We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salted caramel. That's all.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moomaid of Zennor

Moomaid of Zennor
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: We are a small family business making ice cream and sorbet on our farm just 5 miles away. Fresh milk from our 100 cows, Rodda's cream and the finest ingredients are mixed by hand for a rich and luxurious ice cream. We love coming up with new, exotic flavours like Pina Colada and our famous Shipwreck ... We also serve freshly ground coffee and homemade cakes and cream teas plus our legendary sundaes - perfect to enjoy on our small terrace overlooking the harbour. Open year round, from 10 till late over summer. Also parlour on Porthtowan Beach.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Salted caramel. That's all.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

There are so many wonderful places to eat in St Ives, I've never understood how a small ice cream parlour could be number one.

But, oh! That salted caramel ice cream, easily the best ice cream I've ever tasted.

I wouldn't have it up there at number one, but we have a new haunt.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    44
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Sundaes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The locally produced ice creams are fantastic and are easily the best of the local offerings. If you can get one of the 3 tables outside on a sunny day then it's a great spot to watch the goings on around the harbour and enjoy one of the varied selection of sundaes. Be aware however that the sundaes are pretty big and if there are a few of you then you probably don't need one each. The young lady who served us was knowledgeable and very friendly. Go on, spoil yourself !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SPW915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“By far the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The best ice cream in St Ives. Actually the best anywhere in the UK. The sea wreck which is salted caramel is to die for. It's up a few steps so easy to miss but it's opposite the yellow boat hire stand in the harbour front. Only downside Is its a little small so sit down space gas to be fought for. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank incognito1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It really is good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Yep, the ice cream is out of this world. The cake selection is poor and exposed to the elements. The shipwrecked ice cream is amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Hillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahzennor, Owner at Moomaid of Zennor, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you liked our ice cream. I am disappointed you did not like the look of our cakes as I bake them from scratch at home most days and a lot of our customers do like them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Lovely icecream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We didn't sit in the cafe so can't comment on the tea or coffee but we did try the icecream here and at couple of times from other places in takeaway tubs. My personal favourite was the salted caramel with honeycomb while my wife preferred the clotted cream vanilla. Delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank webme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moomaid of Zennor also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Moomaid of Zennor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing