We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream high quality B&B”
Review of Rathlena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathlena
Ranked #36 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I can only reiterate the content of the various reviews in that nearly everything about Rathlena is as a minimum very good but mostly excellent. The friendly host, the sound advice on local attractions, pubs and restaurants, the amazing breakfasts, the nothing is too much trouble attitude, the quality of the overall house, the facilities made available to guests, the soft comfy bed, the balcony facilities to escape for a sneaky smoke.

All in all for accommodation and breakfast you'd be hard pressed to find better B&B in St Ives or elsewhere in the UK in my opinion. The only drawback is the location of the house within St Ives which by its very nature is set on a hillside. So if your not pretty mobile and enjoy a 15 minute downhill and steps walk into the harbour area you will need to beware and fully investigate the topography and pedestrian routes - taxis range from £4 to £5 each way depending on the time of day and there is a local bus service nearby that will get you down to and up from the town centre at less cost

Room Tip: All the rooms are high quality fixtures and fittings, if the weather is favourable the room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H4623HNdavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It's hard to know where to start as Rathlena has so many good points. However, the main reason we chose to stay here was the marvellous reviews about Evelyn herself. A friendly host in a guest house or B and B can make a good holiday into a great holiday. Evelyn lived up to the reviews about her - a warm, friendly, helpful person but without being intruding. You couldn't wish for a better host.

Evelyn is a great cook. I had continental breakfasts which included the best fruit salads I've ever tasted. My boyfriend said his full English breakfasts were great too.

During our week's stay Evelyn had to go away for a few days for a family occasion but left us in the very capable hands of her friend Louise. Her cooking was equally delicious and her local knowledge very helpful, including recommending we go to nearby Zennor. The coastline there is stunning.

The onsite parking at Rathlena is a huge bonus, as there are few places to park nearer the centre of the town and the roads there are narrow. The mini fridge in our room was very handy. The balcony with a sea view would have been great if the weather had been better. The shower gel and shampoo smelt lovely. The bed was very comfortable. The list goes on....

St Ives is a beautiful town with the best standard of restaurants I have ever been to in one town. I definitely hope to return one day.

Thank you Evelyn for welcoming us into your lovely home and making sure we had a good time there. I think it would be hard to find somewhere better to stay in St Ives,
I'm already missing St Ives and Rathlena.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MusicCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it due to the breakfast and the excellent bed. there is hilly walk downhill into town which can be challenging in the way back but is manageable with a reasonable degree of fitness. this is a very pleasant place to stay in .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismckenna827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our third anniversary over New Year, and have to say that Evelyn is indeed wonderful!! Such a beautiful, large, clean room, quiet, tranquil location that is still easy to walk to/ from central St Ives from, and lovely breakfasts (tailored to our requests!- and heart-shaped toast on our last day! So cute). We will DEFinitely stay here again when we revisit St Ives. Couldn't have asked for a lovelier break. The thing that they have got right is the fact that you feel at HOME there- with so many B&Bs you feel a bit like you're intruding or you can feel uneasy in the 'common' areas, but not at Rathlena. Perfection! Thank you Evelyn, see you soon! (We got round to writing the review eventually!!) x

Room Tip: We were in the 'Premier' room with brown/ cream decor, but they all look wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holdot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here September 2013 and it was excellent, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left Evelyn made us feel like it was our own home. Our room had a lovely view, it was clean, spacious and had a large balcony. The breakfast was something else, we were certainly well fed for the day!! We stayed for a special occasion and Evelyn went out of her way to make sure it was a stay we would never forget, she chilled our champagne in her fridge and then brought it up to the room with strawberries and raspberries which we weren't expecting! We will certainly be going back there! It is out of the way of the hustle and bustle of the main street, but within walking distance so perfect location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Never got around to write a review of our trip back in June 2013. When walking through the door, we were met like old friends. Evelyn is probably the best hostess I've ever met!!
Great quiet location with great views over the bay from our room and a lovely walk via the back roads to the town center.
The breakfast sets new standards!! We had to write in a book in the evening with our request for the hot breakfast and no matter what we asked for, it was readily made and in abundance.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We decided on Rathlena as it was hard to find accomodation in the area which took babies/small children. Also a bonus was the driveway to park our car which made things much easier with a baby! We stayed three nights in Sept and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rathlena is a luxurious guest house, the spacious premier room we stayed in had a king size bed, a big spa shower, massage chair for unwinding in and fabulous sea views! It also has a balcony which all the rooms have! Evelyn is a perfect host, she provided a good selection for breakfast and her full English breakfast was outstanding and she gave us many tips. We will definitely be visiting again Evelyn and Tony again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anj_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.1 mi away
The Borthalan Hotel
The Borthalan Hotel
#16 of 20 in St Ives
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#34 of 102 in St Ives
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ten Ocean View
Ten Ocean View
#35 of 102 in St Ives
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathlena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathlena

Address: 9 Bahavella Drive, St Ives TR26 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £124 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea views peace and tranquility, yet minutes walk to town make Rathlena a real find. In recent years extensive refurbishment has ensured comfort and elegance throughout. All bedrooms enjoy private balconies taking advantage of the spectacular sea view outlook, superb en-suites and all thee added extras one comes to expect from a four star establishment. We provide breakfast of the highest quality and standard. Rathlena is situated in its own grounds providing safe off round parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rathlena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathlena St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing