymoon, and on arrival we were not only greeted with a pot of tea, but a bottle of champagne and card, which was a lovely touch. In fact, this hotel really stands out due to the personal touches that seem to have gone into every aspect of the experience that you have here.

We didn't eat at the hotel during the evening, but highly recommend Alba in St Ives. If you are on a tight budget (we were!) they have a really good pre- 7pm deal.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olivia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2006

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Blue Hayes hotel in St. Ives. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and relaxed.
The hotel,comprising of 6 beautifully presented suites, was an excellent choice for location alone ( we stayed in the Bay Suite overlooking Porthminster beach) but in addition the relaxing atmosphere, friendly service and excellent food enabled us to rewind and recharge our batteries.

The breakfasts were superb with more than enough food cooked to order to satisfy the most discerning of pallates. The dinners , or light suppers as they were described, were so well presented and satisying that we ate in on 2 evenings despite the large choice of restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

In all Blue Hayes is to be recommended to all who wish to enjoy some tender loving care!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BFitzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

Having spent a week staying at some of Cornwall's best boutique hotels this one was faultless. Every attention to detail has been included and despite the fact that it has now been open for some time looks brand new inside.

Position; on site parking and very welcoming staff. Fabulous views across the bay!!

Room; delightful, well furnished and super bathroom although the silk curtain in our room had some slight damage.

Staff; Outstanding welcome.

Building; extremely clean and well furnished throughout. Could just do with a few pictures on the walls.

Food; superb evening meal and wonderful breakfast on the terrace.

What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florenc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

After having decided on the area that we would like to stay in for our wedding anniversary I checked out this site and as a result of the rooms booked us in for the Master Suite. On arrival at this small 6 roomed hotel we were met by the owner Malcolm and a member of his staff. They were friendly and not over bearing. They showed us to our room which like the rest of the hotel was immaculate.
In our room was a courtesy bottle of chilled champagne which we enjoyed to the full before going down to the lounge and bar, having a relaxing drink whilst ordering our meal. This took a while to be prepared but the positive side of it was that we were well looked after and we knew it was being cooked to order. Superbly cooked it was as well and for such an establishment a very reasonable price. The restuarant was intimate with some excellent background music playing to increase the ambience.
Our suite itself had glorious views from the balcony and was light and airy inside until we shut the curtains. It was then lovely and dark and totally peaceful.
The following morning, we were not rushed to breakfast arriving just before 10 am. We felt very full and had no need of lunch! The rest of the morning was used by strolling down the coast path at the the rear of the hotel down into beautiful St. Ives, past the glorious sandy beaches.
Whilst expensive (£95 per person per nght B & B) it was totally worth it for the excellent service, superb accommodation, exquisite venue and relaxed atmosphere.
I would thoroughly recommend the Master suite for a truly romantic and intimate time away.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizardman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2006

Having just returned from Blue Hayes I am not surprised to find so many positive reviews. What a delight it was to stay somewhere fairly locally with such exceptionally high standards.The owner and his staff were friendly and courteous. Relaxation and self indulgence was what we were after and exactly what we got! The Godrevy suite was very spacious and had a wonderful view of the sea, the extra touches such as the Molton Brown toiletries were an added bonus. The bed was so comfortable and the linen so clean and beautifully presented that for the first time in a hotel I felt as if I was the first person to have spent the night there!
Breakfast was sensational and the dinner menu was varied, although we ate at the Seafood Cafe I would definately eat at the hotel on our next visit. The Wine selection was impressive and the decor and surroundings were very relaxing and immaculate.
We had a wonderful stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MRS M.E.P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SmokeyBear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

10  Thank tifa100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hayes Hotel

Address: Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Hayes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small private luxury hotel in its own grounds above Porthminster Beach, overlooking the harbor and St Ives Bay. Six luxurious rooms - one has a balcony, another a roof terrace, and another a patio and garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Hayes St Ives
Hotel Blue Hayes
Blue Hayes Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing