We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Reviewed 29 September 2013

After reading some of the comments from other guests we were sceptical about staying. We booked through hoseasons, and found the staff were helpful and pleasant and the accommodation was clean and for what we paid we were more than happy. Having said that we were glad we took our own quilt and pillows. We used this as a base for touring Cornwall and it was central for all we wanted to do. We will go again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic review. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Me and my partner booked into this site and were expecting basic accommodation (which would be absolutely fine having stayed in places like this before) and as soon as we walked into the "shack" we instantly realised we could not stay here. I honestly can't think of one nice/positive thing to say about the accommodation..dirty, grotty, dark, damp, looks like you could break into it with a light tug of the door/window, horrible dirty carpet and couch and I'm sure we even got bitten the 6 minutes we were actually in there! we moved to another site straight away which obviously cost more money. I really am expecting to see this site on watchdog or something! thank goodness we had no children with us as I'd have been mortified to bring them to such a place. have to stress Ive been on many budget holidays growing up etc and wasn't expecting luxury in any shape or form, but I would have rather stayed in my garden shed than here. Also the rest of the park is fairly grotty and depressing...didn't even look at the pool. I feel bad on families who have saved their well earned money to have a holiday here and have been unable to move which we luckily managed to do. did get a refund on the passes/linen which is appreciated but lost £60 to sun holidays and had to pay another £100 to move so was expensive in the end. in my
opinion at least the lower classed rooms should all be bulldozed

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbsnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park.

However we do not ignore negative reviews and I will be contacting you to discover precisely where you where staying in order to carry out a full investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The bronze woodland chalets are really dated, dirty, dark and smelly. I would have complained but after such a long journey to get there all you want is a cuppa and to rest, so we just washed and cleaned everything and unpacked. We managed to stick it out for 5 days out of the 7 we had booked for. The family across from us stayed 7 out of the 14 days they had booked. The front door didn't fit there was an inch gap at the top and bottom. The bed smelt of damp, and the whole place was very shabby. The windows were old and most either didn't open or didn't shut. They were all covered in snail and slug tracks and my husband had to clean them so we could see out of them. I did complain with regard an ants nest outside our front door and in all fairness someone dealt with it straight away. After a family had left adjacent to our chalet a young girl entered, changed the sheets and left, she was in the chalet no more than 5 minutes. No body else entered until the new tenants at 4.00pm. We spoke to them and they said the place was filthy and there were slugs all over the walls and furniture, they left after 2 days. I also don't know why they charge for a dog as you cannot use any facilities with your dog. An area outside the club where you can at least sit and have a drink would be nice. The local beach in Lelant which you can take your dog on is brilliant and there is a pub called the waterwheel which you can take your dog to and sit inside. In general the wooded area is lovely, but take wellies, you may need them in your chalet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I have just got back from a stay here. As we had done this through a sun holiday we expected it to be very basic, however this was beyond basic!

We checked into our first 'woodland chalet' which is actually a shed. In this room it was filthy. The entire place stank if damp, the bedroom had a huge damp patch on the ceiling, the bedding was dirty (which I had to pay £11 for) the windows had damp and mould around then and the chairs and beds were wet from the damp in the room. As I am 7 months pregnant there was no way I was staying in it. I went to the reception and explained the problem to the receptionist who responded with "give this room a go And see how you get on". She wasn't shocked by what I had said at all in fact it seemed normal!

We had to move to the next chalet and this was the same set up as previous one but was cleaner. It just been cleaned so smelt fresh. It seemed better. It wasn't a great standard - everything was really dated and there were a few damp patches in the bathroom. The blind in the kitchen was disgusting it was sticky and had lots of dead creatures on it!!! Our tv also didn't work, but we weren't that bothered.

The beds are shockingly uncomfortable and look like they are from the 70's!

The front doors on both the chalets were really flimsy and not secure. We didn't feel we could leave anything in the room because of this. It was also in really bad condition and should of been replaced years ago.

The pool never seemed to be open either.

The entertainment part was dated as well. The food was served with plastic cutlery and in polystyrene boxes! Not an ideal when you are on holiday - especially if you just want something cheap And cheerful. We ate out every night and never stayed in the camp as it was so depressing. Luckily the weather was pretty good.

I would never in a million years recommend anyone to stay here. It is simply a glorified shed which isn't maintained or at best kept clean. An absolute disgrace of a holiday park!!!! John fowler should be embarrassed by this park any normal company would be!

I am grateful it was a sun holiday, if I'd of paid the full price I would of been furious. Bad enough spending what it cost us to stay here!!!

Save your money and find another park!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kjpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most of our guests have a great time.

I shall be contacting you through the Tripadvisor messaging service and I feel sure that the matter will be settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have previously stayed in a budget chalet on a 'sun'hol which was basic but clean. This time we upgraded to silver trevacroft bungalow direct with John fowler (226), looking at reviews we didn't have high expectations. However, we were very happy with our accomodation and could not fault it. We needed an extra dining chair and they brought it immediately. The woodland walks are great for dogs, our dog loved looking at the rabbits and squirrels. Didn't use the club but looks ok, shop very nice. The site is ideal for touring the area esp st Ives and if you don't want to drive a bus calls at the site. Overall, a lovely holiday and would visit again. If you want 5* then you pay 5* prices. This is a good value holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saulty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome, as you experienced. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject and I suspect that if the writers of the poor reviews knew how their collective comments affected the jobs of ordinary Cornish people, they probably wouldn’t write them.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. Our returning customers are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just got home from 2 wks at St Ives Holiday Village, we loved it, so much so we have already booked to return next year. Our Oakleigh Silver Chalet was GR8 compact yes, very little storage/wardrobe space, a tiny bath with shower over, but spotlessly clean. We booked this in January 2013 largely because we have 2 dogs only little bichon frise's but we do like to take them on nice walks & this location was perfect for us. We met lots of people also dog owners, who go back year after year to this location, and in all honesty we can see why. We loved the wooded setting, watching the foxes, owls & hedgehogs at night, the numerous different birds during the day & the pretty bunny rabbits in the evenings, it was heaven for us, we could happily live there & we would if not for uprooting our whole family, because we couldn't go without them. Everyone we met was friendly & spoke which was lovely. The chalets are on the small side, but there are only the 2 of us & the doggies so it suited us perfectly. Larger one's are available for families, but not dogs sadly. We visited Porthkidney Sands on numerous occasions to let our dogs have a good run, accessed from the road at the side of the Badger PH drive up to the church & park for free, its a bit of a trek & not suitable for elderly or disabled but well worth the walk, we met 2/3 other dog owners there, again very friendly, the scenery is beautiful. You can park at Lelant Station for £2.50 for 24 hrs & pay £4 return fair to St Ives, dogs on leads only but very welcome, and again the scenery from the train is heaven on earth. Cornwall is truly dog friendly, restaurants/cafes, shops too, the rest of this country in particular seaside resorts could learn a lot from Cornwall's welcoming attitude, yes we loved it, yes, we're returning, and yes we highly recommend it especially to nature & dog lovers, everything you could possibly desire or want is close at hand, we are indeed very happy with our stay at SIHV :-) very happy indeed

Room Tip: We had an Oakleigh Silver it was as above, we would have liked a Gold or above but not possible with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOWESTOFTSMUDGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Once again let me thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Booked here through the Sun holiday deal and was slightly apprehensive after reading some reviews, however chalet was relatively clean and tidy with reasonable kitchen facilities. Was a bit disappointed with the quality of the bed linen and if we went back again would take our own. Had everything we needed sofa, tv, kitchen facilities and dining table, we were close to the reception and shop which was handy. Had to leave early as our litle girl was ill but that was totally unrelated and we would have happily stayed had she been well. So close to St Ives and Penzance was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject and I suspect that if the few writers of the poor reviews knew how their collective comments affected the jobs of ordinary Cornish people, they probably wouldn’t have written them.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. Our returning customers are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
16.3 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Price Range: £43 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing