We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy chalet, peaceful with super views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well equipped kitchen with oven and ceramic hob
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Well equipped kitchen with oven and ceramic hob
View of sunset over St Ives Bay
View of St Ives
View of Hayle River Estuary
Low tide on the Hayle River
Double bedroom 1
Washing machine
Well equipped kitchen
Open plan kitchen/diner
Dining table
Looking in from front door
Desk
Sunset over St.Ives
View towards St.Ives
Sunset over St. Ives
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
JMc-Malve...
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy chalet, peaceful with super views”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We recently stayed at Hi-Up and loved it; it has a nice lay-out, everything you need and great views across the estuary and St Ives. It's a short walk to the beach and close to the supermarkets and local pub. It was a cosy and peaceful stay and we're looking forward to coming back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizSawyer
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Peaceful haven with great views”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from our fifth holiday at Hi Up. We love it so much we keep going back.
Hi Up is a perfectly peaceful place to rest and relax. It is a great location for just walking down to the beach, touring beautiful Cornwall, and for watching the sun set over St Ives.
We are already looking forward to going back again next year!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip D
1 review
“A ideal Cornish base for spending time on the beach and exploring St Ives”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from 2 weeks staying in Hi-Up. We had a wonderful and relaxing holiday. The chalet was ideally situated for us, as our son wanted to spend most of his time on his body board in the sea. So the very short walk to a lovely beach with just the right amount of waves was great. Hi-Up itself is well appointed and feels very homely. We found it an ideal base for our holiday. Particularly relaxing at the end of the day watching the sun set over St Ives was wonderful. We agree with others that the view is amazing.

The only slight downside was, as others have mentioned, the lack of a seating area outside and the generally overground areas around the chalet. If a bit of work was done to create more cut grass areas, like other nearby chalets, then it would only enhance the property. That said we had typically mixed Cornish weather, so we might not have used the areas that much anyway.

On the whole I would recommend Hi-Up as place to spend a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheadoraB...
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pros & cons”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
6
people found this review helpful

First the positives: Hi- Up Chalet at Riviere Towans Holiday Camp is very well situated. As the name suggests, it is situated higher up than the chalets surrounding it so it feels more private, it has a lovely view and the beautiful beach is just a short walk away. It is a good size for 3 people with a double and a single room. The bedrooms are very small but this is to be expected with this type of holiday chalet. The open plan living and kitchen area are of a good size and there was plenty of space for the two of us and a child. 3 adults would also be well accommodated. The kitchen and bathroom are done up to a good standard and were clean and tidy.

Now to the negative aspects. we don't expect brand new furnishings with this type of accommodation, however the furnishings here are very old and tired and also in need of a cleaning. The outside area has also been very neglected. The photo on trip advisor shows a neat outside sitting area with mowed grass, however in reality the grass was thigh-high and therefore the area was unuseable and there is no other place to sit outside.The grass in the front of the chalet is also very overgrown and the long grass partially covers the steps, making it a bit dangerous as a child can easily trip over it. The window in the small room could not be opened, (a sign was attached stating "do not open, awaiting repair" ) which was uncomfortable as the chalet had a very musty smell and needed continuous airing. No one ever came to repair it the entire week. The chalet in itself is nice and the situation is great, however there is no reason for such neglect. Especially when charging £720 per week. If an outside seating area is being advertised, it has to be regularly mowed. The sofas should be kept clean and broken windows need to be repaired. A few inexpensive investments such as a second hand sofa in better condition and updating towels and duvet covers (which were missing all the buttons) would make a vast improvement to this chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty sofa, overgrown outside area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie_w92
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hi-Up in Riviere Towans”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just got back from a lovely chilled out week at Hi-Up in Riviere Towans. We were very lucky and had beautiful weather all week and spent many hours at the beach which was only a few minutes walk away. The views from this chalet were AMAZING and the chalet had everything we needed and more. It was in a perfect location and so private. The reason why i have only gave this chalet a 4 out of 5 is due to the cleanliness as everything else was perfect. We are not sure if there was a dog that stayed here the week before but there was a mass of hair everywhere and we spent the first day cleaning. We know there are cleaners that come in every Saturday so if anything we would just like to make the owners aware that them cleaners did not do a very good job before we arrived. Apart from that we would defiantly recommend this chalet and would come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james p
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in HI Up end of Sept into first week of Oct 2014.
The chalet is lovely & contains everything you could need.
The views across the Hayle estuary & over to St. Ives are
amazing, sunsets are glorious (the weather was very good
to us). Hi up is just like it looks in the photos online.

We have old friends in St. Ives where parking is often a problem,
but by staying here we were able to drive to Lelant,
park up for the day £2.00 then catch the train into St. Ives
£8.00 return for 2 adults. It's like a local bus service,
lots of regular trains & it only takes 10 mins.
Great, no stress trying to park.
We will both reccommend friends looking for a Cornish
holiday to book Hi Up.
Val & I look forward to coming back again, thanks James.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: stunning views, feels very homely.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Dear James and Val
So pleased you enjoyed your time at Hi Up and very glad you would like to come back again.

Thanks for the very positive review.

Best wishes

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing