We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hosts”
Review of Rathlena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathlena
Ranked #39 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hosts”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay in the Rathlena. We had the Premier Room as there were 4 of us. The room was fabulous with stunning sea views which makes it extra special when enjoying a drink on on the balcony! Everything in the room was spotless and all you could ever need eg tea, coffee with Evelyns amazing mugs and there were also biscuits replenished daily. We especially loved the shower and the massage rocking chair! Our hosts Evelyn and Tony were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble, no matter what you asked of them! My sons wanted to connect a PS3 to enable them to watch a movie in the evenings and when we got back an extension wire was in place ready.The breakfasts each morning were superb and very plentiful such as cereals, fruit juices, baked goods, pancakes, cheeses, yoghurts, cooked breakfasts to order as well as tea and coffee which were all served in Evelyn's lovely china. As well as being the perfect hostess and so friendly, Evelyn has impeccable taste and style. The whole house is simply gorgeous!

Another great thing about the Rathlena is car parking. You can leave your car and take a walk into St Ives which takes about 5 mins as downhill all the way. Coming back up takes a little longer, unless you are really fit! However there is a wonderful bus service which costs £1 for adults 50p for Kids or a taxi which average £4.
Thank you both for a brilliant holiday and your home would be my first choice when back in St Ives!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
127
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for a week recently and loved it! We would definitely recommend Rathlena to others. Evelyn and Tony are great hosts. The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are fantastic and we were very grateful to Evelyn for accommodating our children's various requests for breakfast! We found it difficult to find guest houses in St Ives with on-site parking and therefore were delighted with Rathlena as the guest house has ample parking space on the driveway for guests (without the need for double parking). Thanks Evelyn and Tony for a fantastic stay. Our children's teddy bears enjoyed their sunbathing on the balcony too!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier room which was very spacious and had a wonderful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here in July. The hosts are very welcoming and accommodating. The room was lovely as was the balcony view of the sea and St ives. The shower felt like you were in a waterfall!! A short walk into St Ives which was fine as long as you don't mind the hill!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatlemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Good sized rooms, one with huge roof terrace for evening drinks with views over the sea. Evelyn is very warm and friendly and always helpful. Plentiful and varied breakfasts. Rathlena is in a quiet location up the hill and can be accessed by the useful bus service from the town.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the bath and the large roof terrace or the larger bedroom with shower if prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SusieLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed for six nights in this first class b and b. Lovely room with excellent facilities and great views to the sea; breakfast amazing - variety and quality faultless; hostess - perfect - Evelyn you are a treasure sharing your home with such warmth and friendliness. Having stayed in St Ives before at other b and b's there is no doubt we have found the one to return to and have no hesitation in recommending "Rathlena". We will certainly stay again. Thank you Evelyn and Tony for giving us such a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynVerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A Truly Wondreful and Stay for 7 days at Rathlena,Evelyn and Tony are warm and welcoming,a fantastic room and terrific views of St Ives Bay.The B/fast has to be seen ,a great start to your day.All we can say is we will be back..Carol+Mick

Room Tip: Go to Rathlena all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We chose Rathlena based on Tripadvisor reviews and certainly weren't disappointed. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel like nothing was too much trouble.

Rooms - clean, large, well presented. I would recommend that you ask for the room with the large balcony as if the weather is good, it's a perfect sun trap after a day out. The shower is an amazing power shower.

Host - Evelyn was by far the best B and B owner I have ever come across. So welcoming and will do anything for you. She provides you with a breakfast that has to be seen to be believed!! It's always nice when you get the impression that the host is enjoying having you there as much as you are enjoying staying there.

Summary - All I can say is that I would recommend this B and B to anyone looking for a great value stay in St Ives. The only caviat to that would be that it is quite high up and is a good 10 min walk down hill and a strenuous 20 min walk back up!! There is a bus that runs tip late though that drops you at the bottom of the road so don't let that put you off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Downsfield
Downsfield
#5 of 7 in Carbis Bay
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#44 of 102 in St Ives
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Hind Guest House
Golden Hind Guest House
#54 of 102 in St Ives
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathlena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathlena

Property: Rathlena
Address: 9 Bahavella Drive, St Ives TR26 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea views peace and tranquility, yet minutes walk to town make Rathlena a real find. In recent years extensive refurbishment has ensured comfort and elegance throughout. All bedrooms enjoy private balconies taking advantage of the spectacular sea view outlook, superb en-suites and all thee added extras one comes to expect from a four star establishment. We provide breakfast of the highest quality and standard. Rathlena is situated in its own grounds providing safe off round parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rathlena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathlena St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing