We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Balnoon
Ranked #47 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I went here last Sunday on the 10th of feb and what a disappointment. I was very excited initially as my family have always raved about the Sunday carvery.
The first problem is the layout. There is no suitable waiting space in the restaurant, so if you are waiting for your table or a drink you are completely in the way of staff with dishes or people coming back with full plates from the carvery. Very very awkward. We were left waiting a long while for our reserved table to be cleared and the waitress to find us a chair- although she aborted the chair hunt to go back behind the bar.
The food itself was honestly the worst carvery I have had. All vegetables and meat were stone cold. . . . With the potatoes being the biggest let down- they appeared deep fried with a crispy outing but rock solid cold potato in the centre. Myself and my children love roasties, so for us to leave them they must have been bad! The chef was sweet about it and bought out more-,which were equally as bad. But the waiting staff were uninterested and did not even query how our meal was. I am local but will honestly not eat here again. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Cornishbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

We are so pleased that we found this gem. Set in great country-side just outside St. Ives, it offers a very friendly welcome. A nice modern bar/resturant serving good food, with flair. We had the Sunday Carvery, which was the best we have had. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmaine and P... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

If we had been told that there were two very steep staircases to climb to all bedrooms, we would not have booked this B&B. The owner pointed out that he had placed a chair halfway up, if needed..
Bedroom , needed updating.Wash basin in bedroom, wet room very small.
Breakfast wasn't very, appetizing , hot food on cold plates.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank barbara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

What a wonderful find!
My husband and I stayed close by in our caravan and my mother stayed at Balnoon for B & B for 6 nts.The rooms are ok but the hospitality is marvellous and the carvery is the best we had ever eaten.
Staff are wonderful, Zac the chef and Tom are so friendly.The bar area is so nice, modern and comfortable. Lovely breakfast.
definately worth a stay and only 2 mls from St Ives. Would definately stay again.,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enjoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Although youa re only a few miles from St Ives it really feels you are out in the open in this hotel. They were great with our little one too who is only two and can be a bit loud! The room was great and the food was spectacular (we sampled dinner and breakfast, both great!). Will definitely visit again if back in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisandcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Lodge at Balnoon was a great place for a short break, ideally situated for either St Ives, Hayle or Penzance. The staff were very friendly, the restaurant was super. We had a room in the front and had a good view over the countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pegyate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Restaurant-Checkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.4 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
781 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.8 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Atlantic
The Atlantic
#7 of 7 in Carbis Bay
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Balnoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Balnoon

Address: The Lodge Balnoon | Old Coach Road, St Ives TR26 3JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £73 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge at Balnoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Balnoon St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing