We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at Headland House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #8 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at Headland House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here for a short much needed 2 night stay and came home feeling so relaxed.
Mark and Fenella really deserve all the excellent reviews, they work so hard to make your
stay special and are so friendly and genuine.
Headland House is beautifully furnished, very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are
fantastic and very large portions, Mark likes to set you up for the day without the need to buy lunch!!
Carbis Bay is a beautiful setting and just a short train ride from St Ives, which we loved.
We would definitely stay at Headland House again if we were visiting St Ives.
Other Hoteliers should take tips from Mark and Fenella, this is how a Hotel should be run.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
282
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

There are so many good reviews for this place, all justified and the reason we chose it for our recent break. The owners are lovely, sociable and are always on hand with helpful information about the area and places to eat.

Headland House has lovely comfortable rooms, great breakfast, great service and is so convenient for the 3 minute rail drive into St Ives for only £1 pp each way.

Booking was very well managed and to be able to stay we had 2 different rooms during the week. The owners managed the move perfectly without any effort needed from us.

The views are beautiful and there are lots of nice touches.

You won't be disappointed ; if your lucky enough to get a booking !

Room Tip: We had the Heligan Garden room which was lovely and a little more private away from the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummybobYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for four night and can only agree with all the previous reviews that have rated Headland House as excellent. Mark and Fenella will make sure you have the best stay possible. If you find something that they haven't thought of or provided (we doubt you will find anything) they will make sure you get it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudorfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned home after another 3 night break at Headland House. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Anyone visiting St Ives must stay here. It is truly fabulous. Mark and Fenella are great hosts. We wish we were there now.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

For our very first visit to England and Cornwall we have decieded for the Headland House and we have not regretted it for one second. Already in the run-up we had very nice contact by email with Fenella and it founds its continuation in the warm welcome by Mark - the feeling was like visit friends. He took us on a detailed tour of the house and gave us a lot of recommendations for restaurants and excurses. The whole house with the garden, our room, the breakfast room, the tea lounge and all the little details selected by a tasteful eye for cosy design were making us happy from the outset. First we stayed some nights in the room 'Porthminster' at the second floor - with big windows and an awful view of the Carbis Bay. The room was big enough even we had luggage for one week. Afterwards we changed to the room 'Mousewhole' with Garden view, it was slightly smaller but cosy and with a big bathroom. To have a shower in a bathtub it was a little unusual but not really a problem. We hat no need for an alarm clock because every morning at 8.15 hrs we were woken up by delicious scents for breakfast. The egg dishes and the waffles we liked the most. Every day Mark and Fenella gave us good tips for excurses and dining places - depending on the weather. We have to confess that all of it was wonderful or tasty or both. In the afternoon there was the possibilty to have a piece of cake and tea at the sweet lounge and at the evening several drinks and wine. We enjoyed to take the train to St. Ives, because it is the most easiest way and quick too. When we missed the last train back we took a taxi back (costs between 7-10 £). After one week we went home really relaxed and happy even if the weather was not always our friend. The hosts Fenella and Mark with their lovely girls in the service are reason enough to come back and we will :-) Thanks a lot for cosy holidays.

Room Tip: Porthminster, Porthcurno - both with sea view and quiet at the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay - quite honestly, the best B&B we've stayed in - and we've been to a few in our 44 years of marriage. Fenella and Mark were the perfect hosts and to wake up to that view every morning (we were in Porthmeor) was sublime. The little train into St Ives from the end of the road was very useful to avoid the parking problems in town. The choice at breakfast and the standard of food was excellent. Afternoon cake and complimentary sherry in the evening was a nice touch. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at headland house over the weekend!

All I have to say is WOW. From the minute we turned up until the minute we left, we were looked after. Great hosts with amazing local knowledge!

The accomadation was 2nd to none with amazing views and great food! Afternoon tea b cake was a great touch!

No need to stay anywhere else! Book early and stay here, you won't regret it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krishna18388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Property: Headland House
Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Headland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing