We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Ives Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reading, Berkshire. UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful family location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

A wonderful family location.
Stayed in a Gold Woodland cabin which was clean and newly refurbished.
Lots for the kids to do and lots for the adults to do. We had a car with us, but there is a bus stop within the park which gives great access to the area.
Liked it so much we are booking again for next year.

  • Liked — How clean the cabins were and the woodland setting
  • Disliked — A few too many chavs!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ClouiseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    211
    131
    75
    228
See reviews for
486
173
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2007

We stayed at St Ives Holiday Village for 2 weeks during August and Sept 07. Read some reviews beforehand and was quite concerned, however the site is great, set in beautiful woodland with squirrles, rabbits and hedgehogs on the lawn when you awake. The accomodation is not 5 star but more than adequate for the price, you get what you pay for. I have 2 children, 6 and 3, the entertainments team bent over backwards to make us all feel welcome with kids disco and party games every night.

The location of the site is ideal for trips out to visit the beautiful region of Cornwall or if you want peace and quiet then this is the place to be.

  • Liked — quiet peaceful setting in a safe environment for young children
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2007

My wife and I spent the week-end with our cousins motorcycle group at the holiday village ,we really enjoyed our stay and found the units very clean. If we ever get a chance to get back to England we would like to spend more time at Village.
J B.
Medicine Hat ,AB Canada

  • Liked — units seemed to be private
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SMURFYLOOKALIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2007

We stayed at St Ives Holiday Village towards the end of May for a week. It cost us less than £50 thanks to the Sun!

Much like one of the previous reviews I had read what has been said on here and was concerned. I too had read the reviews after booking my stay.

We stayed in one of the gold chalets and it looked as if it had just been rennovated. The oven and microwave looked brand new. The shower was decent and there was no problem with the pressure of the water or temperature. If you have space to take your own bed linen then do so as the linen provided for £16 was not worth anything!

Our main gripe about the place was the opening hours of the things on site. The swimming pool was only open for a couple of hours in the morning and a few in the afternoon. This wouldn't be so bad but the staff were often late in opening.

Also, the shop didn't open 'til 8 so you can forget the early morning paper!

There is so much to do in the surrounding area and so we only really spent evenings in the chalet (we have small children.) Therefore the holiday village was more than suitable for what we needed.

I disagree with the comment about the bad lager - I found the Carlsberg Export more than adequate!

  • Liked — Location, nice woodland setting
  • Disliked — Short opening hours of amenities
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjharve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2007

I didn't read the reviews of this place on Trip Advisor until AFTER I had booked the 4 day Easter break, and what I read sent me into a state of panic!

We had booked a Trevacroft Silver chalet and I was really not looging forward to it as I was expecting it to be a dump.

However..

This place is not bad at all, it's not the Ritz, but what do you expect when you pay £180 for 2 adults 2 kids and a dog?

The end terrace chalet (See pic) was brick built with a tiled roof. It was compact but clean and comfortable and had obviously been recently refitted (I think we were the first ones to use the oven!) and we were located right by the woodland walk which was great for the dog. Right outside the chalet was a small wooded area where the kids spent most of the time when we were in the park, and they loved it.

The entertainment on site is mainly for the children, but they do have bingo and adult entertainment from 10PM. Food in the club is... ok but not the best unless you like deep fried stuff, but they do have a restuarant which serves a little better food. But if you want my opinion, there are so many good pub come restaurants in the area, you are better off eating out. I stongly recommend the Lamb and Flag on the Penzants Road for excellent locally sourced, home cooked food.

There is so much to do in the surrounding area to put down here, but you will not get bored. For dog owners; most of the beaches in Cornwall do not allow dogs, however, there is a beach very need to the park called Lelant Beach which does, and it's lovely! See pic.

If I had any criticisms it would be that the bed linen is not very comfortable, so take your own sheets and duvets. Also, the lager wasn't the best, but maybe I am being picky now!

I would definately go here again.

  • Liked — Clean and tidy and in a good location
  • Disliked — Small
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DudleyYanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.7 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Property: St. Ives Holiday Village
Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and PitchUp so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing