We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Site - Near to St Ives!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Polmanter Touring Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We loved this site from start to finish. Perched on a hill with great views towards St Ives and the sea - we had a great pitch (77) which was flat, spacious, got the sun all day and was pretty quiet. staff were very friendly when we checked in and they gave us loads of info about the site, St Ives and the surrounding area. Facilities are brilliant - pool, shop, bar and St Ives is a 25 min stroll down a country lane (its all down hill going to St Ives - and all uphill coming back). For the less mobile, there is a regular local bus that picks up at the site entrance and drives down into St Ives. Toilet / Shower facilities were ample, very clean and even when the site was busy, we never had a problem finding an empty shower cubicle. Wifi is provided across the whole site (pretty strong signal) but costs £5 a day or £15 for a week (would have loved this to be free but appreciate that many sites charge for it). The on site bar / restaurant is lovely - serving good food and a wide variety of drinks - they even have a quiz night every now and then which was good fun. The site shop has everything that you need and even sells booze so no chance of running out! BBQ's are allowed as long as they are raised off the grass. St Ives itself is gorgeous with lots of independant shops, cafes, restaurants and good old fashioned English Pubs with flagstone floors and weird guest ales! We loved this site, we loved St Ives.....we will return for sure! Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have been to this family run site many times and can honestly say it is the best site in St Ives if not the whole of Cornwall
The site is well laid out and very clean and tidy with large pitches and lots of privacy hedging.
Great facilities with an outdoor swimming pool and a on site shop, laundry room. loads of toilet blocks which are excellent and of course, the legendary stable bar run by Alex and Lee who serve great food and local beers and organise some really good bands and evening entertainment
All of the staff are polite and friendly and remember you each year
I Highly recommend this site, try it, you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: Go for the multi service pitches if you want a really easy camping holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mrskimcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Lovely site, well kept with a fabulous heated outdoor pool. On booking I was aware this was a site much larger than I would normally choose. So why did I choose it? The pool and it's close proximity to St Ives were the main factor. I cannot fault the cleanliness and facilities, but a large site brought the inevitable hustle and bustle which is to be expected, so for me I did not find it relaxing, there was always some sort of noise going on, whether it be people moving or driving back and to, coming and going, lawns being mowed etc etc which is all to be expected but I felt it was just far too noisy for me. I was also expecting to be able to walk quite easily into St Ives but it was a 20 minutes walk across fields and stiles and very steep coming back up, not suitable for anyone who is not fit and certainly out of the question if you have any walking disability whatsoever, I only did this walk once and then resorted to the bus which is outside the main entrance to the park (£1.50 per person each way). The pool is absolutely gorgeous but again, as it is a big site it was always full with children playing ball so if you want to cool off or do a few lengths you won't be able to do it for the majority of the day, There is an adults only session but only for one hour in the morning (9-10) It's good that children can enjoy their holiday, but it would also have been nice to have been able to go in the pool more often than I did. I would not stay here again only because it was unsuitable for my taste. It's great for families but not for anyone looking for a quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Well what can I say about Polmanter. This is our third consecutive year visiting this gorgeous area of Cornwall and we're already planning next year here. The site is in a fantastic location and is well and truly excellently maintained by the staff working here. Nothing is too much trouble. We were unable to book our previous pitch but the one allocated to us was even better than the last one. The pitches are very roomy and are semi secluded with hedges either side. The on site wc/shower blocks are fantastic and are continually cleaned to maintain such high standards as Polmanter do as the norm. The on site shop is open twice a day and has all the necessary bits and bobs that you require. (There is a tesco 10 mins drive for your main shop.) There is an onsite laundry centre with washing machines/driers/ironing boards etc. The on site Stable Bar/Restaurant serves all ranges of drinks including a few real ales. The food here is gorgeous and competitively priced. Attached to the bar is a huge conservatory where you can view the outside heated pool. Other facilities include tennis courts/ping pong tables/ pool tables/ chikdrens play area so all in all plenty to tire out the little ones. There are 2 country walks which takes you down to St. Ives but if you are not feeling energetic there is a regular bus service direct ftom Polmanter down to St. Ives. A big thank you to Polmanter and look forward to seeing you next year.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights in july and couldnt fault anything about it.
Spotless campsite and facilities. Beautiful views from most of the pitches. Regular bus service into St Ives or you can walk from the campsite, which takes about 20/25 minutes.
Cant recommend enough
We have booked to go back in september :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank laj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Cannot rate this site highly enough. It's booked up really early, and usually full but it always feels great...really relaxing site, clean and well looked after. Staff and cleaners polite and helpful.Great size pitches which you can 'order' on the website. Reasonably priced for the site and the sea views you get from 99% of the pitches. Half hour walk to the town, bus service from the site itself. Good amenities including free swimming pool (really clean), pub, takeaway (inc breakfasts at the weekend!) pub quiz, karaoke,bingo etc. Restaurant with reasonably priced meals, tennis courts...honestly you don't have to leave the site!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank sjohnson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Polmanter is the best campsite I have been to.

Me and my wife live in Croydon and travelled down the first week of July to meet up with her parents who had already been down there for a week.

Arrival - The staff were very friendly on arrival. We arrived at the campsite at circa 11am and we were allowed straight on to our pitch. The staff on reception were very friendly in explaining the site and provide welcome packs with information about the local area. The reception is stocked full of leaflets and brochures to help yourself to. Even included local weather forecast for the coming days.

Pitch - The pitch sizes are very generous. I have been to site were I have pitched my tent and then had to park my car elsewhere. The pitches here are large enough to park your car next to the tent or in front of it.

Facilities - What wins this site over for me above the others I have visited are the facilities.

Toilets - There are numerous toilet and shower blocks. The ones we were located to were the most recent and benefitted from underfloor heating which is nice first thing in the morning or last thing at night. They were always very clean and plenty of room. Also included in these facilities were family shower rooms, disabled rooms, and baby washing cubicles.
Washing - In terms of washing, the cleaning kitchens for washing up cutlery and the like was located within the building of each shower block meaning there were plenty to choose from.
Washing - In terms of clothes and the like, there was a sizeable launderette with lots of washing machines, spin driers and a couple of ironing boards to choose from.
Shop - The site has a shop which is open in the mornings and the afternoons. The times are very reasonable and the stock is what you would expect for a campsite. The shop is not small so they are likely to have what you would expect in a campsite shop.

Entertainment - Under entertainment I am including entertainment facilities. The site has the widest range that I have seen when it comes to campsites.
The site has a mini pitch and putt with club hire available.
The site has a couple of table tennis tables with equipment hire available.
The site has Tennis courts, again with equipment hire available at a modest charge.
The site has a heated swimming pool. It is heated which means it is not cold. Do not mistake this for meaning it is hot. It is very pleasant to swim in and much warmer than it would be without any heating. The swimming area also has deck chairs around giving it the feel of a pool more a kin to sunnier climates.
The site has a lovely conservatory connected to the bar which guests can use throughout the day. Lovely set of tables and chairs and leather sofas to relax, read, chat, play board games etc.
The site has a very good bar/restaurant. The food is very good. We stayed for a week and ended up eating there 3 times and the food was very good each time. The pricing is fair for what you are getting. Circa £10 for main. £5 for dessert.
We went just before the high season and the only night that had entertainment was the Tuesday night quiz which was enjoyable. I understand the entertainment is more in the high season. But this suited me as it was during the world cup, and they showed the games each night instead.
The site has a games room. This has a couple of gaming machines, 2 English pool tables and a ping pong table. We enjoyed a couple of games of pool each night after a drink in the bar.

On top of all these facilities, the site is well placed in Cornwall that it is near to lots of places to visit. St Ives is just a 30 minute walk from the site.
We visited lots of local beaches nearby which were very nice.

We cannot fault the site, and the next time we camp in Cornwall there will be no question of where it will be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PopcornFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 20 in Penzance
433 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hendra Holiday Park
Hendra Holiday Park
#2 of 79 in Newquay
1,910 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polmanter Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polmanter Touring Park

Address: St Ives, St Ives TR26 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Polmanter Touring Park 5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful countryside overlooking St Ives, Polmanter Touring Park combines award-winning facilities with a warm Cornish welcome. Our family has run this 5-star caravan and camping site for almost fifty years. This experience, along with our own love of camping, means that we know about all those little touches that make a holiday extra enjoyable – and effortless. Whether you’ve spent every summer under canvas, or are just gently introducing your young family to the fun of camping, you can create your ideal holiday at Polmanter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Polmanter Touring Park Hotel St Ives
Polmanter Touring Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing