We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trevalgan Holiday Farm
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A charming retreat”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have recently come home from our visit to St. Ives and we simply cannot wait to go back. St. Ives itself is a wonderful place but we found a real gem in Trevalgan Holiday Farm. We had not visited St. Ives before and were a little put off by the cost of staying in the centre, so we opted for Trevalgan based on price and also the fact it looked like a great place for our 3 year old daughter. The play room and games room were well used by us during our week stay and Macy loved all the animals especially the baby goats Bert and Ernie! The only downside is that you are not in the centre of St. Ives itself but given the fact you can drive or get a bus which runs hourly to and from the farm (in peak season), you really cannot complain. The bus takes less than 5 minutes and you do not have the hassle and expense of parking. I cannot recommend Trevalgan enough to anyone, especially those with young children. We can't wait to go back and are already looking at next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Hayloft and the view at the front was right out onto the coast! Plus from The Hayl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliePennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

High standard of accommodation, beautifully renovated, and constantly updated and improved over a few years. Great for families, couples or groups of adults. Amazing location and a short hop to St Ives by car ( local bus in summer if you want a drink!) We have stayed in the Carthouse twice with children and this year with parents in the Stable next door. Great box of toys/DVDs and play barn if it rains. And amazing beef from the farm-this is hard to match!

Room Tip: Just choose for number of rooms. They all have great outside space for BBQ, eating and playing out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed at The Stable with my husband and 8 month old daughter for one week in June. The cottages are just a 3/4 minute drive from the centre of St Ives. The Stable had a good size lounge/dining area, one bedroom, kitchen and bathroom and had all the facilities you needed. The owners had also left us a travel cot and a bottle steriliser which you can book in advance (for free). They had also kindly left us milk and biscuits!! There are animals on the farm including goats and a rabbit and also a play barn. However, we never got to use it as we were out every day! If our daughter was a bit older and walking I'm sure we would have been in there a lot. There were age appropriate toys for our daughter too, which she loved!

Trevalgan Holiday Farm is well priced for the location. If you want to go a bit further into the centre of St Ives then you would easily pay an extra £150+ (more probably) and not get the quality and parking you get at Trevalgan. You do need a car to get about, or there are buses if you don't have a car, or if you really do want to walk into the centre of St Ives it would probably take about 30 minutes or so.

St Ives itself is beautiful. It's our third time staying in/around St Ives and it's definitely worth visiting/staying. The best beaches around and some fantastic restaurants!

Overall, Trevalgan Holiday Farm is a lovely place to stay, well priced and well located. It is also very quiet which is an added bonus. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruscombe
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We discovered Trevalgan when we were invited to a wedding in St Ives and were looking for easily accessible dog-friendly accommodation with on-site parking. That was 6 years ago; we had a wonderful holiday and we have been returning ever since, at first annually but now twice a year. The dog's ears perk up as we approach and we are sure of a warm welcome. The stone farm buildings have been imaginatively converted to provide comfortable and warm accommodation, decorated and maintained to a very high standard. The situation is magnificent, with the farm stretching down to a wild and beautiful section of the coastal path and with hills behind. It is ideal for walking but also handy for exploring further afield by car. A bonus is Russell's delicious beef for easy meals while we are there and we make sure there is room in the car to bring a box home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our stay at the Carthouse in April was lovely! The first time away with our 15month old daughter. We found the cottages via a child friendly search and it was exactly that. Great toys in the cottage, a huge toy barn, pets to look at and lots of safe space for little ones to run around. Superb location and homely cottages. Would very much recommend these to others. Ps. The sunny week of weather was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurajanewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times. The location is peaceful and ideal as a base for walkers and other outdoor pursuits. The accommodation is always clean, very well equipped and quite luxurious compared to other self catering places. Plenty of parking and easy access by road to St Ives or the coast road through Zennor to St Just. We already look forward to our next visit.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 744Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Our family have stayed here the last 3 years and are booked to return again is year! 11 of us go each year and its become a home from home! The location is fantastic with a bus that runs at regular intervals daily in to St Ives and home again! There is ample parking and plenty of room for the children to run around. This is self catering accomadation with plenty of take away options available locally. We also place a Tesco home delivery order to arrive just after us which saves on the hassle of taking food or picking some up upon arrival(milk, tea and coffee is provided). St Ives beach is wonderful and there is so much to do in the surrounding area. A wonderful place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
617 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
756 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalgan Holiday Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalgan Holiday Farm

Property: Trevalgan Holiday Farm
Address: Trevalgan, St Ives TR26 3BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four 4* rated holiday homes on our working farm in a spectacular setting just 2 miles from the centre of St. Ives. Carefully converted from former farm buildings they are tastefully furnished and well equipped with fitted kitchens, fridges, ovens and microwaves, flat screen TVs, DVD players and ipod docks. Linen is provided and like electricity and heating it's all included in the price. Our farm trail joins the coastal footpath so we're a haven for walkers. Trevalgan is also extremely child friendly with a pet's corner & indoor toddler play barn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trevalgan Holiday Farm St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing