We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just got home from 2 wks at St Ives Holiday Village, we loved it, so much so we have already booked to return next year. Our Oakleigh Silver Chalet was GR8 compact yes, very little storage/wardrobe space, a tiny bath with shower over, but spotlessly clean. We booked this in January 2013 largely because we have 2 dogs only little bichon frise's but we do like to take them on nice walks & this location was perfect for us. We met lots of people also dog owners, who go back year after year to this location, and in all honesty we can see why. We loved the wooded setting, watching the foxes, owls & hedgehogs at night, the numerous different birds during the day & the pretty bunny rabbits in the evenings, it was heaven for us, we could happily live there & we would if not for uprooting our whole family, because we couldn't go without them. Everyone we met was friendly & spoke which was lovely. The chalets are on the small side, but there are only the 2 of us & the doggies so it suited us perfectly. Larger one's are available for families, but not dogs sadly. We visited Porthkidney Sands on numerous occasions to let our dogs have a good run, accessed from the road at the side of the Badger PH drive up to the church & park for free, its a bit of a trek & not suitable for elderly or disabled but well worth the walk, we met 2/3 other dog owners there, again very friendly, the scenery is beautiful. You can park at Lelant Station for £2.50 for 24 hrs & pay £4 return fair to St Ives, dogs on leads only but very welcome, and again the scenery from the train is heaven on earth. Cornwall is truly dog friendly, restaurants/cafes, shops too, the rest of this country in particular seaside resorts could learn a lot from Cornwall's welcoming attitude, yes we loved it, yes, we're returning, and yes we highly recommend it especially to nature & dog lovers, everything you could possibly desire or want is close at hand, we are indeed very happy with our stay at SIHV :-) very happy indeed

Room Tip: We had an Oakleigh Silver it was as above, we would have liked a Gold or above but not possible with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOWESTOFTSMUDGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Once again let me thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Booked here through the Sun holiday deal and was slightly apprehensive after reading some reviews, however chalet was relatively clean and tidy with reasonable kitchen facilities. Was a bit disappointed with the quality of the bed linen and if we went back again would take our own. Had everything we needed sofa, tv, kitchen facilities and dining table, we were close to the reception and shop which was handy. Had to leave early as our litle girl was ill but that was totally unrelated and we would have happily stayed had she been well. So close to St Ives and Penzance was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject and I suspect that if the few writers of the poor reviews knew how their collective comments affected the jobs of ordinary Cornish people, they probably wouldn’t have written them.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. Our returning customers are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

To be fair after booking our Sun holiday here and reading the trip advisor reviews I was dreading it. We could no check in early as our chalet was not ready and to my horror I heard two other couples complaining about damp, smell, dog hair, my heart sank and I thought all the bad reviews were about to come true. We got out key at 4 pm and drove to our chalet. It was in a lovely location with only 3 others around it. We opened the door and while it was cold due to the windows being left open it was clean, tidy and on par with any other sun holiday location we have been to. We shut the windows, put the heater on and unpacked. With a couple of hours the place was toasty warm and we felt relaxed and happy. I can honestly say we would go back, we might look to go outside of a sun holiday to one of the nicer, more modern lodges but I certainly wouldn't be sad if it was one of our holiday choices and came up again. Yes it's dated but hey I don't mind that for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zpiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My In-laws booked before we could warn them about the bad reviews, so we were quite happy at first when we saw the silver grade bungalow. The kitchen area was ok to look at, but when using implements, they seemed well used. The can opener wouldn't work and I tried to clean the thick encrusted dirt off it before anyone else saw! It still failed to work, The cooker was rusty on the outside, and wiping the oven, I found it was clean, but rusty inside too. The oven door needs to be cleaned thoroughly, the seal has gone, so there are streaks inside the glass.
The sofa and curtains were smart and looked new.
The bedrooms are tiny, one double and a twin. The double bed was against a wall, so it was difficult for my in-laws to get in and out of bed. The twin bedroom smelt musty, but I couldn't find the source. The duvets were thin, but the mattresses were comfortable and clean.
The bathroom is small, a shower rather than a bath might make more sense.
There is a general sense of shabbiness.
On a positive note it is nicely situated for a holiday, being near lots of great places, like the North Coast beaches, or villages like Marazion and Mousehole on the South Coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I've been on many newspaper budget holidays, and I've always been pleasantly surprised. That was before we came to St. Ives. All we want is a clean base so we can travel locally.

Our first impressions were when booking in. The main hall was set out like an old WMC - and didn't smell better. The chalet had obviously been cleaned, but the outdated chalet needs carpet cleaning and deep cleaning. Wear slippers insides or your feet will be filthy. Quilts are filthy, and mattresses uncomfortable.

Shame. It's perfectly situated for all Cornish places of interests.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoverPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Me and my partner have just spent 4nights at st Ives holiday village and for what we paid we couldn't of asked for more!
Not sure what to expect on arrival after reading the reviews we were happy to find our "forestcroft chalet" was ready early, and had everything we needed for our mini break. There were NO signs of mould, NO signs of damp and the chalet was clean and tidy, if anything just slightly dated!
We didn't use the facilities on site other than the shop -which stocks all the basics you might need- because we spent our time exploring the area, When checking in the staff on the desk were polite and helpful, the park was in a peaceful woodland setting and there is alot to see and do within reasonable distance!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondie875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I was horrified after booking to learn only chalets were available, there are no caravans on site. I checked the reviews & feared the worst about the bronze chalet we'd been allotted. I phoned & upgraded to a silver chalet, which I was promised were newer & in excellent condition & felt more positive.

Checking in was ok, the staff were dealing with a large queue at the time. The chalet looked clean enough at first glance, but the lounge carpet is sticky, the sofa looks revolting, the cupboards and drawers in the kitchen reek of damp, you have to wash everything before you use it. The bathroom is the pits, clad in wooden tongue & groove & with very obvious signs of mould having been wiped off & the floor looks filthy. The loo seat fittings are brown... Nuff said.

On the upside there are plenty of bins around on site & in the chalet the heater, microwave, fridge & oven work perfectly.

Although the site isn't in St Ives it is well placed for getting to places & a bus service runs to & from St Ives all day.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzWooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

I cannot understand how you were able to book without knowing the type of accommodation on the park. Our brochure and website are both quite clear in that respect and all our agencies do the same thing. The out-of-season newpaper offers clearly show the make-up of each park in their lists.

I shall be writing to you through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to discover how the booking was made and, if there is a error somewhere, try to put it right for the benefit of future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,714 reviews
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Borthalan Hotel
The Borthalan Hotel
#17 of 20 in St Ives
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
276 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Price Range: £25 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and PitchUp so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing