We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay”
Review of Grey Mullet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Mullet
Ranked #58 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I stayed at the Grey Mullet in St Ives in June. St Ives is a wonderful place for an escape, gorgeous beaches, lovely light, dolphins, art, the Tate, lovely shops and great places to eat. The Grey Mullet is a stone's throw from all of this. It's old, charming, full of character. My room was tiny but so sweet, there were interesting eclectic pictures and portraites everywhere, a small living room area complete with fireplace, magazines, books and loads of local guides and maps. The staff were very chatty and welcoming, the breakfast was delicious. I will definitely be back and I can't recommend this guest house too highly.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank linzbarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    20
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

I've stayed here twice and I love it to bits. It has all the best qualities of a B&B and so far as I can see, none of the bad ones. It's right in the middle of St Ives, 10 seconds walk from the harbour, in an old old building (18C) and festooned with hanging baskets etc. It features in many a postcard.

The breakfast is typical B&B, but good quality everything (except the coffee, steer clear!) spotlessly clean and at £30 a night for a single I have no complaints. Will be back there again and again . . . I hope!

  • Liked — Very picturesque building and location
  • Disliked — The coffee. Have tea!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicChantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Great location right in the center of St. Ives. Minutes walk to beaches. If you're able-bodied, it's an easy walk from the train and bus stations, even with luggage. Rooms are clean and sufficiently spacious. I would definitely recommend the Gray Mullet to anyone traveling by bus or train, with only one reservation... the staff and owners are not very helpful at all.

If you arrive at breakfast even 1 minute past the allotted breakfast time (which I think is from 8:30-9:30), they won't even serve you toast. Also, they take away all the breakfast cereals and juices at 9:30 ON THE DOT. So don't be late for breakfast!!!!

Overall, I would stay at the Grey Mullet again just because of its great location and nice rooms, but if you're looking for great B&B hospitality, definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location!!!
  • Disliked — Unfriendly and unhelpful staff / owners
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank exdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2007

If you're looking for a little gem, go here. Fantastic b&b. Marion was brill and a lifesaver after everything else that had happened to us in one week (too long to go in to). But everything you could want was found here, rooms were lovely and clean, en-suite, tv and tea/
coffee facilities. Breakfast was yummy!

Fantastic location, right in the heart of it, harbour and beach on the left, shops on the right, but quiet enough for a good night's sleep.

Cannot fault it. You won't be disappointed if you go here.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhols0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2007

Based on rave TripAdvisor reviews, we expected better. Our rooms were tiny and uncomfortable, and even in October the street noise was hard to take. Breakfast was good, though. Next trip to St Ives we'll stay on the other side of town away from the tourist center, despite the uphill trudge.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank JuliaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2006

Set absolutely in the heart of St Ives, 30 seconds from the harbour front and beach, this is an incredibly picturesque and very comfortable hotel. Bathrooms are newly refurbished and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Also a big plus is that they don't take children under 15 so no screaming to wake you in the morning. Guests can come and go as they please. As regards driving / parking issue, you can't drive or park anywhere in St Ives - this is part of its charm - so please don't allow this to put you off. Will definitely go back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a street map of St Ives before you get there - it will be invaluable
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2005

My wife and I toured Cornwall by car in September, staying in a number of B&B's across the county. For the St. Ives area we booked two nights in The Grey Mullet but left after the first.
The location of this guest house is certainly does not make it ideal for a motoring holiday. Car parking is only available in public, 24 hour fee paying car parks that are usually full. Public parking is more readily available toward the outskirts of the town but carrying suit cases up and down the steep, narrow streets was not our idea of a holiday! The management accepts that there is a car parking problem but disclaims any responsibility even though available parking is listed a a positive point on their web site.
We also found our double en suite room on the ground floor to be cramped and noisy.
To summarise, this was the worst B&B we used during our holiday and we will certainly not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NSEManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 21 in St Ives
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
909 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#44 of 102 in St Ives
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palma Guest House
Palma Guest House
#12 of 27 in St Ives
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#93 of 102 in St Ives
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Mullet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Mullet

Property: Grey Mullet
Address: 2 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Mullet 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Grey Mullet Hotel St Ives
Grey Mullet St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing