We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing host and room”
Review of LordRyans

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
LordRyans
Ranked #53 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The host was pleasant and helpful, very beautiful location (if you don't need to carry a large luggage). It was a relaxed and relaxing stay in the clean and pleasantly decorated room. The breakfast was the bast one I've had in B&B. This will be my only choice in next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AshlingCHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Would of given all 5 but we all need something to beat ;-) staff very nice polite and accommodating. idea for a vist to Tate or water sports with the guys at ST IVES SURF SCHOOL. fantastic B&B highly recommended will visit again thank you :-D

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Like a home-from-home, a relaxed and relaxing environment. Light, airy, clean, pleasantly decorated. Comfortable room, and comfortable facilities. Excellent continental breakfast at a shared table in the front room - it's ready for 9am, just so you know. Tea and coffee independently available 24/7, as well as a selection of books, DVDs and games.
Walking distance from town, and from Porthmeor Beach, where the St Ives Surf School are based. (NB: Lovely reciprocal agreement with the surf school, where they both offer discounts if you are using the other! And the surf school are just as friendly, and it's five minutes walk down the hill.)
We did not need to park as we took the train. The station is walking distance, but be warned - it is uphill from the station to the B&B so beware if carrying large quantities or heavy stuff.
Everything is in easy walking distance from LordRyans, especially the Tate and the beach, as previously mentioned.
Lovely, friendly, relaxed family-run business, as well.
I have stayed in B&Bs and hotels throughout the UK, and this is, without question, one of the best, and one of the best value.
There is a lot of accommodation in St Ives, but I would never consider anywhere else next time we come. :)

Room Tip: We had room three at the back, on the first floor. Small but spacious enough with a bay window looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alistair43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We rally enjoyed our stay at Lordryans. We stayed in the apartment which was lovely, clean, well appointed and very comfortable. We were warmly greeted by Marianne who made us feel very welcome, which set the tone for our stay. Lovely place, really handy for the beach (porthmeor, the best one) and local shops and restaurants. There is a (hot) shower outside round the back for hosing sandy legs and children. There is a long stay car park a couple of hundred yards away which is really handy but be aware that parking in St Ives is very limited. However we didn't drive anywhere having arrived as there is really no need. Everything is easily reached within a few minutes on foot and there is as much to see on route as there is when you get to where ever you are going. Lordryans made a perfect base for us and we would recommend it to anyone. Marianne and her daughter were really helpful and welcoming. Thanks for a great holiday.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great breakfast and terrific location. Rooms were clean and neat. The lady in charge was very friendly and helpful. Free dvd to watch was also a bonus. Short walk to the harbour and restaurants. Only drawback was the shared bathroom but it was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mickmamphitheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location. Beautifully decorated and very clean bedrooms. Delicious breakfast, and friendly hosts.

Superb value!

Only downsides were:
- Shared facilities. Not generally a problem, but one morning we had a bit of a wait to get into the shower.
- We had to park in a public car-park a bit of a walk away. The cost of this was quite cheap though, so not a big issue.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The host was lovely, the breakfast - in this nice bright lounge - too (pancakes, fresh fruit, ......). Room number 3 at the first floor has a wunderful nautical theme. There are beautiful costal walks and 5 beaches in St. Ives. The habour is perfect for the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SoHo_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.4 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LordRyans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LordRyans

Address: 2 Ventnor Terrace, St Ives TR26 1DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast and semi self catering Holiday apartments. Ideal for Families (we do welcome children of all ages), Surfers, Hikers, Cyclists, Bikers and small groups.There are 7 unique rooms at LordRyans each designed to accommodate a different "type" of guest. Whether you only need a bed for the night whilst passing by or an apartment for a few days for you and your family or something in between we are sure you will find something that suits your needs with us. Lordryans is based in a large Victorian House where good quality budget accommodation is provided in a cool and relaxed setting. We are situated just a couple of minutes walk from Porthmeor beach and the Tate Gallery and not much more to the Town centre, which is the ideal place to use as a  base for exploring St. Ives with its amazing beaches, harbour and narrow streets as well as Cornwall's rugged coastline, famous gardens and spectacular countryside.We are within easy reach of the South West Coastal Path and have therefore become quite popular with hikers, walkers and cyclists.We are also one the very few places in St Ives who welcome children of all ages.  ... more   less 
Also Known As:
LordRyans St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing