We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Badger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Badger Inn
Ranked #28 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
clacton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Good main course food. That's about it really. Terrible service. Slow slow slow. Waited too long for table to be cleared and sweet order to be taken even after complaining. Waitress seemed pre-occupied with other people and not us. No sweet we left . Got fed up waiting. No apology's. No smiles. We were a family of 6 adults and 3 children and felt like were an inconvenience. Not made welcome at all. Would not return there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexbirdClacton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    87
    35
    25
    26
See reviews for
104
113
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just spent 3 nights here, and really enjoyed it. Room (No. 3) was nice, tea/coffee, water etc, and very comfortable bed. Staff were unfailingly helpful and pleasant, food was lovely, flexible breakfast, and lovely evening and lunch menu. Pretty garden for warm evenings, and a bus to St. Ives practically outside, takes about 10-15 minutes, no parking problems this way! In a pretty village, nice walk to the church and estuary beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarianWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stopped in for dinner and wished we'd found it sooner. Excellent food at reasonable prices, The staff were welcoming and friendly and the general atmosphere was a delight. We will definitely stay there when in Cornwall again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynChris_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I popped in here on my way through St Ives on business for late lunch for one. I didn't expect much, and was I surprised. great beers, friendly staff and locals and possibly the best fish I've eaten to date in England. I love fish, but rarely does it live up to my expectations. I had sardines to start, and trio of fish for my main, all washed down with two pints of a local Cornish pale ale. Simple wholesome food, nice crunchy veg and new potatoes smothered in local Cornish butter - unbeatable!! I will be back here again, even if it is 250 miles from home!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronanfalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

What a treat! To be honest I wasn't expecting to much when we first arrived. The place is slightly dated. However those doubts were thrawted with the warm welcome and good food. We did have a mix up with the order and my brother got the wrong meal, but again the wine recommendation and sincere care from the landlord made up for it.
All in all, it's a great local pub and I would highly recommend it for any visitor who would like to see a bit more of Cornish lite outside of st Ives.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

What can I say? Such a cute B & B. Very cosy, comfortable and well maintained rooms. Food was very good and as a pub, you can just nip down stairs for a sneaky drink or 2!
Owners are very welcoming and friendly. Make you feel very at home. Just a few minutes drive, or a nice leisurely walk into the beautiful town of St Ives. what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearNBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Found this inn on late rooms! Great food(very large portions). Very helpful staff and v friendly. Very close to st Ives and Penzance. St Ives branch one v close and great way to travel. Room nice but 1st one shown not so good!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#17 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Halwell Lodge
Halwell Lodge
#15 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#17 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Badger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Badger Inn

Property: The Badger Inn
Address: Fore Street | Lelant, St Ives TR26 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Badger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Badger Hotel St Ives
The Badger Inn St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing