We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended”
Review of Atlantic Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Heights
Ranked #22 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Atlantic Heights for one week near the end of May in Room 5 (the 'family room' with no ocean view). Our time with Tony and Carol was fantastic – two more friendly, fun, interesting hosts would be difficult to find. Our room was spotless and spacious; the breakfasts were delicious. Tony and Carol truly made us feel pampered and cared for. The only negatives are structural things that fall outside of anyone’s control – Room 5 is on the third floor (up two flights of stairs) and the B&B itself is at the top of a steep hill that winds into town. But these negatives barely put a dent in what was a relaxing, deeply enjoyable week at Atlantic Heights. We wouldn’t hesitate to book with Tony and Carol again and we highly recommend them to future guests. We visited from the U.S. and did all of our research online; Atlantic Heights was just as good as it looked.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Tony and Carol are just delightful hosts, providing a cheerful, warm welcome, offering all sorts of information on trips and sights around the area, maintaining delightfully-decorated and exquisitely clean and comfortable room; and the BREAKFASTS - Oh My! Tony violated all English tradition by frying eggs Just So, sans the customary burned or crisp edges; copious amounts of wonderful sides, and Carol brought out HOT toast, accompanied by coffee from a press which did not leak grounds. My wife's scrambled eggs on toast were equally tasty and a perfect consistency and delightfully presented. As to the view from the front of the house - utterly spectacular; and it is a comfortable walk down to the beach below, village and harbour down the other side of the ridge, albeit a mite strenuous coming back UP. The extra tariff for the front view would be worth it, if one were staying in the room, but it can also be enjoyed from the front parlour, and we were rarely in our room in back, anyway - being out and about every day. A perfect base of operations from which to conduct sorties all around, whether up the West coast, to St. Michael's Mount, Lands End; or just to enjoying the tides and scenery of St. Ives itself. Do them the courtesy of calling to confirm your arrival time, so as to free them up to go shopping for those lovely local foodstuffs and otherwise care for their lovely home. Driving directions and/or GPS oddities may make the last few blocks rather, shall we say, "interesting" - so use the post code and, if you find yourself near the cemetery, back up a bit to match the view in the photos - they truly are on the front road, and do have parking.

Room Tip: If you want the view, ask for a front room - otherwise, the others are comfortable and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SevernSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Atlantic Heights for our holiday in Cornwall between June 14-17. The location of the B&B is excellent. It overlooks the ocean and has some excellent views. The B&B is very close to the beach and the local town center. Tony and Carol were wonderful hosts and took very good care of us. Both were very friendly and gave us good advice about the Cornwall area. The breakfast was excellent including a wide variety of options. I highly recommend anyone visiting St Ives to stay at the Atlantic Heights. We hope to go back too!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NM2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very last second booking as we just ended up in St. Ives at the end of the day. We had the room all the way on top forward, ocean views, and what a views, the view was worth the little extra money we had to pay for this room.
Good breakfast, try the croissants, home made, not as perfect as the French, but I am spoiled, but very good and worth a bite.
Owner with a character ready to tell you all about everything.
Be aware, certain times of the year the Seagulls will wake you up!
It's only a short walk into town, less as 10 minutes and you're right on the boulevard.
Only downside was the bubble bath did not function (sorry, forgot to tell you).

Room Tip: Top forward, number 4 i think it is, views to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had a wonderful week at this guesthouse. Tony and Carol were great hosts as they offered a wide range of tasty breakfasts including home-made croissants and sweet pastries (you need to try this) and were always at hand to assist us on what to visit in St.Ives and other places. Their friendly attitude ensured we had a great time in Cornwall as all the guests including myself would have a chat with them after breakfast. I was impressed by the decor of the room as it was great and very clean and comfortable. It provided a wide range of facilities e.g. teas, coffees and a fridge which I have never seen in other guesthouses. Another benefit of this guesthouse is that it is within walking distance to the beaches, town and St.Ives railway station. I would highly recommend this place:) Nards x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Conveniently located, comfortably furnished, fantastic breakfasts, and even better hosts, Atlantic Heights is a great place to stay in St. Ives, and I'd highly recommend it.

- Location: 5 minutes to the beach, 10 minutes into town, and 20 minutes to the bus/train station, all at a nice comfortable walking pace. Note that the return journeys are a little longer as the B&B is on a hill, but the beautiful coastal views more than make up for the effort!

- Room: the family room was spacious, spotless, and tastefully furnished to create a thoroughly comfortable and cosy environment. The tea and coffee making facilities and fridge were a lovely touch.

-Breakfast: Mostly locally sourced products beautifully prepared and served up in generous portions. Between Carol's fruit and cereal bar, and Tony's cooked dishes, we were spoilt for choice!

-Hospitality: From the warm welcome we received on arriving at Atlantic Heights to our reluctant goodbyes on leaving, Tony and Carol were a joy to be around, and contributed to making our stay in St. Ives a very special one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It is near impossible to find a guest house that can provide a triple room in St Ives. We were lucky to find a family room at Atlantic Heights to accommodate three adults.

The room did not have a sea view but was spacious and cosy with a fridge, kettle, wardrobe, chest of drawers and two bedside cabinets. The free WIFI was speedy too.

Tony and Carol are genuinely warm and down to earth and made our stay perfect. Tony's home made croissants and pastries were heavenly and I am sure we will see him on The Great British Bake Off one day! Carol's fruit salad was delicious too. We lingered many a morning enjoying the breakfasts and having a natter with Tony and Carol.

Atlantic Heights is brilliantly placed to see the sunset every day and I can only imagine the view from a sea view room. It is only a short walk away to the harbour and the clean beaches below.

I have stayed in many B&B's around the country but I have never felt the need to write a review until now. I cannot wait to return and would highly recommend Atlantic Heights.

Thank you Tony and Carol.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pui-Ying C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
418 reviews
22.3 mi away
Kirribilli Guest House
Kirribilli Guest House
#59 of 107 in Newquay
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.5 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Heights

Address: 11 Ocean View Terrace, St Ives TR26 1RQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £88 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Heights Hotel St Ives
Atlantic Heights St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing