We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, warm and welcoming”
Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #11 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The warmest of welcomes into a beautifully presented B&B (the nicest i've been in actually). Mark and Fenella were genuine, helpful and did everything effortlessly to make it a relaxing yet memorable experience. Breakfasts were big and delicious with lots to choose from and complimentary tea and cake in the afternoon was a welcome treat when getting back from rainy St Ives. It was my partners birthday while we were there and Fenella recommended a great place to eat (and called ahead to make sure we'd get in) in St Ives and upon our return we found a little bottle of fizz and card in our room. A really lovely personal touch. Bed was comfy, views were brilliant, fresh milk for morning tea in our room! Would definitely recommend and definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had great views from the Sennen room but ones above would probably feel more private and have ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

The informal welcome at Headland House is a great introduction to a well -run B&B conveniently located for St Ives.
The comfortable bedrooms, the Snug (with afternoon tea and cake and evening honesty bar) and the sunny breakfast room are all individually decorated and furnished to a high standard.
Mark and Fenella make time for their guests, are helpful with advice and local knowledge, particularly the restaurants of St Ives - (see our review of Alfresco - thanks for this one Mark and Fenella!)
Which reminds me, I nearly forgot to mention the freshly-prepared, generous breakfasts, with a varied choice of quality food and drink to start the day.
All in all, there's nowhere else we'd rather stay in this part of Cornwall.

Room Tip: Each room is individually styled, some have a freestanding bath, others have showers. I'm sure M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first time in Carbis Bay and St Ives and our stay here was the best introduction. The breakfasts with lots of home made extras were just what we needed to start the day. Our room the Porthminister was a good size with breathtaking view of the bay. The coastal walk into St Ives is a must but the alternative train is also very convenient particularly if you are popping into St Ives for dinner. Overall very enjoyable and we hope to be back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alib_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our second stay at the Headland House and as before we were made so very welcome.
the view from our room was beautiful. A short walk down the street and you can jump on the train to st Ives, so no need to worry about parking in St Ives. At breakfast there was a very large choice
from fruits to the full English.

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulF11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We love St Ives and the Carbis Bay area made all the better this time by the place we chose to stay on this occasion as our base for 7 days, The Headland House Hotel. The hosts, Mark and Fenella were most welcoming and accommodating. There were lots of thoughtful touches such as complementary tea and cake every afternoon even when we got back after it had been cleared away, Fenella would pop her head around the door with a cheery Tea and cake? The fantastic breakfasts are more than ample and set you up for the day ahead. We had originally booked 6 days and were able to extend it a day. It meant a room change after the first night which happened seamlessly whilst we were out enjoying the delights of St Ives. The rooms were very quiet with no noticeable noise from adjacent rooms. We will most definitely return and have been recommending Headland House to our friends. Thank you Mark and Fenella for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Spent two wonderful nights at Headland House in the Porthminster room, absolutely beautiful, very tastefully decorated with such thoughtful touches, spotlessly clean, very comfortable and a view to die for!! Mark and Fenella were such wonderful hosts, very thoughtful in every way. Complimentary cake and coffee upon our arrival and delicious breakfast served in the stunning conservatory. Parking on the premises was a huge plus. Just a one stop train ride from St Ives (or a mile walk along the coastal path) makes this an ideal spot as parking is very scarce in St.Ives. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, a real gem, highly recommendable! Thank you so much Mark and Fenella for your wonderful hospitality 

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrynE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

No warm welcome more like the cold shoulder. The owner is currently completing a self build property within the hotel grounds and was awaiting a delivery of materials. On arrival we were asked to move our vehicle without the owner asking whether or not we were guests due to a delivery.
When we informed the owner that we were guests we were asked to park in the car park which I must say is very small and difficult to negotiate. Furthermore such was the owner’s eagerness to return to the build site he advised us to leave the keys and he would park the car for us. Despite the owners statement that they would not be on site until 3.30pm this was not the welcome we expected. The only thing warm about this welcome was the sun was shining at the time.
We decided to head for the beach without unpacking our car and asked the owner for directions. We were informed that the route was down the road and over the bridge and not informed that there are two routes. We decided not to follow the road and took the coastal path route which is very challenging and potentially dangerous. At the end of this route is flowing water which is very slippy as a result my partner slipped and dislocated and broke her ankle in tow places.
I am not pointing the finger or suggesting that the owner is to blame however if he had taken a little more time and provided us with more information we would not have taken this route. Ok this is our experience and one might suggest a one off and just an unfortunate incident. Nevertheless if you are running a business you must make time for your customers despite your own agenda.
Following the incident we returned to the hotel for one night and were helped far more than earlier in the day. On the morning we left we were not provided with a refund and even asked for money which we paid and then left.
On the positive side the hotel is clean the food excellent and the location is fairly good. The negatives the car park in inadequate and the owner is too preoccupied to offer the customer service required to make this a top quality hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank notachavman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorty2809, Owner at Headland House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

We would have liked to say thank you for your review, however Mark and I are both stunned and saddened by the unbalanced and negative comments made in your review of your stay with us, as I am sure would be the other guests who were here and witnessed the evenings events.

We would like to address the points you have raised. As you say you arrived in our car park very early prior to check in, Mark offered to park your car for you as a matter of courtesy and kindness something that you obviously misread. We have two car parks both of which can accommodate and do accommodate very large cars. As you rightly point out Mark gave you directions to the beach which were to simply walk straight down the hill to the beach which is at the end of the road and can be seen, as you say he did not mention there was another path as we do not consider it a suitable route, obviously the decision to either walk straight down the hill to the beach or take another route is your own and not one we would or had recommended, we did discuss this later in the evening as I was shocked you had chosen to take the coastal path and asked you why? And you yourself told me you had told your partner it was not a suitable route however she said she was excited to get to the beach as quickly as possible, she did not want to walk down the hill, you also discussed this to other guests who enquired about your accident who were equally surprised at the route you had chosen. When you arrived at Headland House that evening and explained the unfortunately accident, it was decided it would be wise to stay for the night, have a good nights sleep, so I asked two friends of ours to help get your partner from the car to your room, they very kindly carried your partner into the Headland House and into our breakfast room, she did not want to go straight to the room as she needed a cigarette on the decking before going to the room, I made tea and cake as I was most concerned neither of you had eaten during the day, I then sat with you both to making sure your partner had relaxed after an hour or so and a cigarette, I was concerned that tea and cake was not nearly enough so I offered to drive and get a take away from a local restaurant or if preferred a take away delivered, you choose a take away which I ordered and arranged to be delivered and then prepared a tray for your room, in between this time, we decided it would be good idea to get your partner to your room in order that she could relax in bed, I carried your partner with you to the stairs and proceeded to hold her leg whilst she maneouvered herself up the stairs, may I say that prior to this I did offer to call around to find any other establishment that had a ground floor room available should you have preferred, which was declined, once in your room I made sure your partner was comfortable with additional cushions, may I also say that during the whole evening both you and your partner could not thank me enough for all my help.

The following morning we offered to bring breakfast to your room to save any unnecessary moving, after breakfast, Mark then made a cushion for your partner's leg to rest on for the journey home and we then helped carry your partner to the car and ensure everything was as comfortable as possible, you left with thanks for all our help which and quote "was above and beyond" and looking forward to staying with us next year, taking into account all that both Mark and I did leaves us both saddened and bemused by the review as to anything more we could have done to have made your stay with us more comfortable due to circumstances that were no fault of our own.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.5 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storm in a Tea Cup
Storm in a Tea Cup
#19 of 102 in St Ives
38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £85 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing