We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, spacious house in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Corner Cottage

Super, Grade 2 Listed Country Cottage in St Ives, enclosed garden, walking distance harbour/beaches
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Super, Grade 2 Listed Country Cottage in St Ives, enclosed garden, walking distance harbour/beaches
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Super, Grade 2 Listed Country Cottage in St Ives, enclosed garden, walking distance harbour/beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Wordloop
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
“Lovely, spacious house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house is very beautiful, spacious and offers all amenities and comforts you could wish for. It is tastefully decorated to a consistently high standard. We found it very clean and welcoming. Both the owner and the agent offered perfect support. Even when we had a major technical problem with our car they were able to recommend a garage that took care of it at once. The location offers a great mix. Walking time to St. Ives harbour, Porthmeor Beach and the coast path including seal-watching in some 15 mins each. And there's buses running up and down the hill, too. The house is wonderfully quiet, sitting on the outer edge of a beautiful, green little neighborhood at the end of a very narrow lane. The backyard is also lovely, very private with a little lookout into the countryside. Ideal for a bbq or just relaxing. We had a fantastic time and will be back before long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tasteful decoration, consistently high standard, charm, space, location, very stable wifi
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bootscoot...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous cottage!”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and it is absolutely exactly as you see in the photos. Felt very cosy and at home. We used 2 of the bedrooms upstairs as the beds are small and it worked very well. The family bathroom is adequate. We strongly recommend Blackout curtains be installed in the master bedroom as the light comes in as early as 4am!! It was difficult to sleep. The kitchen is perfect and it has a dishwasher, clothes washer, oven and microwave all in fine working order. We enjoyed sitting in the cosy sitting room with the fire on and relaxing. The door in the living to the outside doesn't open (key not supplied) might be good to know this in the first place and not waste time trying to find the key. The car spot allocated is very tight and the whole driving in and out quite an experience as the lane way is very narrow. We were warned of this which we appreciate as we rented a small car. We walked into town and back up. Tesco supermarket about a 8 minute drive, big supermarket. All in all, we really enjoyed our time in Corner cottage, loved the experience and would do it again. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review and we are delighted you found the cottage 'gorgeous'. The beds are UK standard doubles and the third bedroom has two UK standard twin beds.. We have been considering blackout curtains or blinds. Any attachments to the windows have to be in keeping with the grade 2 listing and we are looking at the best way forward with this, particularly, as we feel the curtains in situe are very much in keeping with the country style of the cottage.. We have had new carpet and flooring fitted throughout the property and unfortunately found that when we left the key for guests to use the french window from the living room into the garden the lounge carpet was being spoilt which impacted on our guests. The West Country is very unique including it's narrow lanes which is part of it's charm and in St Ives itself parking is very much at a premium, so, we feel very fortunate to have our own car parking space and also as you say the benefit of being able to walk in to town and the beaches..Thank you again for your review and high recommendation. It is always lovely for us to hear our guests have loved their experience and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halliecre...
chippy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional lovely Cornish cottage very comfy”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

After looking at dozens of cottages I finally chose this dear little gem in St Ives. I went with my 86 year old mum and my brother. We each had a bedroom and the rooms were all delightful--with pretty curtains, excellent beds, with very good linens and duvets--nice pictures and cosy cream carpeting--all had windows opening onto views of the garden or lane. the master bathroom was large and had a separate shower area along with a big tub. The kitchen had everything you could wish for, and the living room has a coal gas fire, and a big TV with a great collection of dvdd to choose from. The hosts kindly left fresh scones, jam , clotted cream, tea, coffee and milk for us--such a thoughtful touch! The garden has rambling roses and is very private and there's a picnic able and BBQ.

The location is about 5-1o minutes from St Ives Harbour . Driving is a challenge and if you have a big car, like an SUV, it's very unlikely you can park it in the lane. We had a small Toyota Yaris and it was a tight squeeze. The hosts gave us wonderful tips which we followed and all were very good. We ate very well and enjoyed ST Ives very much. The cottage is perfect for someone seeking a traditional British cottage that has every comfort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and the garden
Liked least: The narrow lane and driveway, hard to park
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda b
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely spacious cottage”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I have just ahd a week in corner cottage with my family for a birthday celebration.The cottage was lovely, very spacious and more that adequate for a family of six/seven.
the decor is nice and the kitchen was great for family meals. The garden is really nice and enclosed and a real "sun-trap" in the sunshine. great for BBQ-ing. there are fields overlooking the back bedroom with horses which my neice loved!
there were nice touches also with plenty of clean towels and linen provided and a plate of home-baked scones and clotted cream waiting on arrival.
There is a bit of a steep climb back to the cottage from the beach but this shouldnt put you off as there are buses near by to ferry you up and down.
fantastic family holiday and helpful quick owner response for assistance with any questions - highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janetw456
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“warm and cosy”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

the cottage was warm and cosy in wet and windy January, and surprisingly spacious for a cottage. the lounge was plenty big enough for all of us to sit and play, the throws were a welcome touch for a January stay. it was great to sit down in the dining room, to eat together and talk. the garden was like a secret garden, not overlooked but big enough for the children to play,
st ives is very pretty, it was a very manageable walk down to the restaurants, shops and beautiful beaches, yet the cottage is tucked away in a peaceful location and a short walk out to the coastal path.
would definitely recommend for a family holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irena S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Die gemütliche Einrichtung, und die vielen Tipps der Besitzer.
Liked least: Das englische Wetter :=))
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing