We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations on so many levels!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trevalgan Holiday Farm
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations on so many levels!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited Trevalgan during Oct 2013. I went with my two young children aged 3 and 6. We were so impressed that we will definitely book again. The accommodations were clean, simple and modern. The views were spectacular. It is run by a lovely family who were very helpful. The family have laid out a walk around the coastal path around the family farm and the views are breathtaking! There are toys in the accommodation and a play barn for children to keep them occupied. A great holiday location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieTrevalgan, Owner at Trevalgan Holiday Farm, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
It means so much to read a review like this, thank you. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another week in this wonderful place! I can honestly say its now a home away from home with all my family. The bus company that runs from the camp next door has changed and now drops off and picks up in town right in front of the co-op which is extremely handy should you need to top up your shopping on your way home from St Ives wonderful beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

For many years my family and I have stayed at various locations near the Lizard peninsular and from there made occasional day trips to gorgeous St Ives .However last year we broke with tradition and stayed at the camp site at Trevalgan Farm on the outskirts of St Ives and absolutely loved it.So much so that this year we booked Lanhydrock and Trelawne barns at Trevalgan Farm .These barns are run together with Little Barn and Trelissick by Jean Osborne who is the mother of Russell Osborne and mother in law of Melanie who run the other four barns in the complex The Parlour,The Hayloft,The Carthouse and The Stable which have received rave reviews here on Trip Advisor.We were delighted with Lanhydrock and Trelawne.They come well equipped,are very clean and have lovely views to the rear of the properties of fields and the sea beyond.Our holiday was excellent and I cannot recommend the barns highly enough.
UnfortunatelyJean did not take the opportunity to welcome us at the beginning of the holiday as she had promised however she did introduce herself at 5pm on Friday 26th July the evening before we were due to leave when we very sharply admonished for placing our 24 year old son with his 24 year old friend in Trelawne instead of my mother who is in her 70's and had decided that she couldn't access Trelawne via the short route from Lanhydrock due to her mobility problems and couldn't walk the long way round and didn't want to be on her own in any event!

Apparently Jean had given my son and his friend a 'dressing down' for staying at Trelawne five minutes before 'visiting' us at Lanhydrock even though they did try to reassure her that they had done nothing wrong.

All in all we had a lovely time but a sinking feeling in the stomach at the end of the holiday spoilt it for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoldhuPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed here several times over the years both as a couple and a family and we will continue to return because it's just so lovely. The farm is perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle of gorgeous St Ives but still within easy reach either by car, bus or walk along the coastal path. The views are stunning, it's peaceful and I don't think I've ever slept so well after all that sea air. There is so much to do in the area from the quieter days on the beach at St Ives or one of the other local beaches to fun-filled days at Paradise Park or Lappa Valley with the kids. It's even close enough for a day-trip to the wonderful Eden Project. The centre of St Ives is truly beautiful and it is very easy to spend a day pottering around the shops, wandering along the beach, visiting the odd pub or two and of course enjoying a must-have Cornish pasty.
All of the cottages we have stayed in at the farm are comfortable, bright and modern and have been regularly updated and improved since our very first visit back in 2005. They have everything you need and the owners Mel and Russell are so welcoming and accommodating and do all they can to make your stay special (not to mention their two gorgeous and impeccably behaved children, Gabbi and Josh!) It doesn't matter how busy they are, they will always stop for a chat and make sure we are enjoying ourselves and have everything we need. A box of age-specific toys and books have been left in the cottage for our children each time we have stayed - it is thoughtful little extras like this that really make a difference. The facilities are fantastic; the play barn is perfect for the kids on the days when perhaps the weather isn't so good or simply to kill an hour or 2 on a quieter day. Our children love watching Russell at work on the farm, saying hi to the cows and all the other animals that Mel and Russ have added to the collection over the years! Another bonus - the tasty beef for sale at the farm. I would go so far as to say it is the best beef I've ever tasted and we make sure we order a load for our freezer after each visit.
I really can't recommend this idyllic retreat highly enough. Our kids often ask us, "When are we going back to see Gabbi and Josh in St Ives?" I think this says it all. They want to keep going back and so do we. Go see for yourself!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have recently come home from our visit to St. Ives and we simply cannot wait to go back. St. Ives itself is a wonderful place but we found a real gem in Trevalgan Holiday Farm. We had not visited St. Ives before and were a little put off by the cost of staying in the centre, so we opted for Trevalgan based on price and also the fact it looked like a great place for our 3 year old daughter. The play room and games room were well used by us during our week stay and Macy loved all the animals especially the baby goats Bert and Ernie! The only downside is that you are not in the centre of St. Ives itself but given the fact you can drive or get a bus which runs hourly to and from the farm (in peak season), you really cannot complain. The bus takes less than 5 minutes and you do not have the hassle and expense of parking. I cannot recommend Trevalgan enough to anyone, especially those with young children. We can't wait to go back and are already looking at next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Hayloft and the view at the front was right out onto the coast! Plus from The Hayl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliePennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

High standard of accommodation, beautifully renovated, and constantly updated and improved over a few years. Great for families, couples or groups of adults. Amazing location and a short hop to St Ives by car ( local bus in summer if you want a drink!) We have stayed in the Carthouse twice with children and this year with parents in the Stable next door. Great box of toys/DVDs and play barn if it rains. And amazing beef from the farm-this is hard to match!

Room Tip: Just choose for number of rooms. They all have great outside space for BBQ, eating and playing out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed at The Stable with my husband and 8 month old daughter for one week in June. The cottages are just a 3/4 minute drive from the centre of St Ives. The Stable had a good size lounge/dining area, one bedroom, kitchen and bathroom and had all the facilities you needed. The owners had also left us a travel cot and a bottle steriliser which you can book in advance (for free). They had also kindly left us milk and biscuits!! There are animals on the farm including goats and a rabbit and also a play barn. However, we never got to use it as we were out every day! If our daughter was a bit older and walking I'm sure we would have been in there a lot. There were age appropriate toys for our daughter too, which she loved!

Trevalgan Holiday Farm is well priced for the location. If you want to go a bit further into the centre of St Ives then you would easily pay an extra £150+ (more probably) and not get the quality and parking you get at Trevalgan. You do need a car to get about, or there are buses if you don't have a car, or if you really do want to walk into the centre of St Ives it would probably take about 30 minutes or so.

St Ives itself is beautiful. It's our third time staying in/around St Ives and it's definitely worth visiting/staying. The best beaches around and some fantastic restaurants!

Overall, Trevalgan Holiday Farm is a lovely place to stay, well priced and well located. It is also very quiet which is an added bonus. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.2 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
765 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sandbank Holidays
Sandbank Holidays
#8 of 27 in St Ives
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevalgan Holiday Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevalgan Holiday Farm

Property: Trevalgan Holiday Farm
Address: Trevalgan, St Ives TR26 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four 4* rated holiday homes on our working farm in a spectacular setting just 2 miles from the centre of St. Ives. Carefully converted from former farm buildings they are tastefully furnished and well equipped with fitted kitchens, fridges, ovens and microwaves, flat screen TVs, DVD players and ipod docks. Linen is provided and like electricity and heating it's all included in the price. Our farm trail joins the coastal footpath so we're a haven for walkers. Trevalgan is also extremely child friendly with a pet's corner & indoor toddler play barn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trevalgan Holiday Farm St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing