We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood, seafood and more seafood!!”
Review of Hard Core Prawn - CLOSED

Hard Core Prawn
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seafood, seafood and more seafood!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We went hardcore and had the seafood platter for 2, which is more seafood than we could eat. The scallops were gorgeous and the oysters and mussels were yummy. The squid and prawns were nice as well, however I would have liked some squid without batter but i guess that is just personal preference. We ordered a basket of bread with the platter as it comes with nothing but seafood and it was needed to vary it a little.

If you like seafood get this dish it was a memorable one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBerts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish at the Hard Core Prawn”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

we visited the restaurant in May shortly after the restaurant had opened and had a fantastic meal. we returned this week and enjoyed top rate cooking, great service and relaxing atmosphere. Would highly recommend visiting if you're down in St Ives.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charliej0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute dinner”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We ended up going here as a last minute thing as we couldn't get into Rum & Crab Shack and we were very impressed with it. We had their seafood platter to share between the two of us and a bottle of wine which was nice. The platter was massive and had oysters, langoustines, scallops, crab, prawns, calamari and a few other things. The food was excellent very tasty, clearly fresh and well cooked. It was quite quiet when we went but we did go late which seems to be an issue in St Ives in general but we would go back again given the chance. We would definitely recommend to any friends down here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly,welcome,food looks awesome”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We only had a starter,although It looked very retro in a pint glass and we both thought it looked very basic ,it filled us up,customers across from us ordered the shared p,latter and it looked amazing and hubby and I wished we'd done the same,maybe next time,decor was fun and lively,my cocktail " bramble" had a Definate kick to it ,which was unusual for cocktails theses days
Shall try and revisit when we come again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granary40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Follow your heart!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We followed our hearts into this rather wacky restaurant, coming in from the entrance at the back into a large bar area, where our lost look was quickly spotted by the bar man and we were directed up one more flight of stairs to the restaurant itself. Very bright colours, plastic table cloths and a great variety of style of dining chairs..a little bit 'different' .but that is part of its charm and attraction. They play some great music. The menu is 'compact' , so not a wide choice, but that is not a problem. It makes choosing a bit easier!! We enjoyed everything we ate ; the service is good and attentive and we would go back.
We shared a tempura prawn starter which was delicious, then Nicky had the crab and I had the catch of the day, cod in batter. Both were served on wooden boards, which was different, and were good sized portions - so in our world, very good value for money.

We were astounded by the fish platters which were a selection of everything they had on the main fish menu.....for £50 you had an incredible selection...if you chose that, make sure you haven't eaten for a few days!! They looked very good.

The wine list had some reasonably priced reds and whites, and overall we spent £46 without desserts, with a bottle of white wine and we thought that was a good deal .

Well worth a trip!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Core Prawn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing