We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Primrose Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area
Living Area
Double Bedroom
Double Room
Double Bedroom
Bunk Room
Bunk Room
Double Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
The View From Every Bedroom
Decked Seating Area
Decked Seating Area
Porthmeor Beach
Storage Shed
Alfresco Dining
Porthgwidden Beach
Primrose Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
david l
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had great weather. And to top it all off a great place to stay. Made everything perfect. Primrose cottage is the place to stay plenty of space and the ideal way of exploring st ives. We would certainly stay there again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic week away!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have returned from a fantastic week away with the family in St Ives, staying at Primrose Cottage.

At the time of booking, we were amazed at the excellent value for money that this place offered, especially when factoring in that there's space for 2 cars at the front too. In the past we've had to find long term parking in St Ives.

Upon arrival the place didn't disappoint. There was a lovely welcome hamper provided (which was much appreciated after the long drive), and the place was just amazing. Very clean, brilliantly furnished and most of all, very homely.

We had an amazing week and would not hesitate to book again. We have stayed slightly closer to the town centre before but on days of good weather the walk was good.

Highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eloisebra...
England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage with seaviews & parking!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We've just had a wonderful week in St Ives. Primrose Cottage is fantastic, the photos don't do it justice. It's fully equipped with everything you need, it's modern and sparkling clean and has lovely seaviews over Porthmeor beach. The welcome basket was a lovely touch when we arrived, just what we needed after our journey down. My 5 year old son, adored the bunk beds (and Wii). Plus, parking for at least two cars was an added bonus. We were really lucky with the weather and had sunshine the whole week - every day was a beach day! In all, we all can't wait to come back and stay, this time with our new baby too :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: seaviews, parking, modern, home from home touches
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke T
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back. Have already enquired for our next stay. Love it”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Home from home. Very clean, fresh, bright and well maintained. The photos on TripAdvisor don't do it justice - it's nicer in reality. High speed broadband wifi was very useful. Bathroom & heating system top notch. Great sized and well equipped kitchen. Handy location with easy walk to the Tate & Porthmeor or down into the main town. The mattress quality & the duvet/linen on double bed could be better and it's annoying having to climb over your partner to get out of bed with the wall one side but it's all spotlessly clean and you've got to expect some quirkiness staying in St Ives little cottages. Our daughter loved the single room - very cute for kids. The windows were all brilliant uPVC sash which were safe for kids and very good at keeping out the weather when it rolled in off the atlantic. We were lucky with stunning weather most of the week with a couple of rainy mornings - the cottage felt cosy, bright and welcoming through it all. Handy shop opposite and another just up the road. Can walk to the co-op for really fresh fruit, veg and bread down over Windsor Hill and then through to the cinema. Having 2 comfortable parking spaces in St Ives is a real plus and quite rare in general. As I said, we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: The main double bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunrise40
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday cottage with great views and ideally situated in the heart of St Ives.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fabulous family summer break in an excellent holiday home, within a few minutes walk from the beach, town and harbour of St Ives.

The house itself is extremely clean, tastefully decorated, spacious and suited perfectly for a family with 3 kids of any age or as in our case 2 kids (12 & 10) and Grandma.

The kitchen is well equipped with all mod cons (dishwasher, microwave, large fridge/freezer, washing machine, etc) and all the pots and pans you will ever need. A nice touch on arriving was the scones, jam and clotted cream. Tea & coffee, milk, kitchen roll and all essentials are also provided.

The lounge and dining area is plenty roomy enough for 5 people to sit and as well as the tv, there is also a wii and iPod for extra entertainment.

Upstairs there are 3 bedrooms, one double and 2 single (one with a bunk and one with a single bed) and a big bathroom with separate bath and shower.

I would defiantly recommend this cottage if you are planning a family trip to St Ives and I would most certainly stay there again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAllan_1...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantasticaly equipped cottage in great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

An absolutely beautiful cottage in the heart of St Ives. The cottage has quite obviously recently been refurbed and to a very high standard. The owners have produced a chabby chic theme, which compliments the cottage and attention to detail is fantastic - a real home from home!
Luxurious bathroom, great corner bath ideal for unwinding and reading a book! Kitchen is well equipped and cosy living room and bedrooms.
Welcome pack on arrival of scones, clotted cream and jam was particularly appealing!
A real bonus too was the outdoor shed which had a number of children's items for the beach including body boards, buckets, spades etc - was great not to have to pack all this!
Would strongly recommend - fantastic value!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing