We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful ~ Another Beachspoke winner x”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
enrvuk
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful with a but”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Beachspoke places are beautiful, we've previously stayed at the property next door. This is no different and the attention to detail in design is excellent. Someone with a real sense of style has designed the interior. They know how to get the most out of a small space and this is a small space.

We had two problems with the place, which we thought were unacceptable at this fairly high price point.

1. The wifi is weak to non-existent upstairs. In this day and age that's simply unacceptable. I appreciate the router is next door, presumably to save money on a second connection. This doesn't mean you shouldn't have full coverage in what is frankly a tiny property. There are several technical ways round this.

As a result streaming video or even basic web browsing was not possible upstairs. This is resolvable for a couple of hundred quid.

2. Attention to detail in the changeover was quite poor. There was no kitchen towel and only half a toilet roll, the soap dispenser downstairs was also empty. Not the end of the world by any means, but again at this price level you expect better.

My overall rating is based on value for money. I'm quite happy to pay a high fee, if the quality matches it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Tank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it and have taken your points on. There is now a separate WIFI service in the cottage so the connection is better however being St Ives the strength is not what you might get in a major city. We ask for the best connection possible by our providers. We have also had a word with the cleaners to ensure the details mentioned are not missed in the future.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we can welcome to back to another Beachspoke property in the future.

Many thanks again for your time in writing this.

Kind regards

Beachspoke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Fam...
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful ~ Another Beachspoke winner x”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had previously stayed at another Beachspoke property (Blackmoon) so we knew that the standard of accommodation was going to be high. And we were not disappointed. Both properties have the wow factor as soon as you step through the door although I think Blackmoon comes out top in the wow factor competition. Although I think if we had stayed at MoonShadow first we would have been blown away more if that makes sense???
Everything in the cottage is of the finest quality ~ the towels are large and fluffy, the bed is huge and comfortable, the shower is powerful and huge and I love, love, love all of the White Company products ~ the cottage smells Divine throughout ~ A little piece of heaven in St. Ives.
We will definitely stay at as many Beachspoke places as possible in the future as they seem to be of a very high standard and we could definitely become accustomed to this luxury x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bed was beautiful, the products wonderful and the shower has spoilt any shower at any property we may stay in the future!
Liked least: Smell from the neighbours in the Beachspoke property next door smoking on the doorstep.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N8RJG
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice. But....”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
15
people found this review helpful

MoonShadow is appointed to a high standard. Located right on the main access to the beach and access to car parking for another beach. Overall we liked it. However, our main issues are around the specific descriptions on the Beachspoke website of the property being sound proofed and private. I really feel this is not so accurate.

I sent an email to Beachspoke two weeks ago now to which I have received no response. The content of the email is below (with some names removed). Some of the issues raised are picky and things that should just really be right for a property of this standard (and rental cost). The issues around the privacy and soundproofing are the major ones as I believe these are misleading.

Have a read of the email below and make your own minds up if you want to deal with a company that ignores communications such as these from its customers.

Hi,

Having just completed the online feedback as requested, I felt there wasn’t enough opportunity to give adequate information regarding our experience of Moonshadow.

Firstly, our experiences of all contact with Beachspoke staff has been excellent. Everyone we have received emails from or spoken to has been professional, efficient and courteous.

Secondly, Moodshadow is a beautifully appointed property. Of that there is no doubt.

However, I would like to point out the following facts:

1. The Beachspoke website describes Moonshadow as “re-insulated and soundproofed, you can rest assured this is one of the most private and spectacular properties in Cornwall”. This was the primary reason we booked this property. I believe this quote misrepresents the facts. During our stay in Moonshadow we:
i. Could hear our neighbours, on both sides merely talking.
ii. Could hear our neighbours, on both sides moving around their respective property.
iii. Could hear our neighbours, on both sides arriving and departing from their respective property.
iv. Could hear our neighbours (not Beachspoke) dog barking regularly.
v. Could hear vehicles (including a regular early morning road sweeper) and pedestrians travelling past the property at all times.
vi. Heard a cork pop in the neighbouring Beachspoke property.
vii. Could hear children playing in the courtyard to the rear of the property.
viii. Were unable to open the blinds upstairs, at the front because of being overlooked by the opposite properties first floor window.
ix. Unable to open the window in the shower or blind in the bathroom areas because of windows in the properties in the courtyard.
The word “soundproofed” and “most private….in Cornwall” on your website conflicts with all of these facts.

2. The WiFi, also described on your website, never worked. I could only detect the appropriate network downstairs in the property but never managed to get a device to connect to it. I tried multiple devices on many occasions and it never worked once. I contacted the manager by text message regarding this and got a response that WiFi “is sporadic at best in St. Ives” and that I should knock on the door or leave a note for the neighbouring property and get them to restart the router. The manager also was going to contact them in case they were out. I was on holiday, I suspect so were they, I was not going to disturb them over rebooting a router. I got a text later from the manager which was I think was a copy of the text sent to our neighbours, either that or it was sent to me in error. I never received any follow up regarding this issue from that point. To be honest, no WiFi is fine. Just don’t put it on your website as a facility if it is sporadic at best and cannot be connected to or controlled from the property I was in.
3. The property is appointed to a high standard. Because of this some minor things start to niggle. There’s a couple of minor things that get annoying:
i. The loo does not flush very well. Sometime it takes 4 or 5 flushes for a piece of toilet paper to disappear.
ii. The peddle bin upstairs by the sink does not peddle so you have to open it by hand. Just put a normal waste basket there.
iii. The main peddle bin downstairs is located underneath the breakfast/dining bar. Every time you open it the lid whacks the underneath of the dining bar. It needs to be relocated.

Facts 2 & 3 above I can absolutely live with and I am just highlighting these due to the standards of the rest of the property and the standards I get the impression Beachspoke are striving to achieve. Point 1 though is absolutely misrepresentation on your website and was a disappointment to us.

I look forward to hearing your thoughts on these facts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed
Liked least: Inaccuracy of the description of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lomauk
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay but hard to get to!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Moon Shadow was a brilliant choice when staying in St. Ives as it's in the heart of the town and is literally around the corner from the beach! The accomodation itself was stunning, considering it's size it's been decorated/furnished perfectly to optimize the available space which made it super comfy and cosy. It couldn't be faulted! However, the only issue we had (which isn't to do with the accomodation/owners) is that the heart of St.Ives is EXTREMELY difficult to navigate round if you're using a sat nav or aren't familiar with it. We were driving down roads that were just glorified footpaths and even after a day when walking round the beautiful (but tiny) streets you could lose count of how many cars you saw with stressed drivers as they tried to navigate round and a) not hit anyone b) not get lost, which they probably were!! The parking space in the garage was extremely helpful (when we finally found it) as it was close to the accomodation. In regards to actually booking Moon Shadow I emailed back and forth with 'Francesca' who was extremely helpful and when the booking went through she promptly emailed over some attachments with all the necessary things we needed to know about the property and eating out in St.Ives. All in all, Moon Shadow is a must-go with its beautiful decor and it being perfectly situated in the heart of St Ives, however if it's your first time in St.Ives buckle up and just prepare to get lost as it's a classic quaint seaside town with small roads and large amounts of people walking in all directions around you whilst you're trying to drive! An extra thanks to Francesca for the excellent customer service!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior design and location
Liked least: St.Ive's small streets!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxing and like a boutique hotels with other guests!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing place it is chic, modern but cosy and comfortable. White company bedding and bathroom products.
A great place for a romantic getaway. It is only 30 seconds from the beach and you can hear the sea from the cottage. Plenty to do in St ives with many great places to eat and drink.
Will stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elithommo
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic little property only a stones throw from everything you could need.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This property is an old, one up, one down-type fishermans cottage, located literally twenty seconds walk from Porthmeor beach. However, the interior is not quite what you would expect. It has been recently refurbished and, though small, the inside is amazing.

Downstairs, you enter into the living room, complete with huge telly and large sofa. At the back there is the tiny but well finished dowstairs loo and in the middle is the little kitchen, located under the stairs. There is pretty much everything you need in the kitchen, including induction hob and Nespresso coffee machine, which was a great, luxurious touch.

Up the narrow staircase is the bedroom with a massive superking bed, which was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. To the back of the bedroom, there is a large, rainwater shower with separate hand held shower head (the shower is separated from the main room by a large wardrobe), a sink and storage area. You really do have everything you need for your stay (although if I had to suggest one possible addition, it could be an electric fan as it does get very warm up there if the weather has been hot).

Nice, fluffy towels are provided, as are toiletries, a hairdryer and iron/ironing board.The property is finished to a very high standard, with high end fittings and lots of decorative touches and there are mirrors on practically all available walls which does make the place look much bigger than it actually is. You can hear the sea at night if the tide is in and the window is open...the seagulls are a bit shouty at this time of year as they still have their young with them but what else can you expect at the seaside?

We had a fabulous stay here. Yes, there are cheaper properties to rent in St Ives but this was completely worth the little extra. The private parking space in a secure garage was worth the extra alone, as all the town centre car parks seemed to be chock full for the entire time we were there. You are seconds walk from the beach and five minutes walk to the town centre and harbour areas. There is also a little shop two minutes walk away which has everything you will need for the odd breakfast and lunch you make when you are not out enjoying the fabulous food that St Ives has to offer.

Francesca at Beachspoke made the booking very easy and straightforward and all the communication we received from her/them was excellent - I cannot thank them enough. We would definitely stay here again and can heartily recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Monsoon Shadow has a unique charm like no other and I can’t wait to book in my next holiday there!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

What a perfect start to 2014! We stayed in Moon shadow for New Year’s Eve and couldn’t have asked for anywhere better to spend it! Wowed by the amazing artwork as you work in the door, Moon shadow is modern, yet cosy and the height of luxury... and as the description says, it feels more like a boutique hotel than a cottage.
The bedroom is beautiful with a bed big enough to sleep 5 and I would give it ten out of ten for the comfort factor, you can also hear the therapeutic sounds of the sea if you open the window, which is only a stone throw away.
The sitting room is cosy with all the modern essentials, including a large tv and a comfortable sofa.
I would recommend Moon shadow to anyone who is looking for a break which offers relaxation and pure luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique interior
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing