We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Mini Moon”
Review of Ten Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ten Ocean View
Ranked #36 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ten Ocean View for a mini moon after our wedding.

Mike and Gill gave us a very warm welcome, not only were we offered a lovely cup of tea and home made cake, in our room they had left us a bottle of prosecco to help us celebrate our wedding.

The room was very clean and comfortable, with molton brown products to use in the bathroom during our stay.

The breakfast was amazing, fresh produce and again some homemade bread and cakes to help ourselves to. If you are trying to loose weight, don't stay here ;-)

Great location, about a 5-10 minute walk into the main part of St Ives. As the guest house is on a hill you have great views of the beach and chapel.

We would both stay here again in a heart beat. The attention to detail and personal touches are lovely. Mike and Gill are a lovely couple who really make and effort to make you feel welcome.

Thanks - Sarah and Lee

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming to st. Ives for the last 14 years and always think we have found the best guest house..... Until now!!! .
Every positive review is spot on and our only worry is that it will become sooo popular, there will be no room for us!!
The welcome you receive is lovely and after a 4 hour drive, a cup of coffee and HOMEMADE cakes were a fabulous start to a brilliant break!
The room was spotless and the bed and pillows were extremely comfy.
Breakfast is amazing! The quality of the produce and especially the freshly homemade bread and cakes is of a standard we have never experienced before. We didn't manage our daytime checklist of pasty, ice cream, cream tea, as could never manage to even think about food until the evening!!!!
Thank you mike and gill for a wonderful break, we will be back! Maz and Becks from Worcester.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank becks m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First class all round. A warm welcome from Gill and Mike with refreshments; a very clean and comfortable room with a breath-taking view over the Atlantic, and all the facilities you need; a fantastic breakfast that couldn't be bettered. Home made baking and marmalades as well. Plus they were able to cater for my gluten-free diet (I am coeliac). Excellent value for money that would be very hard to match anywhere in the UK let alone St Ives. Parking across the way as well. We recommend 10 Ocean View and Gill and Mike's hospitality to everyone. All the other guests were of the same opinion and some were repeat visitors. Stay here and you will have a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 for the views but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hosts, Accommodation, Breakfast and View Cannot be Beaten, no matter how much you pay.

Mike & Gill are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are just lovely and the seaview from Rooms 3 and 4 are to die for.

Mike is superb at sorting out my special dietry needs, and even does fabulous surprises for breakfast within my needs. My husband just loves his scones and breads. Is there any wonder we always return heavier than when we arrived. Gill does great fresh fruit salads but still the weight goes on.

There is a super garden with lovely seating, loungers and table, still with that view.

Hopefully we shall keep returning and returning and yes returning.

Thank you to you both once again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but 3 and 4 are the ones with the fabulous view of the Island and Porthmeor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were welcomed into Mike and Gills home with a cup of tea and a slice of cake, looking out of the window the views were spectacular. The bedroom was lovely and clean and fresh looking, plenty of hanging and drawer space. A hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities were available in the room. The breakfasts were great, I'm a fish fan so I had scrambled egg and smoked salmon each morning, my husband went for the full English and the plate was groaning! There was fresh fruit salad and natural yoghurt as well as cereals to start and Mikes homemade bread and cakes if you still had room. We certainly didn't need any lunch! We spent a couple of hours in the garden overlooking the beach and enjoyed a bottle of wine out there which was very pleasant. The location was ideal for making the most of the towns anemities and the parking was a definite bonus. We would definitely recommend to friends and family and we intend to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Wow - what a wonderful weekend. Mike and Gill welcomed us into their home with a cup of tea and a tasty slice of warm apple cake. Our rooms were spotless and the beds were exceptionally comfy. We could easily have sat in our room all day and admired the spectacular sea views. Breakfast has to be seen to be believed - all the usual items plus amazing, tasty breads and cakes made by Mike fresh each morning. We would have no hesitation in recommending a holiday at Ten Ocean View as the hospitality is outstanding. Thank you Mike and Gill for making our weekend extra special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We received a warm welcome along with tea and delicious cake. Mike and Gill were amazing hosts ensuring all our needs were catered for. The accommodation was spotless and breakfast amazing with home made jams, marmalade and an assortment of wonderful home made breads and cakes. The view from our room was breathtaking. We had been treated by friends for a 'special' birthday and wow, it will always be one to be remembered. A big thank you to Mike and Gill for making it such a special occasion. We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.6 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
639 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Ocean View

Address: 10 Ocean View Terrace, St Ives TR26 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £83 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Ocean View is a luxury B&B with breathtaking views of Porthmeor Beach, The Island and across St Ives to Godrevy Lighthouse. Being just a stone's throw from the beach we are ideally placed for a beach break, with St Ives harbour and town only a few minutes' stroll further. We have four beautifully appointed en-suite guest rooms, all designed to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. Two of our rooms have spectacular sea views, one of which boasts a spa bath. All our rooms are flooded with the world-renowned St Ives light and elegantly furnished to ensure you enjoy the perfect holiday or short break in Cornwall. There is free parking with three of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ten Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ten Ocean View Hotel St Ives
10 Ocean View
Ten Ocean View St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing