We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big bath, shame it was in a filthy bathroom and there wasn't enough hot water!”
Review of Grey Mullet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Mullet
Ranked #76 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice big bath, shame it was in a filthy bathroom and there wasn't enough hot water!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Really grubby. You can tell the owner doesn't live there - nobody takes any pride in the place. Lumpy old mattress too. Breakfast was clearly budget products - particularly the sausages. Corners cut everywhere. Didn't like the location - too busy for us. Parking was miles away and up hill. Nobody around to advise you of the best way to do things.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OinkyPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the Grey Mullet after first staying here in 2009, this time as previously we stayed in the cottage apartment, which is at the rear of the guesthouse. Firstly location is fantastic as the accommodation is right behind the harbor, with views over the beach, this however was the only positive feature. During our first stay here we felt it was a little outdated, but 4 years later, no improvements had been made and if anything it felt very grotty. Dripping toilet, shower which hardly wets you and a general damp smell, plus a TV with a pink screen. Clearly no investment had been put into the place and at £90 a night, iam sure you can find somewhere better to stay in ST Ives. Also breakfast only served from 8:30 till 9 which is a very short window and doesn't really cater to the guests. Also no sleep due to seagulls all through the night, double glazing def needed. ST Ives though is a beautiful place with great beaches

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alveley
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here two years ago and had some reservations about cleanliness but location made up for it.This time - still dubious housekeeping in both public areas and room, but one particular incident said it all. Only having a small basin in the cupboard (ensuite) it was difficult for us to wash the mugs for tea and coffee.This led to one morning that they were not washed properly by the housekeeping leaving stains on the mugs and a teacloth with stains where an attempt had been made to just wipe clean.We asked if the mugs could go through the kitchen dishwasher and were told there was bleach by the toilet!On going to our room, you could smell bleach the minute you entered and it was the mugs.They has to be soaked before we could use them and this happened every morning after that! The bleach mentioned was a thick green lavatory cleaner.
The two good things about the place is the location and the provision of a parking permit for a £20 deposit.
The final bad experience was to be told through the window as we were loding the car that we had not paid - did they think we were going to do a runner? I went in and paid as we had intended and asked for the deposit back.We were going to give the staff the deposit as a thank-you but the experiences made this a no go.It was made as difficult as possible to get the £20 being first given £10, then told to go to the top of the house to get the rest and finally sent to the cellar for it.
Needless to say we will never be going there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alveleydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Just around the corner from the post office, this place is in the heart of St Ives. My room was on the ground floor facing the street and really needed a spruce up. The ensuite was a toilet and shower in a cupboard that would have been cramped in a youth hostel. Make sure you remember to close the curtains if showering when it's dark outside! That said, the service was friendly and accommodating if a little wayward. I got coffee having ordered tea for breakfast, but they were happy for me to leave my backpack after checkout so I could explore the area. The "twenty questions" when booking was a bit of a chore, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

booked in advanced plus parking space. turned up to a filthy room. no parking space so had to pay extra 50.00 for car space in town. staff very rude and unhelpfull. adise you to give this dump a miss.
heard staff argueing downstairs, manager sounds a bully towards the cook. never saw the cleaner which explains filthy room. It was like being in a soap show.

On the other hand st.ives a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: just advoid this place altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Grey Mullet, Rachel, Jane and Anita very welcoming. Had room 4 with a lovely sea view. A great breakfast every morning, even for my fussy daughters! The location is great, right opposite the harbour and a few minutes walk to the other beaches. Parked in the Island Car Park which is closer than the station car park. Looking forward to visiting again at the end of the summer.

Room Tip: room 4 has a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellbr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend in St. Ives. Ten of us stayed at the Grey Mullet and Jane was on hand to cook lovely breakfast each day.. The weather was very cold but the welcome was very warm. We will return same time next year. Excellent thanks

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank patrickWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.6 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#44 of 102 in St Ives
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#94 of 102 in St Ives
5 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Mullet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Mullet

Property: Grey Mullet
Address: 2 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Mullet 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Grey Mullet Hotel St Ives
Grey Mullet St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing