We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
366
25
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
25
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barmark fenellacarbis bayroll top bathhot chocolate and marshmallowsfree sherryattention to detaileach afternoonlittle touchesstunning coastlineboutique hotelgreat hoststhe main housetrain stationfree standing bathcoastal pathwarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at Headland House and will definitely be back one day. Short break started off a bit miserable with the weather but it brightened up and the weather was glorious in the end - did not want to leave. Mark and Fenella are great hosts, Mark giving tips whenever you go out for the day and Fenella cooking up a lovely feast for breakfast (make sure you try the waffles!)
The accommodation is top notch with lovely added details throughout such as fresh flowers, complimentary cake in the afternoons, rugs for those cold evenings out on the terrace and a honesty bar. It was a real treat to be able to eat breakfast out on the decking.
For places to eat, I would definitely recommend Ocean Grill but don't rate the Firehouse very highly. Days out included Michael's Mount one morning and then we drove to Sennen in the afternoon and walked to Lands End and back - much better than driving straight to Lands End. Also went round to Godrevy one day which has a lovely little hidden beach hut cafe.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaAllard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

July 31 & 1 Aug 2013. Stayed for 2 nights & didn't want to leave! Fenella & Mark were perfect hosts, advising the best restaurants & ice cream parlours -although beware of marauding seagulls on the beach- I had mine whisked away by a seagull in full flight!!
The room was lovely with large en-suite & roll top bath- the decor in the whole house was gorgeous and Fenella & I had interesting conversation about our love for Farrow & Ball paint! We moved on to St Mawes & Fenella e-mailed me a list of restaurants to try in & around Falmouth.
The terrace had sun loungers and comfy chairs and a choice of magazines- even blankets in case it got chilly!
We were greeted with carrot cake & advised about the honesty bar and also complementary tea, coffee and cake every afternoon.
I would recommend Headland House to anyone contemplating staying in or around St Ives- the 3 minute train journey from Carbis Bay to St Ives was literally a 5 minute walk from the house.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor- Cape Cornwall.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here in late July during the UK heatwave. It was a great location for Carbis Bay, just a few minutes away. St Ives isn't far either, and you can get the train in (they're every hour). Usually you don't have to pay either because there's no machine at Carbis Bay and the inspector on board will issue you a ticket, but it never happens! If you need to pay then it's £2 each return. The hotel in question is very well decorated, and it's clear a lot of care and attention has been paid in several areas. In the shared spaces you can grab alcohol from the honesty bar, and there's free slices of cake and sweets. We stayed in the Mousehole, and like the rest of the B&B it was very clean and well laid out. One word of warning with this particular room, it's a little small around the end of the bed so you do have to sneak past to access the bathroom(depending on what side you sleep). The bathroom doesn't include a shower, only a bath. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely stay again if we visit St Ives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was our 3rd visit in a year, and this time we stayed in the Porthcurno room on the 2nd floor for 3 nights. Amazing views, and I think my favourite of the 3 we have stayed in. We were lucky with the weather (stayed the 2nd week in June) and we ventured onto the beautiful Carbis Bay beach. There are windbreakers and beach mats that you can borrow and they let us have a huge rug to sit on, there are beach bags in your room to carry everything in. I cannot really add much more to the reviews that I have already written but this time we were able to take advantage of the garden and sit and read and enjoy some cake and pimms.

Breakfast is always good and Mark and Fenella are very welcoming along with their team who clean the rooms and serve you breakfast (lovely lady at breakfast whose name I will learn always has a smile). Just a wonderful place and if we could fit in another visit in 2013 then we would but unfortunately it will have to be next year. I cannot say enough good things about the Headland House, have recommended it to all our friends.

The walk along the coastal path from Carbis Bay to St Ives is just lovely, take the train by all means but walk at least once, the views are worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB6878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Headland House in March to celebrate our anniversary. We couldn't have chosen a better place. Mark and Fenella really know how to run a boutique hotel; we were well looked after from the moment we booked right up to when they waved us off!

The room was very comfortable, amazing views (we were in the Portminster room), lovely bathroom, excellent amenities, and nice touches all the way down to being left marshmallows for your hot chocolate.

Breakfast really sets the hotel apart - generous portions, great choice (eggs and smoked salmon/waffles and strawberries...to options for the more health conscious too). Again, the selection of 'smoothie shots' was a lovely touch. We arrived home everyday to complementary afternoon tea in the Snug (very cosy bar/lounge).

Mark and Fenella were always on hand to offer excellent advice as to how best to fill our days, whether we wanted to relax or see the many local sights.

We can't wait to return, thank you again for a fantastic stay!

Ollie and Naomi

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllieandNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews