We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
preston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stay on this park twice a year, and have just returned after a very enjoyable stay. Ok, there are parts of the site that could do with a bit of TLC, but in spite of several lengthy power cuts this week, it didn't spoil our enjoyment.Despite being very busy, the reception staff were pleasant, even when faced with irate customers, who have obviously never experienced a power outage in their lives !!That said, the chalet was cleaned to a high standard, and to cap it all, after an 8 hour drive from the frozen North, the weather for the week was stunning. I can only say that if people want 5 star luxury, book a 5 star hotel !! If you're looking for a clean and comfy base to tour West Cornwall, you could do a lot worse than John Fowler. See you again in October.

Room Tip: Silver or Gold are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping and the maintenance teams, who did their best during the power cuts. I am delighted to read that you did not automatically blame the park, as others have done, and that the situation did not spoil your enjoyment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in October when the weather will no doubt be much warmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    219
    135
    79
    242
See reviews for
517
184
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Just came back 4 days early from our 5 day break here, place looks very pretty and trees reminded me of a centre parc type holiday, however we were very very disapointed from the minute we walked into our 'luxury accomodation' we paid an upgrade and the chalet was cold and smelt damp, I checked with reception as we thought that perhaps we hadn't been given the upgrade, but apparently the small, cold chalet was top of the range. We decided to make the best of it and put the heaters on to warm the place up, only for all the electrics to go.
We contacted reception, to find out that three quarters of the park were without power, the parks explanation? - due to everyone putting their heating on, it had caused a major fuse to go, well what do they expect, it was -1 outside, people need to switch their heating on! After a couple of hours the electricity came back on, only for it to go off during the early hours, my 3 children opulent sleep with the cold, we managed a few hours sleeping in our coats!
By the morning, still no electricity, so no heat, hot water, warm food we felt unable to stay. Reception tried to convince us that the electrics would come back, but with 3 very cold and hungry children we felt unble to stay, the park did grudgingly refund us, but we lost over z£50 in food that was not able to be refrigerated or frozen over night.

Total waste of petrol to get there and very unhappy children. NOT the Easter break we were hoping for.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most reviews paint a totally different picture. We are aware of the power cuts on the park - these as you may imagine were beyond our control and I am sorry it adversely affected your holiday.

Meanwhile, so that the issues can be investigated further, I will be contacting you to discover precisely where you where staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Ives hotels

Woolaston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a long weekend here. After reading the bad reviews its fair to say we were feeling a little apprehensive about what we might find, however we were really pleasantly surprised. The staff who checked us in were lovely, really friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We were in a silver chalet which was basic but clean comftable and warm. It could perhaps do with updating but that's a minor detail. Definitely not damp or cold as mentioned in previous reviews. The park is in a lovely woodland location. We didn't use any of the park facilities so I couldn't commet on them.. As a bargain break we couldn't of asked for anything more and I wouldn't hesitate to return. Really don't listen to the moaners!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

We are at a loss to understand why some people post such poor reviews for all to see. This is something that is general throughout the industry - we are not the only victims. Sadly, review sites are anonymous and it is virtually impossible to trace the reviewer and investigate their comments..

We look forward to welcoming you to our park again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Hi guys,
After reading a few reviews on this site in regards to the John Fowler Holiday village in St Ives, I've found a few that do nothing but put the park down, I've been to the same park a couple of times over the past few years and stayed at the St Ives Holiday village and found every staff member a pleasure to speak to. Fair enough I understand what people are saying about the park being very dated. In my opinion when you book somewhere anywhere in the world the place that you stay at is only somewhere to rest your head, is it not?!? I went to Reviere Sands last year with Haven and to be honest parts of it made me wish I'd booked at John Fowler, one reason being the entertainment between the 2 parks are totally different. On one occasion at the Haven park they put on a Steps tribute show on, we went just for the simple reason their was a bar, the show was absolutely appauling, if you find 5 club reps prancing round on a stage miming to the dance moves entertainment then go to Haven, i couldn't actually believe what I was seeing to be honest, then to top it off a night or 2 later they had the same thing on. Now going back to John Fowler, the entertainment was of a better class, (you'd think it'd be the other way round) no shows ever got repeated, if you missed it for whatever reason the night you arrived or the day after your arrival it was tough, there was something different each night, and even the kid's characters stayed out for longer than 5 mins which is more than can be said about haven. I won't say I'm not going to a Haven site again because I probably will, the accommodation is alot newer and the location is better, but I'm more than happy to give John Fowler my hard earned cash, and have better entertainment, and somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mart01282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

We have always been extremely proud of our entertainments teams over the years, the effort they put in is amazing. They have done a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday and I am told that this year's team will be no exception.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I booked a 4 night away at st Ives holiday village on the 9th July 2012 - 13th July 2012, and my i start by saying that i had drove all the way from Cambridge to Cornwall - and we was far from impressed, we arrived at the site at round about 3pm knowing we could not clock in till 4pm, so while we waited we had a quick look round the site (although there was not much to see or do) However while we was waiting we had a walk round the woodland walk (which should be known as the muddy, get dirty walk) you would sink in the mud walking through the walk, we stepped about 6 steps in and turned around and had to go and fine something else to do! some went and had a drink while we waited, the only staff we saw that day was the grumpy women at reception, however it was 4pm so we went to collect are keys to clock in and i have to say we stayed in a gold and my other family stayed in a silver and the silver was 10 times better, although everything worked in our cabin apart from the shower and the lack of heating and working radiators, mine nor my family's accomadatoin smelt damp or was unclean both cabins where clean and tidy when we arrived, That evening we went to the family entertainment and that was great, the staff really interacted with my kids, my only other dought was the swimming pool as that was open at from 10 - 12 and then 2 - 3?, the park was rubbish looked like it was going to break any time soon, and the other thing was the arcade, there was no 2p games there and to be honest most of the amusements where out of order, the park needs a compleate makeover, the broucher is a book of lies theonly thing thats in that book that is not a lie is "due for referbisment" untill it has a make over and looks half decent i will not be going back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom79186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an interesting review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments and our entertainments team will be especially delighted to read your thoughts.

With regard to the woodland walk, the paths have been left exactly as nature has created, and will, of course, be muddy when the weather is wet. To change this with the addition of concrete or tarmac, would totally ruin the ambiance of the park, which I feel sure would upset many of our regular guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,141 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago and although we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves we did have a damp issue and had several little bugs in the bathroom but i suppose this is to be expected considering we backed onto the woods.Its a very rustic type place and when we complained to john fowler about this they were excellent and refunded us 25% of our payment.Would stay again.This place is really handily placed for st ives paradise park and the tyringham arms up the road which is a great pub!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. Your comments have been passed to all departments. .

With regard to the damp smell we are well aware of the reason but sadly there is very little we can do about it. It is such a shame that some people will occupy a holiday unit and not open a window for the duration of their stay. This was probably the case with the previous occupants of the chalet you stayed in. Cooking and sleeping with windows closed will slowly take its toll - especially in Devon and Cornwall where the atmosphere is usually very humid. I think we all know what happens when a property is not regularly aired.
However, we hope that it did not spoil your holiday and we really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We travelled here in April last year and must be said we had an enjoyable week at a very good price. Arrived early and were able to gain access to our chalets a couple of hours earlier than the stated time, which was good. First impressions of the park is that it was very much like any other large holiday park in the UK, though in a pleasant woodland setting.

The chalet itself was ok, we booked 2 silver chalets. One had new sofas, the other had a very old sofa that was on it's last legs and a couple of small bucket type armchairs. Other than this there was a large dining table and chairs, well equipped kitchen and 2 decent size bedrooms. Bed wasn't particularly comfortable, and it was sometimes a struggle to keep the chalet warm for any great period of time. Shower room was fairly standard and pretty clean though getting enough hot water for more than 1 shower was also very tough... we also found it difficult to get the water temperature to a point between scalding and freezing though ended up managing it each time. Double glazing was a bonus, we did see chalets that must have been bronze or budget level and they did look pretty miserable from the outside. Parking also wasn't easy. 2 spaces outside a courtyard of 3 chalets doesn't go, so would sometimes have a bit of a trek to the car.

Facilities on site were decent enough, the pool was good with a waterslide and a sauna. Unfortunately it was shut for a few days though I gather this was due to an incident caused by a guest rather than the park's fault. The shop wasn't cheap and wasn't always well stocked. I didn't find the bar that expensive, and service there was good. Takeaway food was standard fayre and not too bad, but overpriced in my opinion. Entertainment was mostly pretty good and we all enjoyed it! Half the games in the arcade were out of order when we visited. The play area wasn't large but was good, my little girl enjoyed it.

Overall I'd go back if I could get a cheap deal. St Ives is really good and the park is well located to visit many places, and it really isn't as bad as made out.

Room Tip: Don't go for budget/bronze accommodation if you can help it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a fair review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments - everyone will be pleased to read your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Property: St. Ives Holiday Village
Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and PitchUp so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing