We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe all the bad reviews ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our favourite family holiday. The park is stunning in beautiful woodland. Never had a problem with any type of accommodation and we've stopped in the whole range over the last 15 years. We don't use the club house or the pool much as the kids are grown up now but we still can't shake them off. This year we stayed in a beautiful woodland lodge in a superb position but would happily stay anywhere on the park. Its the best and cheapest place for visiting west Cornwall. Will be back again shortly for our second time this year. Can't wait ..... See you soon Freddie .

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank annief1red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and our housekeeping team will be especially delighted to read your thoughts.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Myself, my husband, mum and 9 month old daughter stayed at the St. Ives holiday village from the 25th - 29th June, we booked using the sun £9.50 promotion paying a little over £100 for the days we were there, which to be honest I thought was fine for what we thought we were paying for!
Admittedly we didnt expect it to be 5* however we did expect it to be a lot better than it was especially seeing the brochure! The accomodation or rather "shed" stunk of damp, urine and I did find a few ants running around the place too. The furniture is outdated, I had to wash all the plates, mugs and cutlery before we could use them as the previous tenants had left traces of their food on them. The damp is so bad that you could feel the damp on the beds and carpets plus when we got home I actually had to wash clothes that we did not wear as they stunk so much of the damp from the "shed"!! We paid extra for an upgrade to "silver" and all I will say is that if that's what a silver is like god help the people that stay in a standard "shed" It is such a shame because it could be lovely considering the location but we will never be returning and probably would not go to a John Fowler holiday park anywhere for that matter!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.

I wonder if you informed the park manager of your displeasure while you were on the park - it is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home. I will be contacting you shortly to investigate your concerns and perhaps then we will be able to restore your faith in John Fowler Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is the worst place we have ever stayed my children were traumatised by the state of this place. The accommodation is little more than a garden shed, in fact that might be making it sound better than it is! The location is idyllic, and the potential for great holiday park is there, but unfortunately the accommodation is filthy, smelly and unsafe. The electrics are from the '50's and the furniture is falling to pieces but the smell is the worse thing. All in all a tip.
DO NOT GO

Room Tip: do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nottsSt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

I was saddened to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.

Meanwhile, I will be contacting you shortly to investigate your concerns and perhaps then we will be able to restore your faith in John Fowler Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was our first and last time that we will use John Fowler holidays we stayed in a 2 bed cabin and i can honestly say i have never been any where so disgusting it was damp, dirty and mouldy with a leaking toilet pipe in the so called bathroom you could not use the bath as this was so filthy and only a trickle of water came from the shower the beds were very uncomfortable and dirty we only stayed one night as could not stay any longer!

Room Tip: Dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.

I wonder if you informed the park manager of your displeasure while you were on the park - it is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home. I will be contacting you shortly to investigate your concerns and perhaps then we will be able to restore your faith in John Fowler Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Hi all ... we returned last night from an 8 night stay at st ives holiday village , 2nd year we have been here and 2nd year we have had a great time with our 5 and 8 year old son and daughter, we had a woodland budget chalet and it had everything we needed , was easily big enough and comfortable , we dont drive all the way down there to sit in a chalet and they are perfect to use as a base to explore the beautiful surrounding areas.
A very special mention goes to the stripeys who do a great job every evening and work very hard to make the club a fun and friendly place to be , only downside is sammie the stripey who has been there both years told us she wont be there next year all the best to her and a big thank you to her for taking the time to come and chat to us on friday just before we left .... ive read all the reviews and i personally cant understand some of the comments that are made here , to us a great place with some great friendly staff, we cant wait until August 2013 when another 8 great days lie ahead .... thank you to all for a great time at st ives

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed at St Ives Holiday village from 25 June to 29 June but we only managed to stay until 27th as we could not bear to live in this damp, dirty shed any longer as we feared for our own health and that of our 5 month old son

We booked through the Sun with the accommodation costing £113 in total for the break. Whilst we don’t expect luxury accommodation, we do expect it to be at least clean and liveable for the short time we are there.

Upon check in we were directed to the bronze chalet which upon entering was like stepping back in time to 1970’s. The shed was located near other sheds in the middle of what I can only describe as a muddy pit in which you get caked in mud every time you ventured outside

As for the shed - No shower – The bath was stained and tiny - dirty dog haired carpet stank of dog excrement and everything was damp and smelly. The linen provided was ripped and damp. The walls and ceiling had mould growing up them and the furniture looked like it had just been got from a house clearance. Also the front door was rotten at the bottom and the bedroom had snails on the walls.

The damp just got progressively worse as the stay went on, even with the heater on full blast it did not make any difference.

The clubhouse was Ok with the staff trying their hardest to entertain – the price of the food was expensive.

Whilst we appreciate the location being in woodland we do not expect this level of dirtiness and damp and general poor maintenance, irrespective of the surroundings or weather.

Do not stay here if you value your health as we have all come back with coughs which we can only put down to the damp of the shed.

St Ives holiday village seems to be stuck in time warp and this level of accommodation might have been acceptable in the 70’s but not in the year 2012.

One star is a compliment !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I can only add to the previous comments. My wife and I were given a wooden shake much the same as the people with the dog, but we do not have one. it was very dated ( I understand it was built in the 1960s) and not repaired since, it smelt of damp and rotting wood, we felt unable to touch anything in fear of catching something. we did complain and were offered either a refund or a different chalet, which we accepted as it was much better, but still not as good as one would expect. we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Do not go to this site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rowile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#4 of 4 in Carbis Bay
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,026 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Price Range: £44 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing