We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience!”
Review of Wheal-E-Mine B&B

Wheal-E-Mine B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheal-E-Mine B&B
Ranked #61 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in Sept '12, I booked the room on the recommendation of others on this website, actually! We had Room 2 which was a very good size and very well decorated. The room and en-suite were very clean and we were provided with all the things you expect from a good B&B. The breakfasts were very tasty - my partner and I had the full English, brunch (scrambled eggs&salmon on breakfast muffin) and continental breakfasts between us during our stay and were never disappointed.

The B&B is up a walk uphill from the centre of St Ives, which was welcomed after stuffing ourselves with seafood for dinner! A short walk away is Porthmeor beach, very near Tate St Ives and the surf school, if you wish to try your hand at surfing. Andrew and Naomi were very courteous hosts and we felt very welcome in their establishment.

Highly recommended B&B!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nbealeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Imagine finding a place to stay that has every detail thought of by the owners: that is the
Wheal-E-Mine B & B. Room 2 was spacious and beautifully appointed with a lovely bay
window. A drawer in the desk had an information case filled with everything from B & B
policies to restaurant and tourist recommendations. We had the best sleep of our entire
UK trip while here due to the excellent mattress, quiet, and curtains that darkened the room
well. We were able to come and go as we pleased with the room key. The B & B is a short
walk from the wharf. Breakfast was good (I especially liked the Muesli with yogurt and fruit)
and I like the array of fresh fruit from which to choose. Naomi and Andy are delightful hosts
and I wish we had had more time to visit with them!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Becky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

To the people who are reading this reveiw,(This is for you) Me and Annie found this beutiful place by accident, it all started with a phone call at 21.15 on the evening of Wednesday night june 6 2012, and from that phone call we found a little peice of heaven, i won't bore you with the details of what why when and where because thats a whole nother story,( is it me or have i been watching to much poirot) lets just say this phone call brought us into contact with 2 really lovely people Naomi & Andy, as we pulled up outside in the rain (Well this is Cornwall) Andy greeted us at the door with such a great smile and kind warmth ,that i think it almost stopped raining for a moment! it just felt like we had come home, which was pretty amazing as we'd never stayed or met these people before, and if you think the welcomes special just wait until you walk into the house, the place is a tardis the only thing missing was the Daleks ( and they would probably have been freindly as well ) as for the rooms (wow) as for the shower (wow) as for the breakfast (not to have the full English should be made a Ciminal offence) WOW!!, the only downside to Wheal-E-Mine, (IS THAT WE SHOULD HAVE STAYED LONGER ) if you are looking for that little something special that seems not to exist anymore in this crazy ratrace thats called life, FEAR NOT, because if your reading this (YOU HAVE FOUND WHAT YOUR LOOKING FOR !!!) Massive hugs to Naomi & Andy, you have a beutiful home and thankyou for sharing it with me and Annie x. (see you soon) For the people of The Cornwall Tourist Board. Yes you have a great beach called Porthminster Beach. Yes you have fantastic restaurants (The Loft/Porthminster Beach Cafe/ Burger Blas). Yes you have the Tate gallery. And yes the Surfing is pretty special as well And yes i can see why you would rate all of the above as 5 star, But remember what it is that keeps bringing us back time after time. (5 STAR HOSPITALITY FROM A 5 STAR B&B)

Room Tip: the room at the top, just for the veiws, but all the rooms were special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 73annmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Booked our week holiday early in March. Even then Room One was already gone, Naomi refered us to their web site (which we had already seen) and we decided to take room two. From the start Naomi was really open about the rooms and their home in general and answered our intense grilling about what we could expect. We found the other reviews to be unhelpful at covering the subjects we wanted to know about but the overal impression was a very good one. Like most people i wanted my hoilday to be really good and didnt want to take any chances on being disappointed. We picked our time of arrival and Andy and Naomi were there to greet us and from the start we were made to feel welcome Andy helped us with our bags and i apologise now for giving him the heavy one! Then we saw the room WOW right then we knew our holiday was going to be great. Naomi was very friendly and explained a few details about the house and town to us and left us to settle in. The room was wonderful with plenty of space to relax which was ideal as it rained heavily on Tuesday but we didnt care as we just chilled in the room. When we came down we spoke to Andy who was only to happy to tell us about St Ives the places to go and the best places to eat - even the best times to save us a few pounds. Many of the restaurants we would never have found without his guidance. And more importantly it was clear he had actually eaten in those places so was offering a genuine view even suggesting various dishes to try. We read their web site front to back and even though it explained everything well the experiace was so much more. Now am I going to address some of the comments made by other reviews which i find missleading and unhelpful. The house is ony 200 meters away from the beach and St Ives is built on a hill. Usaine Bolt run can do that in about 20 seconds and I am a bit slower but its certainly not "quite a hilly walk away". Many people have mentioned the free car park and yes its nice getting it for free but for me it was the sheer convenience of being both so close to town and being able to come and go as often as i liked. Do not underestimate parking in St Ives it is a real nighmare and very expensive. Room three is the smallest room but i still thought it was big enough, more to the point it clearly says that on their web site so dont mark them down for it - pick a bigger room and pay for it! If you want a really big room pick Room one its huge and what a view. Breakfast was great but then thats why they have an award for it, I tried all of them (of course on different days) I couldn't finish either the traditional English breakfast or the homemade Muesli they were lovely to eat but simply too much for me. The Brunch or croissants were perfect especially after a night out eating at the many restraunts. Naomi and Andy I found to be perfect hosts if you were the first down or last to leave they were happy to chat merrily to us until needed elsewhere. There was none of that really annoying fawning you get in some places but if you wanted something were only too pleased to sort it out. I learnt that the other guests had actually been before which says it all and are clearly keeping this place to themselves and i dont blame them. So for service i really dont see what else they can do the rooms are cleaned daily which is what you expect but just doesn't happen as much as it should in most places. Andy helped with our luggage, told us about the town and certainly they both made us feel so welcome in their happy home and were happy to talk at any time but at the same time were not overbearing or intrusive and I really can't fault them. Would i recommend them, oh yes, Any faults? I didnt find any and clearly the people keep coming back, if anything that says it better than words.
Best wishes and thanks for a wonderfull time.
Claire and Peter

Room Tip: Check out their web site their pictures show each room so you dont have to guess, Room one is clearl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank happytimes503890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Well positioned quiet b&b with free parking within easy walking distance of lovely St Ives town and beaches.
Room 3 has nice sea view, a little small as a double but well fitted out , very clean and beautifully decorated. Great breakfast. Good value.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hatty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were visiting St Ives for one night only, and found it a struggle to find somewhere that had a room spare or would accomodate one night. Wheal-E-Mine not only fitted us in, they provided us with a fabulous room, a hearty breakfast and a car parking space!

The room was beautiful, better than some 4/5* hotels we have stayed in, it was clean, comfortable, spacious, nicely decorated with a lovely en-suite bathroom. The views were lovely (even with the rain!) and it was just a few minutes walk to the centre of St Ives.

Naomi and Andy gave us a warm welcome from the moment we arrived and couldn't do enough for us.

We do not normally leave reviews but do feel that Wheal-E-Mine deserves a mention!

I would 100% recommend this B&B and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CornwallLover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Naomi & Andy are wonderful hosts who took time to ensure we got the most out of our 4 day stay, recommending great places to eat and to visit. Naomi is a 4th or 5th generation local so really knows the area and everyone locally.

Andy has refurbished the rooms to a very high standard with wonderful attention to detail. Our very large room felt modern and luxurious yet still retained interesting & historic features. This is one of the best B&B’s we have ever stayed in. We had a wonderful relaxing time in St. Ives.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ten Ocean View
Ten Ocean View
#37 of 102 in St Ives
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#12 of 102 in St Ives
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheal-E-Mine B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheal-E-Mine B&B

Address: 9 Belmont Terrace, St Ives TR26 1DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £26 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wheal-E-Mine B&B St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing