We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the negative reviews”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Polmanter Touring Park
Certificate of Excellence
Burbage, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative reviews”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here last year and have just booked again for next month on the basis of our last stay.
Last year, on arriving for our first visit, we weren't happy with the pitch allocated and sought out a better one; back to the office, couldn't have been more helpful, wish granted.
We found all the amenities clean and well kept and applaud the 'dogs on lead' rule - might sound extreme but we would support 'children on leads' as well! Joke.
We like 'Giew' section but take care to choose a pitch which enables you to have the 'van window towards the view if you haven't got a motor mover.
The regular bus service into town is a great boon, especially the uphill return. I'd say it was cheap at twice the price. Taxis back, too, are good value in my opinion.
I'd invite those visiting to support the amenities in St Ives, spend a few bob if you can, as some of the locals depend on a short season to make their living.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissym3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    43
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
147
109
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Do not like to be told that we can not have our dog off the lead when all she was doing was playing next to out caravan we u pay to have the dog with u and she is not doing anything but playing with us and keep getting to told to put her on her lead so one rule for us paying guest and one rule that the people who work here was not asked nicely so would not come back if u love u dog it is lovely for walking when u are off the site but when on the site it is not nice to walk with dog they was no one on our tear or pitchs just us and our dog only when half a pitchs away and alway came back when U call her. The only thing that is open is the bar and restraunt the restraunt is only open for 6 to 8 of a evening the pool was not open the shop was not open so can not comment on than has camping season is now started has of 15 march and we pay at lot for three nights everything should of been open.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just returned from a five day break with our motorhome at Polmanter touring park from 17/04/14 to 21/04/14. The camp site is beautifully laid out with plenty of space for motorhomes caravans and tents with two of the three shower / w/c blocks open . We were a bit disappointed that the shop was closed ( good job we were fully stocked up ) but there was a bus service into St. Ives ( quite expensive £ 1.50 each way for a five minute journey ) Another down side was the WiFi which was on the expensive side at £15 for a week , £ 2.50 an hour or £5.00 a day which most of the time was non-existant it was a real pain having to try and log in each time . Everything was very clean and kept very tidy and the showers were nice and hot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dirtybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We only stayed at this site for 3 nights as we were on a tour of the South West. We met by a very friendly person in reception who gave us every bit of information you could wish for, were escorted to our pitch and again given information about water/electricity/tv. The shower blocks are very good with plenty of shower cubicles and hot water, free hairdryers and plugs for your own things, the block was always cleaned thoroughly, sometimes it is the people staying who cause the most mess. The bar/restaurant opened on our second night and of course we had to visit, be rude not to, it was with trepidation as these places tend to poor quality but was pleasantly surprised as the food was very good, plentiful portions and a good price, again the staff were very polite. There is a good bus service from the site and also from Halsetown, good walking within the region also with a footpath down into St. Ives and one up to the monument.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKItraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at this site for 2 nights prior to the Easter weekend. I was impressed with the generous pitch size and hedges between pitches for privacy.

Checkin was not good, there was only one hard standing pitch left which I was allocated, only to drive down to find a camper on the pitch who wasn't booked on to that pitch and shouldn't have been there, so we had to go back to reception again and was then allocated a grass pitch instead. This was higher up on the hill, and it is very windy site being on top of a hill, so if possible, try to get a pitch towards the bottom of the site.

There was one toilet block closed while we were here, and I never saw the open block clean. Every time I went to use either the dishwasher area, it was dirty, the family toilets were always muddy, and I was told by my partner the gents loos were foul, and this was the case in the evening and late mornings so I'm not sure when they were actually cleaned, I never saw anyone cleaning. The block was very tired, black grout chipping off around the tiles and sinks.

The walk to st ives was very pleasant and takes around 35minutes. The bar area looked good, but we didn't eat here so can't comment on food. Pool area and park for children was good.

Overall, location was good but the hygiene of the facilities really let's it down and because of that, I probably wouldn't stay there or recommend the site to friends and family.

Room Tip: Pitch at bottom of site to protect from the wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redglitterrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at polmanter in a touring caravan and had an amazing time. Site was spotlessly clean, close to the beach and had an amazing club house. Would certainly recommend. We enjoyed it so much we got engaged whilst staying at polmanter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willowxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

we stayed at polmanter in july this year pitch 286 and we can honestly say the park is flawless.The groundsman dont know his name but that guy is everywhere keeping the park spotless.We will be coming back in 2015 and cant wait .superb,superb,superb.EXCELLENT.

Stuart and cathy charles from aylesbury.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.0 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.5 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polmanter Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polmanter Touring Park

Property: Polmanter Touring Park
Address: St Ives, St Ives TR26 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Polmanter Touring Park 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Also Known As:
Polmanter Touring Park Hotel St Ives
Polmanter Touring Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing