We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
51
10
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
10
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplay barnpets cornerhome from homecream teafantastic staywarm welcomerussellcornwallcoastline
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here in July with our 4 year old and 8 month old children. The accommodation was great - everything you could need and we all slept well which was a huge bonus with 2 small kids!! Location is good - not too far from St Ives and the bus service is a god send - without it we would have been stuck as parking is horrendous in St Ives in summer - we spent over an hour trying to find a place to park and gave up so the bus service was much needed! I must admit I was disappointed with the shared facilities after reading reviews it was toddler heaven . On the web site there is a photo of a ball pit so this was what I imagined there to be in the play barn. In reality it's just lots of little toys and board games I we didn't spent any time in there. The outdoor toys were a real disappointment- one plastic Wendy house and a toddler mini slide and see-saw - no good for those over 2. There is a new play area being built but this wasn't finished. Don't try to go to the touring park play area as several others have suggested as you will be asked to leave - we tried twice and those staying at the cottage are clearly not welcome so our 4 year old was rather disappointed. Don't get me wrong there is a nice grass area and we used this a lot to play football and ate out there, but when it's cloudy there's not much to do. The farm trail as well was a disappointment - a lot of the signs have fallen over or are now hidden and after walking around for an hour we gave up and came back - a shame as we could see that the views were amazing if you didn't have a 4 year old to walk round with - its was just too much for him as we got lost several times. I would stay here again but there are lots of improvement that could make this a better stay.

Stayed: July 2015
4  Thank Daniell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieTrevalgan, Owner at Trevalgan Holiday Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we take your point that the farm trail signs could be clearer. It is in hand. We too are very disappointed that our long term agreement with the campsite is no longer in operation. We were given very little notice but, as you could see, we have invested heavily in a new play area solely for our guests. Thank you for your review, we do appreciate your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

We Stayed here with our 20mth old in the hayloft, beautiful place and lovely hosts the house was equipt with everything we needed. Great for kids with fence jumping goats and the play barn, our daughter loved it here. You must try the farm walk, its beautiful just dont rely on the numbers on the fence posts! St Ives is stunning and do go by there recommendations, our little one loved paradise park and we loved the steaks from the local farm trevaskis,we also ate at the watermill and the balnoon, both nice meals but the balnoon serve all day.. Handy for little ones. We also visited porthleven a little harbour village which we loved and climbed st micheals mount, the gardens are amazing but be warned you do have to carry your child Alot. Would defo recommend it made our life much easier staying here and the black out curtains do work!!!
Thanks

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank louisa z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieTrevalgan, Owner at Trevalgan Holiday Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday. Fosbury (the jumping goat) is proving quite a hit this year!! We are trying to find a way of making the farm trail signs a bit clearer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Just spent a really peaceful and relaxing 2 weeks in the Stable. My wife and I have been coming to Travalgan with our dog Barney for several years now. We can`t fault anything about Travalgan Farm. The Accommodation is always clean, well equipped and in an ideal location with easy access to St Ives and attractions in Cornwall.
Melanie and Russell strive to improve the facilities and standard of accommodation each year. They are both very heplful, friendly and make our stay all the more pleasant.

Room Tip: The Stable is great if you have a dog!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieTrevalgan, Owner at Trevalgan Holiday Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Wow - your kind words mean so much to us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

This is a brilliant place to stay. Stayed in the hayloft which has beautiful views out to sea. Accommodation was clean, cosy and well equipped. Have previously stayed in the stable which was just as nice. Russell and Melanie are very friendly and helpful. Beautiful walks right on the doorstep, including a farm trail set up by the owners. Regular bus service from farm which dropped us right into centre of St Ives and made getting in and out of town very easy.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliI9946KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieTrevalgan, Owner at Trevalgan Holiday Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated and we're delighted you enjoyed The Hayloft as much as The Stable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Have just spent a fantastic week in an Immaculate 3 Bed Barn Conversion at Trevalgan Farm near St Ives. The property easily catered for 6 Adults. It was a beautiful location with Bus access right outside the cottage or if you prefer coastal walks it takes about an hour until you reach St Ives. Stunning views !! Would certainly recommend and will return, thank you to Russell and Family.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Graeme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieTrevalgan, Owner at Trevalgan Holiday Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

We're delighted you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. Enjoy the rest of the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews