We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well equipped kitchen with oven and ceramic hob
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Well equipped kitchen with oven and ceramic hob
View of sunset over St Ives Bay
View of St Ives
View of Hayle River Estuary
Low tide on the Hayle River
Double bedroom 1
Washing machine
Well equipped kitchen
Open plan kitchen/diner
Dining table
Looking in from front door
Desk
Sunset over St.Ives
View towards St.Ives
Sunset over St. Ives
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Victoria...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely little chalet with beautiful views across the estuary and St Ives Bay. The chalet was very clean with everything you needed in the kitchen to make it a home away from home.
Unfortunately we had rather bad weather in the 1st week of September and the carpet was damp in the corner of the bedroom. This did dry out but reappeared when it rained.
We walked into town via the north quay every day to visit restaurants and Hayle town and the beach is beautiful and clean although l counted 12 dogs in the dog free area. I also found the water pressure in the shower to be extremely low, but that might be an onsite issue rather than the chalet itself.
The electricity meter takes £1 coins and we feed it £5 for the week, although we had to find an online video to work it out! We didn't use the onsite WiFi at £11 a week as 02 had just enough signal to create our own hotspot. A great base to explore Cornwall from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talia L
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreamy/Perfection”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Perfect location and such a cosy little chalet!!! Had everything you would need and was very clean... Gorgeous views of the lovely blue sea and just a short walk to the beautiful beach. Bus station not far from chalet to head straight into St Ives or jump on the train which takes you along the hill sides looking of the sea! If your looking for something peaceful and relaxing this is for you. Amazing location but not ridiculously overpriced (like st ives)

Home from Home!!

Thank you xxx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_WelshLo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing beach bolthole”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This seemingly small wooden chalet is actually a bit of a tardis inside! Very comfortable and had everything we needed. A lovely base for an active holiday, with great access to the beach. (And the beach and dunes are brilliant). The electric heaters and electric blanket kept the place warm enough, even in March. A really cosy, homely and relaxed place - so, needless to say, we'd love to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Cosiness. Big windows, which provide lots of natural light and interesting views.
Liked least: Temperature of shower! Slippery steps outside.
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMc-Malve...
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy chalet, peaceful with super views”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We recently stayed at Hi-Up and loved it; it has a nice lay-out, everything you need and great views across the estuary and St Ives. It's a short walk to the beach and close to the supermarkets and local pub. It was a cosy and peaceful stay and we're looking forward to coming back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizSawyer
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Peaceful haven with great views”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from our fifth holiday at Hi Up. We love it so much we keep going back.
Hi Up is a perfectly peaceful place to rest and relax. It is a great location for just walking down to the beach, touring beautiful Cornwall, and for watching the sun set over St Ives.
We are already looking forward to going back again next year!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip D
1 review
“A ideal Cornish base for spending time on the beach and exploring St Ives”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from 2 weeks staying in Hi-Up. We had a wonderful and relaxing holiday. The chalet was ideally situated for us, as our son wanted to spend most of his time on his body board in the sea. So the very short walk to a lovely beach with just the right amount of waves was great. Hi-Up itself is well appointed and feels very homely. We found it an ideal base for our holiday. Particularly relaxing at the end of the day watching the sun set over St Ives was wonderful. We agree with others that the view is amazing.

The only slight downside was, as others have mentioned, the lack of a seating area outside and the generally overground areas around the chalet. If a bit of work was done to create more cut grass areas, like other nearby chalets, then it would only enhance the property. That said we had typically mixed Cornish weather, so we might not have used the areas that much anyway.

On the whole I would recommend Hi-Up as place to spend a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheadoraB...
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pros & cons”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
6
people found this review helpful

First the positives: Hi- Up Chalet at Riviere Towans Holiday Camp is very well situated. As the name suggests, it is situated higher up than the chalets surrounding it so it feels more private, it has a lovely view and the beautiful beach is just a short walk away. It is a good size for 3 people with a double and a single room. The bedrooms are very small but this is to be expected with this type of holiday chalet. The open plan living and kitchen area are of a good size and there was plenty of space for the two of us and a child. 3 adults would also be well accommodated. The kitchen and bathroom are done up to a good standard and were clean and tidy.

Now to the negative aspects. we don't expect brand new furnishings with this type of accommodation, however the furnishings here are very old and tired and also in need of a cleaning. The outside area has also been very neglected. The photo on trip advisor shows a neat outside sitting area with mowed grass, however in reality the grass was thigh-high and therefore the area was unuseable and there is no other place to sit outside.The grass in the front of the chalet is also very overgrown and the long grass partially covers the steps, making it a bit dangerous as a child can easily trip over it. The window in the small room could not be opened, (a sign was attached stating "do not open, awaiting repair" ) which was uncomfortable as the chalet had a very musty smell and needed continuous airing. No one ever came to repair it the entire week. The chalet in itself is nice and the situation is great, however there is no reason for such neglect. Especially when charging £720 per week. If an outside seating area is being advertised, it has to be regularly mowed. The sofas should be kept clean and broken windows need to be repaired. A few inexpensive investments such as a second hand sofa in better condition and updating towels and duvet covers (which were missing all the buttons) would make a vast improvement to this chalet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty sofa, overgrown outside area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing