We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
52
10
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
10
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews play barn pets corner home from home cream tea fantastic stay warm welcome russell cornwall coastline
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Me & my Wife Jessica & our 2 dogs have just returned from a weeks stay here,we were in Trelawne a 1 bedroom place,it's was perfect for us with a separate kitchen bathroom and lounge dining area,it had everything you could possibly want or need and more.We were woken every day with a stunning view from each window and wild animals it's truly fantastic!
Russel the owner who lives on site was very helpful and couldn't do enough to help ensure you have a great stay!
Your a 10 minute drive from St Ives which is by far the best seaside town and beach we have ever seen in the Uk,the beaches are truly stunning and views are stunning,it's hard to think your in the uk when sat on the beach!
We would highly recommended this place!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Markgromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed here for a week with our 1 year old and had a really wonderful time. The owner, Russell, lives in the farmhouse next to the holiday apartments/cottages and was incredibly friendly and eager to ensure we were happy. It was a lovely surprise having home made scones, jam and clotted cream waiting for us on our arrival after a long journey. It was great having a high chair, change mat, electric socket covers, and toys in the property and use of baby back pack. The pets corner (goats, chickens and ducks) and the toddler play barn (ride on toys and all sorts of toys and books) were a huge hit. The place was really peaceful and we felt completely immersed in the countryside but it was also easy to drive to lots of places. St Ives was amazing and we tried out all the beaches over the week due to the nice weather. We would definitely stay at Trevalgan Farm again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank andrewc138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

So we heard about this place via a work colleague that was a member of the family. Not knowing what to expect we were hopeful given the nice tone and helpfulness of the owner when contacted. We were even happier when we arrived as the place was lovely. We stayed in the stable, the smallest accommodation I believe, but plenty of room to relax, clean, modern and wonder of wonders it had a full size bath which is one of my favourite things to use after a long day. Also super quiet at night which made for great sleep as I'm easily woken. We had two small dogs which they had no issue with. The dogs enjoyed meeting the farm owners dogs who were very placid and also loved meeting some of the goats and other animals on the farm. Its not far from st ives and while walkable, a taxi or the car is easiest. We had a lovely stay, the owner is super helpful and makes every effort to keep in touch and help wherever possible. The weather stayed nice too, bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Thanks, Russell, for hosting us for the three nights leading up to New Year's Eve in St Ives! Cate and I enjoyed having our own cottage and going on great walks near the farm (not on the farm itself!). Though, we did struggle to follow the posts accurately through the fields but that didn't stop us! The cottage was pleasant, especially the fireplace!

All the best,
Stuart

Stayed: December 2015
Thank 374stuartg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We stayed at Trevalgan for a week and this was our first time in Cornwall.

The whole farm is in great location, secluded with beautiful surroundings, sea views and only 5 min drive from st Ives. There are footpaths that go from the farm and take you along the coast one way to Zennor or the opposite direction to St Ives. We didn't do any walks as our 3 and 5 y old are too small and would demand to be carried at some point and the paths are not for pushchairs.

There is a bus service running only May to Sept and it takes u straight to town without stopping anywhere on the way 5-10 min. It is far better option than driving to town as the town itself is very difficult to drive around with very narrow and steep roads shared with pedestrians plus you are very likely to struggle with finding a parking space. The bus stops at Royal Square and it's only up to 10 min walk from the beaches. Porthmeor beach (least favourite), Porthgwidden beach - the smallest and cosiest, and Porthminster beach - our favourite. All beaches have life guards, toilets and beach cafes/ restaurants with lots of drinks and food and sitting areas. There is a dog ban on these beaches during season and in general all are clean and nice to spend time to on. I wish they had at least a tap for washing your feet as the sand is mega sticky and you literally need to scrape it off your feet/ legs - tricky especially to get your kids get dressed after they end up burning themselves in the sand and the sea is too cold to go in for a wash ;)))

Trevalgan is a nice family run place and is perfect for families with kids. There are friendly dogs, cats, ducks, goats, chickens. They have a great indoor playbarn with tons of toys, games, puzzles, books, DVDs etc. There is also a separate games room for older kids/ adults with table tennis, pool table, books, leaflets etc and also travel cots, high chairs, baby carriers, some beach stuff - all available to borrow. There is a small outdoor play area with climbing frame but the swings are out of bounds and not ready yet, hopefully will be ready for next season.

They advertise on the website the accommodation as 'cottages'. Well we thought these are, as the name suggests, separate buildings but in fact they are not. There are 8 places/ accommodations here in total, and only one is a separate cottage (little barn). The rest are self contained 'apartments' located in a big converted barn. All have separate entrances but are at some point connected. The Hayloft where we stayed is on the first floor so we have The Parlour directly beneath us and could hear all the noises coming from the people staying there (and I am pretty sure they could hear us). Next door there is Trelissick so you can hear your neighbours through your master bedroom wall. And we also weren't feeling comfortable with telling our toddlers to keep quiet or stop running so we won't disturb the neighbours - Not why we came here and if I knew the Hayloft is a first floor apartment rather than cottage we would choose/go somewhere else.
There is a nice parking and outdoor area in front of the building with benches chairs and tables.
Melanie and Russell are very nice hosts and are very helpful if needed.

Hayloft, Parlour, Stable, Carthouse (Trevalgan.co.uk) are run by Melanie and Russell while Little Barn, Trelawne, Trelissick, Landhyrock (trevalganbarns.co.uk.) are run by their parents.

If u want total privacy with no neighbours and views - go for Little Barn as this is the only detached and separate cottage with no direct neighbours and not overlooked.

In spite of the fact that we were aiming to be staying in a separate building and got an apartment instead, we enjoyed our stay there and we may be back in future.

The Hayloft is entered via a big slope outside the building so pushchair is no problem if need be. The place has open plan lounge with 2 sofas, coffee table, dining table and chairs, and kitchen equipped with all the things u might need in a kitchen. 2 bedrooms with lots of storage, bathroom with an over head shower. There are carpets throughout, curtains and/or blinds in every window. Very cosy and the beds are pretty comfy to sleep on. The view from the lounge window overlooks the car park, the grass area with tables chairs and benches and also the sea and n the distance.
We also had our tesco shopping delivered here with no problem but bear in mind the local tesco here is not huge so the usual things I would by from my local tesco extra, were not available here. Not as big choice. Opposite the farm there is a camping /touring site that has a separate owner, and on the entrance they have a reception and a small shop inside so u can get milk snacks or other basics including cosmetics, beach toys, towels...

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank elaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews