We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Mullet!!”
Review of Grey Mullet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Mullet
Ranked #79 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2007

If you're looking for a little gem, go here. Fantastic b&b. Marion was brill and a lifesaver after everything else that had happened to us in one week (too long to go in to). But everything you could want was found here, rooms were lovely and clean, en-suite, tv and tea/
coffee facilities. Breakfast was yummy!

Fantastic location, right in the heart of it, harbour and beach on the left, shops on the right, but quiet enough for a good night's sleep.

Cannot fault it. You won't be disappointed if you go here.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank happyhols0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2007

Based on rave TripAdvisor reviews, we expected better. Our rooms were tiny and uncomfortable, and even in October the street noise was hard to take. Breakfast was good, though. Next trip to St Ives we'll stay on the other side of town away from the tourist center, despite the uphill trudge.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank JuliaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

Set absolutely in the heart of St Ives, 30 seconds from the harbour front and beach, this is an incredibly picturesque and very comfortable hotel. Bathrooms are newly refurbished and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Also a big plus is that they don't take children under 15 so no screaming to wake you in the morning. Guests can come and go as they please. As regards driving / parking issue, you can't drive or park anywhere in St Ives - this is part of its charm - so please don't allow this to put you off. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2005

My wife and I toured Cornwall by car in September, staying in a number of B&B's across the county. For the St. Ives area we booked two nights in The Grey Mullet but left after the first.
The location of this guest house is certainly does not make it ideal for a motoring holiday. Car parking is only available in public, 24 hour fee paying car parks that are usually full. Public parking is more readily available toward the outskirts of the town but carrying suit cases up and down the steep, narrow streets was not our idea of a holiday! The management accepts that there is a car parking problem but disclaims any responsibility even though available parking is listed a a positive point on their web site.
We also found our double en suite room on the ground floor to be cramped and noisy.
To summarise, this was the worst B&B we used during our holiday and we will certainly not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NSEManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Shoreham by Sea
16
Reviewed 3 November 2005

We stay every year at The Grey Mullet and love its warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff are all so helpful. They have a small cottage at the rear of the guest house which is superb for a romantic quiet get away. The food is excellent! We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2005

Very good value for money and very pretty. We had a lovely room with four poster bed. Situated really close to harbour, St Ives truely lovely place to stay with good restaurants and pubs and beautiful beaches.

8  Thank Chorleyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2005

This B&B is ideal for a couple of nights away. St Ives itself is a wonderful place and the B&B is very central. Although we did have a little trouble finding it and parking.

The decor is slightly dated but extremely clean and the owners were very accomodating. I would definately reccommend it although if you are over 5'9 you may want to duck going up the stairs as to avoid a head injury. The breakfast was fantastic and the price reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 20 in St Ives
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 20 in St Ives
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
965 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#46 of 102 in St Ives
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#87 of 102 in St Ives
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Mullet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Mullet

Address: 2 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Mullet 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Grey Mullet Hotel St Ives
Grey Mullet St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing