We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Cook House St Ives - CLOSED

The Cook House St Ives
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Loved this place. Really welcoming and even tho you sit upstairs you can still sit downstairs. Staff are very welcoming and even tho we had a 11 month old baby with us it's one of the only places I've seen that have a pram station and leave it and not worry. The food was fantastic staff fantastic and view fantastic. They even heated up baby food for us. Would recommend in a heart beat. Top stars

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DONT listen to nonsence reveiws!! its a great place.”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

First of all i would like to start this reveiw off by saying do not listen to the bad reveiws off people who obvioulsy have a bee in thier bonnet! and are just picking at the most trivial things.

I am i local in St. Ives and have visited The Cook House when it was a restaurant and must say the food was absolutely sublime. It was that nice i recommended to all friends and family and returned a few times. We were seated by the window overlooking the sea and harbour which was lovely and staff were always friendly, well presented and competent.

Now the management have decided to change The Cook House into an up market cafe/ sit in or takeaway pastie shop. Where you can get anything from a large selection of hot and cold baguettes, pizzas, fish and chips to cream teas, cakes and coffes. I have had the fish and chips which was £6 on the lunch menu and it was lovely. One of THE best fish and chips i have had and the portion size was just right for me. Dont forget the baguettes too, i have often had a few different ones of these (all gorgeous), when passing by i will quikly grab one through the takeaway window, i must also mention the coffee i had (decaff) was also really nice.The staff are friendly as always and i beleive the prices to be spot on and very compatible.

To finish of i will say to anyone who is thinking of coming to St. Ives i would say try for yourself. And to anyone who has left a bad reveiw and are just nit picking! give this place a break it is newly established and is in my opinion doing brilliantly. The work that they have done on the place might not be noticable to you but if you had seen what it was before you would be greatful to be sitting in a clean and bright place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovesun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portreath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smallest portion of fish and chips ever!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We live in Cornwall and often visit St Ives. We've eaten at this restaurant before when it was a 'Fish and Chip' shop and found it reasonable. However, it had had a mini-makeover, possibly new owners and was trying to be a bit more 'up market'. It was New Years eve and we wanted to have an early dinner. We ordered x2 fish and chips and a pot of tea.(£15) The seating up stairs was cramped and we were packed in tight. When the food came we were rendered speechless! On a small wooden square was a about 20 chips (at most) and a TINY piece of soggy battered fish. We were embarrassed to complain publicly so, we waited until we were on our way out. We said the portions didn't reflect the cost. They said it was a 'lunchtime' menu. I said it was still poor value and so we wouldn't come back. The staff just stared at us. We left as hungry as we arrived but £15.00 lighter in the pocket,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestjo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Horrendous”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Do not waste your time or money! Disgusting rip off! Crammed in what felt like someone's front room! Make sure you are very specific to the waitress serving as she isn't the sharpest!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You have one job....”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Drinks order wrong, food order wrong, ordered hot and it comes out cold. Don't complain as you will get a look of disgust from the incompetent waitress. If you're thinking of eating here, don't. There is a bin outside with better options.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzyldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cook House St Ives also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing