We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Reassuringly The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #8 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Still Reassuringly The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We returned to Headland House, a few years after our last visit and were relieved to find everything just as perfect as when we left. We were greeted by Mark and Fenella, like old friends and even treated to some amazing Lavender chocolate as a congrats gift on my pregnancy.
The place never ages, which is testament both to the owner's timeless style and attention to detail; and the complimentary chocolate cake was as lovely as ever, as was breakfast!
This is still our favourite place to retreat to for some R&R, hands down and proved to be the perfect destination for both a wedding stopover and an impromptu baby moon- still a great price too! Thank goodness.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
282
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We arrived at Headland house in the early afternoon to be met by the owners Mark and Fenella who made us feel instantly welcome as we were shown around the hotel and even had our bags carried to our room. Once we had settled into our room we were able to help ourselves to cake, coffee and drinks at the honesty bar before heading into St.Ives for a delicious meal at a local restaurant that had be recommended on the list of restaurants we received off Fenella when we booked. After a wonderful evening out in St.Ives we caught the train back along the coast to the hotel where we were able to relax with DVD's and magazines that had been provided for us. The next morning we woke up to stunning views overlooking the beaches stretching from Carbis Bay around to St.Ives harbour. The breakfast was just as great as everything else, we were asked what we would like to drink when we sat down, fresh toast was brought to us, as well as having a fruit smoothies on the table and a buffet table with the choice of cereals, yogurts, fruit juices and fresh fruit and as if that wasn't enough we also had the option of an English breakfast or something off the specials board, couldn't have asked for better. Mark and Fenella really did make our trip very enjoyable and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Turned up a little late on Friday night and was politely greater at the door by Mark. He showed us around headland house and took us to our room and then kindly booked us a restaurant in St.Ives so we were able to calming unpack and not have to stress (what a wonderful and positive way to start our weekend). Headland house truly is what I would describe as the perfect boutique retreat. Just two minutes walk away from the train and 5 minutes away from Carbis bay beach which we were also able to view from our gorgeous room. We had a wonderful time in St.ives with the beautiful little shops and amazing restaurants and all in all we had the most amazing weekend which was both really needed and to top it off; the sun even shone during most of our stay which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfoob556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed 1 night for my 50th birthday and it was a real treat! Lovely chocolate brownies on arrival,comfy bed and beautiful furnishings throughout the whole house and a sea view! We would definately recommend to all our family and friends who wish to explore this fantastic area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Headland House is beautifully decorated and perfectly situated on Carbis Bay, within 2 mins walking distance from the station which takes you to St Ives in 3 mins. The rooms are tastefully decorated with all the amenities you would need - great toiletries, very comfy bed and all the mod cons like wifi and TV.

Fenella is the perfect host who does all the thinking for you when you are on holiday. We loved all the little touches in the B&B, from delicious cakes in the afternoon to an honesty bar and chilled out "Mr and Mrs" music playing in the dining room. The breakfast is stunning with a huge variety to choose from with local produce.

I would have no hesitation recommending Headland House and would love to visit Mark and Fenella again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Heligan for one night (lovely and very private) and the Porthminster for the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimmiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband and I have been going to this boutique hotel now for some years . From the moment we arrive our stay is nothing short of perfect . There is always cake on arrival and always lots of jellybeans ( my fave ) available with coffee in the lovely snug bar or to take out in the beautiful garden and relax with a book or magazine. The rooms are nicely decorated with good quality toiletries and lovely beds with nice bedding . The breakfast is first class with plenty to choose from and always fresh and tasty . Our visits have always been made to feel special by mark and Fenella who are the perfect hosts who is seems that nothing is too much trouble . If you are visiting st Ives don't stay anywhere else as you will fall in love with this beautiful B & B . Amazing .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have stayed at Headland House a few times before and have always had a wonderful time, Fenella and Mark are wonderful warm hosts who are friendly without beng intrusive, going back there feels like visiting old friends which is a measure of the way you are welcomed at Headland House. The hotel and rooms have been decorated to a very high standard and the attention to detail is second to none. Nice touches like fresh milk and water in the fridge each day, also silent fridges in the rooms, complimentary tea and cake in the afternoon, a plentiful supply of many current magazines to read during your stay - these may seems like small things but they add up to make your stay very enjoyable. I would highly recommend a stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Porthminster room has a wonderful view over Carbis Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Property: Headland House
Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Headland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing