We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Chalets booked, brilliant week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Due to a family wedding in Lelant our guests booked in total 10 chalets. Booking process was straightforward despite the various bookings. On arrival the reception staff were polite and extremely helpful making our booking in stress free, our chalets were all located close to each other which made for a great week for our guests. We arrived with cleaning materials but every Chalet was spotless and no cleaning by us required. Not one chalet was damp, despite the constant rain we had all week except for the wedding day! Can’t just have been good luck as we had 10 chalets!
Housekeeping staff were fantastic and helpful when guests had realised they had left items at home! Maintenance staff all helpful and responded very speedily to anything we asked for. Some of us used the pool, lifeguards were friendly, professional and helpful, pool and changing rooms were beautifully clean. We only used the club one evening; ents staff ensured we had a fun evening.
The park manager Matt needs a special mention as he went out of his way to ensure that all of our requests were met with a friendly “yes we can do that”. One example of this was the need for a coach to arrive to transport guests, as well as parking for the horse drawn coach. I cannot thank the park manager , Matt and his team enough for all the help and for making the week of my daughter’s wedding a very special one. THANK YOU ALL

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

What a lovely review! Thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your 5 star praise will mean so much to the manager, Matt and his team at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

I am delighted to hear that we were able to help, albeit in some small way, to ensuring that your daughter had a memorable wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed end of September beginning of October with someone I support, in silver bungalow 246 it was basic, but was cosy and warm it had everything you needed, it did smell of damp at times, putting the heating on or opening the windows soon solved that. We had to extend our stay and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would stay again, having a car would be a plus though.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Chrissie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

With regard to the damp smell, I am delighted to read that you dealt with it instantly and simply. Sadly, some people will occupy a holiday unit and not open a window for the duration of their stay. This was probably the case with the previous occupants of the chalet you stayed in. Cooking and sleeping with windows closed will slowly take its toll - especially in Devon and Cornwall where the atmosphere is usually so much more humid than most people are used to. I think we all know what happens when a property is not regularly aired.

I note your comment about a car, but I think this probably applies to holidaying anywhere in this country if you want to see the surrounding areas.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Four of us have just stayed here for the 6th time in 6 years, 5 in the same chalet. As usual the staff were very friendly and helpful. The prices at the bar are competitive and if you want to eat in the club house those prices are good to. If we had had a full chalet of 8 people it would have cost just £37.50 per person for a weeks holiday. As it was we paid £75 each for the week. Thank is fantastic value in my opinion.

However the village was quieter than before and I feel that some of the reviews that have been left on this site, probably from the newspaper short break visitors, have not been helpful at all. Give the village a go. The area is fantastic for a family holiday with lots to see and do.
A car is a must though to get the best out of your stay

Deposit has already been paid for next year and we will enjoy ourselves just as we have done on all our previous visits.

Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razthechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

I am delighted to hear that you have already booked for next year and we will look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Like the other reviews, I read other people's experiences and having never been to a John fowler resort before, I was nervous what I was about to experience. I also booked this through the Sun paper as I had never been to st ives and wanted to visit.
We drove so had the privilege of a car and was only a short drive to the village - which is stunning!
However, back to the park! It was cheap and cheerful- just what I wanted. It was all clean, there was a string damp smell but with living in the woods it's just one of those things. The heater supplied was great, soon heated our room. The chalet was dated but I wasn't expecting the Dorchester! The double bed was on the small side but all adds to the cosyness! Shower was clean and bright and the lounge was large with a tele with free view.
Drinks in the entertainment area aren't a rip off and the entertainment itself is great. My boyfriend was impressed with how much "stripy Jess" can keep dancing! The atmosphere was wonderful this weekend.
This was my first time experiencing this kind of holiday so for others taking their first holiday here I'd say take EVERYTHING! From hair dryer to fairy liquid and everything in between. Food, towels, slippers. May sound obvious to some, but I had no idea what basics you'd need.

Enjoy your time there ! Explore lands end too, about half hour away by car but worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jvflavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Yet another lovelyr review for The St Ives Holiday Village, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

We are extremely proud of our entertainments team this year, the effort they put in is amazing. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Before we went , having all ready booked, we read some of the reviews on here - we did wonder what we had let ourselves in for!. however i was pleasantly surprised - the silver woodland lodge was clean, one bed room had a slight musty smell - but we kept the window on the catch an it was fine - it easily fitted the 5 of us an was fully equipped in a lovely woodland setting. the entertainment was fine - very funny an friendly hosts - particually Liam. the shop, even at the end of the season, was well stocked - the pool was clean.
the only draw back is how far it is out of st Ives -about 5 miles on the bus, 4 pound return - we did find a walk down to Carbis Bay by turning right out of the park - however the first 1/2 mile is on a busy winding road - not suitable for young children. over all except for the rain - we had a lovely holiday in a comfortable chalet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnii6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

With regard to the damp smell we are well aware of the reason but sadly it is so difficult for us to deal with. Some people will occupy a holiday unit and not open a window for the duration of their stay. This was probably the case with the previous occupants of the chalet you stayed in. Cooking and sleeping with windows closed will slowly take its toll - especially in Devon and Cornwall where the atmosphere is usually so much more humid than most people are used to. I think we all know what happens when a property is not regularly aired.

We are delighted to hear that you dealt with this in sensible manner and the problem went away.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the park last week with our 2 young children through the Sun holiday scheme.
Having read reviews on this site I was very nervous about going especially with our children from reading comments about dirty and damp chalets.
However I was pleasantly surprised about our holiday at St Ives Holiday Village.
To be honest the chalets are very old and dated, and although where we stayed was clean, there was a smell of damp that we tried to alleviate by keeping the windows open and heaters on. The furniture was not damp and although basic was perfectly functional.
The first chalet that we checked into was clean, but we found a pair of underwear from the previous occupants, we went to reception straight away to complain. They gave us a new chalet to move to and offered an upgrade free of charge for the next day. The staff were extremely helpful and apologetic. The chalet we stayed in was perfectly fine so we chose not to upgrade as we didn't want to take up any more of our holiday with moving our belongings again.
The entertainment at night was brilliant, the staff there are really good and our children had a fantastic time each evening. We didn't use the pool so have no knowledge of that.

All I want to say is please keep an open mind before you go there. Yes the chalets are very basic, but everything else - the park setting, facilities, entertainment are superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a fair review.

We are at a loss to understand why some people post such poor reviews for all to see. This is something that is general throughout the industry - we are not the only victims. Sadly, review sites are anonymous and it can prove to be very difficult to trace the reviewer and investigate their comments. However, on the rare occasions when we are able to contact the reviewer and discuss the problems, the matter is always settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you to our park again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I recently spent a week in Poppy's Chalet (237 Treva Croft) with are young family, the chalet is one I have used many times , the owners of the chalet have renovated this property to an excellent stranded , its truly is a wonderful and welcoming place to stay, we have never had any problems with cleanses of the chalet and safety seems to be of the up-most importance of the owners there are safety lock on all the windows the door is secure when lock, there is a night light outside.
The owners have fitted humidifier in the property so there is no damp or smell of damp.
This year there as been a new fitted kitchen .
I feel sad that there as been so many negative reviews regarding the chalets,
Whilst I understand that there is some concern and upset over chalets that was given to family's it's a shame it as put a dark shadow over the privately owned chalets and the rest of the park,
For there is a lot of well maintained and much loved chalets on St Ives Holiday Village.
My young daughter and son loved the night club and the swimming pool, we went in August and the pool was open all the time except at lunch time.
There is good bus routes in to St Ives and other locations, buses come on the site, so no long walks to bus stops, we had a car but found the bus in to St Ives very convenient.
There as been some renovation work completed on the woodland walk that is on the site,, this walk leads to a small stream with picnic tables, also there is a number of notice boards along the footpath telling you about the local wildlife that lives in the woods. (wellington needed as path can be muddy this is due to the path being environmentally friendly to the woods, " my daughter was happy with this as she was able to paddled in the stream" )
So please keep an open mind regarding St Ives Holiday Village, it's a great place to stay and very local to all attractions .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park.

Whether you book direct with us or through one of the many privately owned villas on the park, all clients are treated the same and our staff work hard to ensure that everyone has a great time.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Borthalan Hotel
The Borthalan Hotel
#17 of 20 in St Ives
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Price Range: £25 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and PitchUp so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing