We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pre judge and be open minded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't pre judge and be open minded”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We were a little apprehensive at visiting the holiday park after reading the reviews but in fact my partner and I were pleasantly surprised with the standard of accommodation, the staff and the location in general. For what we paid for a weeks holiday in what I would consider a expensive area of the country especially if we stayed in central st ives it was value for money. When we arrived the lady at reception was very friendly welcoming and professional. The chalet did smell a bit damp when we entered it but no worse than self catering cottages we have visited in the past. After opening the windows it wasn't a problem. Further to previous reviews if you are in a woodland I would expect leaves on the ground and also a certain amount of humidity as your under a tree canopy.. There was no (human) litter about the park and roadways were clean. It was especially nice to have parking close to the chalet. We visited the club on a few evenings and found the bar staff friendly and the drinks reasonably priced. Whilst we only stayed for an hour or two in the evening we could see the dedication of the entertainments team to helping holiday makers have fun. If we had children I think they would especially enjoy the entertainment after the bingo. All the entertainment was light hearted and good British fun. The chalet was clean and the bed comfortable. The site shop was well stocked with essential items and were reasonably and fairly priced. The location necessitates using either public transport or driving as there's not much in walking distance. But you can get the bus on site if required. However it is a good location if your driving as its close to the A30 which will take you to most popular attractions. We enjoyed our holiday for what we paid I consider it to be value for money and furthermore if I were to holiday in that area again I would seriously consider returning. I would also look at John Fowler Holiday Parks in other areas of the country if I was considering another British holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bankyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are at a loss to understand why some people post such poor reviews for all to see. This is something that is general throughout the industry - we are not the only victims. Sadly, review sites are anonymous and it is virtually impossible to trace the reviewer and investigate their comments..

We look forward to welcoming you to our park again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    226
    139
    81
    246
See reviews for
536
188
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Aldeburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at John Fowler Holiday park from 22nd Septemeber for a week and i have to say that the reviews on this site are very misleading!!!. We were travelling as a party of six with myself, my husband and my sister in laws family and after reading the reviews on this site we were contemplating looking at cottages as a back up in case the lodge was really that bad. I can say we were pleasantly surprised. No damp, a lovely warm woodland lodge, clean and tidy with everything you need. It has two twin bederooms and 1 double. We were only located just across from the clubhouse which was fab as we had a 3 year old and 18 month old with us. Food was fab in clubhouse and staff behind bar were lovely too. To be honest the site does need a refurb but in this current climate with money etc you can see that it is impossible.
The Entertainment team were 1st class!!! even though they got me on stage on the last night!!! Honestly the stripeys are fab and really made our holiday as a family. Especially James and Kaci who are just first class. So all you negative reviewers on the entertainment are 100% wrong. Ok they do host bingo everynight but whats wrong with a little bit of bingo whilst your own holiday?!. I would visit here again as long as the stripeys are still there :). So all you who are looking at going please try it, but book one of the woodland lodges or bungalows.

Room Tip: Just ensure to book the woodland lodges or bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anre160711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments, especially the entertainments team.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I satyed here in one of the silver chalets for one week in mid September. The accommodation was very crampt but the biggest problem is dampness- you can smell it as soon as you enter any of the chalets and this is the biggest single complaint that most guests have. I did complain and was provided ith a de-humidifier. When I first used this device it took in 2 litres of water within the first hour of use. It certainly hel0ps but does not get to the root of the problem. I would recommend that all guests ask for a de-humidifier as soon as they arrive at the holiday park.

The pool is very cold all 0of the time and the changing rooms basic. The bar area is almost passable but, without sounding snobish, it looks like a working mens club from the 1960's.

On the plus side, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful- I feel really sorry for them as they have a management team who do not care.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilcrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. It was obvious from your comments that the Holiday Park was not to your taste.

With regard to the damp smell we are well aware of the reason but sadly there is very little we can do about it. It is such a shame that some people will occupy a holiday unit and not open a window for the duration of their stay. This was probably the case with the previous occupants of the chalet you stayed in. Cooking and sleeping with windows closed will slowly take its toll - especially in Devon and Cornwall where the atmosphere is usually humid. I think we all know what happens when a property is not regularly aired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Ives hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just got back from an enjoyable holiday at John Fowler's Holiday Village, St.Ives. The bungalow we were in was clean and tidy but basic. We had plenty of hot water, heaters in each room and the beds were comfortable. The entertainment was OK but not brilliant, but the "Stripeys" work very hard to keep us happy. The drinks in the club were expensive but no more than the pubs in St Ives, On the minus side, we complained on the second day that the heated towel rail in the bathroom wasn't working, a technician did come and look at it but nothing was ever done.
However, we will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest option. You get what you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a fair review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments, especially the entertainments team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Wow £600 we paid for a two bed chalet, this was our main holiday for the year. The rooms had damp, our sheets were smelly and damp, the bathroom door had a hole kicked in it, awful shower and bathroom, uncomfortable beds, uncomfortable seats, shocking. The only plus is that the weather was great and we hardly had to be there

Room Tip: do not stay in a chalet, houses or caravans may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most reviews paint a totally different picture.

I feel sure that many people reading your review would find it difficult to understand why you did not tell the management of your displeasure while you were there and insist to be moved elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2012

just had to write about our stay at st ives holiday park.when i saw some of the negative reviews i was shocked. this is our second visit and again we had a fantastic time. we stayed in a budget chalet as stated it is not a palace but was loveley and clean heaters in living and both bedrooms shower and small bath and clean well equiped kitchen. great woodland location for our dog he loved long walks every day. brilliant bus service to st ives only 15mins. our 13 yearold daughter loved it the sripeys samie-leigh lucy kaci james and frankie were brilliant the pool and play area are excellent.all the staff are friendly ,all in all if you want a fantastic family holiday with lots of run and jump or a quiet laid back one all at a great price the this is the place to come

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We simply do not understand why some people choose to post negative reviews, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2012

After reading some of the bad reviews on here about St Ives Holiday Village I must say that I don't know what some people are complaining for.

Myself and my partner brought our 3 month old son for a week in July and had a brilliant holiday. We stayed in a trevacroft bungalow which is one of the nicest and cleanest chalets I've stayed in - no damp or mould. The bathroom was a bit outdated but nothing we couldn't put up with. We had previously stayed in a bronze chalet which was a little old and in need of a refurb but as a base it did just fine.

The site itself is beautiful and well maintained and is in a brilliant location to get to see the best of Cornwall. The staff in the club were fantastic and so friendly and made sure they came to speak to us each night. The entertainment for kids is some of the best around and although my son wasn't old enough to join in, the children that were there had a great time playing games and doing party dances. the adults entertainment is good, on a par with most other holiday parks in terms of the variety of games that were played. i cant comment on the main cabaret as we were usually sat enjoying a glass of wine outside the bungalow at this time. The food from chefs corner is lovely and the staff in there were also very helpful and had no problems providing us with hot water to warm our sons bottles.

All in all it was a lovely week and I didn't want to return home. I can't wait to take my son back as I know he will love it too and we will definitely be returning for many years to come.

Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are at a loss to understand why some people post such poor reviews for all to see. This is something that is general throughout the industry - we are not the only victims. Sadly, review sites are anonymous and it is virtually impossible to trace the reviewer and investigate their comments..

We are a family business, having been in existence for well over 50 years. We are well renowned for our customer service and this is borne out in our extremely high repeat bookings – we can boast clients who have been with us for up to 30 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
229 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
912 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Property: St. Ives Holiday Village
Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and PitchUp so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing