We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Emily
Trowbridge, United Kingdom

Perfect stay

Review of Primrose House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2024via mobile
We absolutely love Cornwall - St Ives in particular, and we absolutely loved staying at Primrose.
Lots of parking which is great for St Ives (Even able to leave our car for a few hours once we checked out)
Location was fab & only a 10 min walk into town.
Primrose was chilled, cool & clean as soon as you walk through the door! Decor & vibes were 10/10 for seaside town.
We stayed in Room 3 - a huge room with lovely bay windows. It was clean, bed was comfy & the shower was top notch!
Breakfast was lovely, lots to choose from & freshly cooked to order. As a girl who loves a coffee - a proper latte went down a treat! (delish!)
Loved the added bonus of freshly baked cookies for guests - thumbs up!
Absolute 10/10 stay for us, couldn’t complain at all! We will be back ☺️ Thank you
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£215
  • Expedia.com
    £215
  • Agoda.com
    £180
  • Vio.com
    £200
0.0 miles from Primrose House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£216
  • Agoda.com
    £216
  • Vio.com
    £216
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Primrose House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£210
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £210
  • Hotels.com
    £210
  • Priceline
    £210
0.2 miles from Primrose House
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£275
  • Vio.com
    £275
  • Agoda.com
    £275
  • StayForLong
1.0 miles from Primrose House
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Aerial view of Tregenna Castle Resort
Booking.com
£148
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £148
  • Agoda.com
    £126
  • Expedia.com
    £140
0.2 miles from Primrose House
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
£325
  • Agoda.com
    £325
  • Vio.com
    £325
  • eDreams
    £325
0.8 miles from Primrose House
Booking.com
£160
  • Skyscanner.com
    £160
  • Agoda.com
    £160
  • eDreams
    £160
1.0 miles from Primrose House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
    £190
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Primrose House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £105
  • Priceline
    £105
  • eDreams
2.4 miles from Primrose House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in St Ives
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
274
38
13
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
274
38
13
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porthminster beach narrow lane a stones throw location is amazing breakfast was excellent small fridge minute walk into st ives comfy bed few minutes walk cooked to perfection stayed here for one night good size friendly welcome fresh fruit perfect stay lovely walk car parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

Really can’t fault this place. The rooms are lovely, the breakfast is lovely and the hosts are really REALLY nice - ever so friendly and helpful. They even make open access cookies and cake for guests.
The location, which is just next to Porthminster Beach, is tops. The road access is a little hairy (one track and pretty steep), but that’s St Ives for you.
Unreserved recommendation

Room tip: Check the access route in the website if you’re coming by car - satnav will play nasty tricks on you.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pindoctor_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Second visit here, lovely room very clean and comfy, excellent breakfast. Superb friendly service. Easy walking distance to beach, restaurants, pubs and shops but still peaceful location. Perfect weekend, will be back again and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pauline19582015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2024

We had a lovely stay at Primrose House. St Ives is beautiful, and Primrose House is located on the beach - close to everything. Mihaka was very helpful, and went beyond our expectations to facilitate our check and check out. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. We were really impressed, would highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024

Our first break away as a couple in over 5 years; I arrived emotionally exhausted but we received such a warm welcome from Mihaka I instantly relaxed & felt like I'd been transported to the Mediterranean. Mihaka & his team were so welcoming, friendly & knowledgeable. The breakfasts were divine, room comfortable & well equipped. On-site parking a significant plus - we were able to park our car on arrival & leave it alone until we departed 5 days later. Location ideal with beautiful views over the bay, on the outskirts of the hustle & bustle yet everything within walking distance. Departed feeling fully restored & with a commitment to ourselves to definitely return at the earliest opportunity!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2023

It's no exaggeration when I say this is probably the most pleasant guest house I've ever had the joy of staying at. Not only is it beautifully decorated, spacious yet cosy, and immaculately clean it's also run by the loveliest family you've ever met.

My partner and I just finished a five night stay here last week. It was my first time visiting St Ives and we came by car. Finding the entrance to Primrose Valley from the main road is a bit tricky (mostly due to Google being rubbish and trying to take you down a place called Hain Walk - IGNORE THIS INSTRUCTION!) but once you know the way it's very easy to come and go.

Mihakka was full of concern for us when we arrived a bit late due to some traffic troubles, phoning to offer assistance. He greeted us very warmly and immediately set about inviting us to the nearby beach for the BBQ and fireworks show arranged for fireworks night that night. Throughout the week both he and Natasha had lots of great suggestions for places to visit. The beach is a stone's throw away and the view is spectacular if you manage to get one of the front balcony rooms. If you're coming by train, it's about 2 minutes walk away. It's a 5 minute walk up a gentle slope to get from the gueat house into town or along the beach front so it's in a remarkable location.

We were booked for room 1 but were also very fortunate to be able to spend part of our stay in a sea view room with a balcony (room 5). I realise this was even more work for the owners but nothing seemed like too much trouble for them. They're so kind.

The breakfasts were delicious and cooked to order including coffee. I highly recommend the flat white and Eggs Benedict! If you're especially lucky, you might even have the most adorable little helper you've ever seen bringing you your breakfast cutlery.

I can't recommend this place enough. I'm so glad we ended up here. I will be looking for literally any excuse to go back.

Room tip: If Google Maps is telling you to go down Hain Walk from the main road while driving, ignore it. You're looking for Primrose Valley.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews