We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #8 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We visit Cornwall once a year for a long weekend. This is the third time we have gone back to Headland House and it is one that we will continue to visit as it provides the perfect retreat for us.

St Ives is a lovely town and the hotel is situated in Carbis Bay which is a very short drive/train ride away. It's close enough to have a relaxing evening/day out but also far enough out of the town centre not to feel crowded by the summer rush.

Headland house is not so much a bed and breakfast for us but a very small intimate hotel. The decor is simple, light yet very homely, and having stayed inboth Room 1 and Room 3 (and having asked the owners to show us around all the other rooms too!), it is clear that they have been decorated to a very high standard, which includes flat screen tv/integrated DVD player, lovely soft beds and lush linnen and very well appointed bathrooms.

Our personal favourite is room 1 as we personally opt for a view of the coast as opposed to one of the back rooms (room 3 and Mousehole) which have larger bathroom and roll top baths. Room 3 however is lovely as well but we just prefer to have the view.

Breakfasts are fantastic. Served in a very nice conservatory there is a great range of buffet cereals, fruit and yogurts and there are plety of options for the very very good cooked breakfasts on offer. Coffee is served freshly brewed in a caffetiere and the toast just keeps on coming.

The hotel has a very cosy "snug" complete with a large cinema system, plenty of DVD's and an honesty bar complete with wines, beers and complimentary cake. We spent one evening relaxing with a bottle of wine and watching a great film which was a nice change of scenary from the usual dining out.

FInally, Mark and Fenella are wonderful hosts. Both extremely passionate about what they do, very knowledgable about the area and they strike the perfect balance between warm hosts and leaving you to have some privacy. It's always a pleasure to catch up with them after a huge fry up!

In summary, Headland house, in our opinion, represents excellent value for money. Having tasted a number of English B&B's, this is one of the best hotels around for the price. There's certainly a lot more similarly priced B&B's at significantly lower qualities and the hosts really make this place special too.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevetrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
283
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We loved this place and would like to strongly recommend it.
Headland House is a stylish, cosy and ultra-comfortable bed and breakfast with nice seaviews, run by a lovely English couple, Marc and Fenella. They are extremely kind and will give you all the good tips (on places to visits, restaurants, etc...) to make you fully enjoy your stay in Cornwall. And the also cook delicious eggs for breakfast ! (with bacon, etc. but the vegetarian option available). In a nitpicking spirit we could comment that their breakfast could be a bit more varied, but however the quality is very high.
This is an ideal base for a few days of relax, as it is located in Carbis Bay, a stone throw from central St Ives, but without the crowds of this beatiful Cornwall town, which is however reachable with a £6 taxi ride or by train in 5 minutes (the station is a 3 minute walk from the b&b).
We really look forward to our next stay at Healand House!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Myself and husband stayed here for a week in the Porthcurno Room. We found this accommodation to be perfect and the owners very friendly. The room was decorated to a high standard, comfortable and clean. The view of the sea from the window was absolutely stunning. The cooked breakfast was lovely and they were very accommodating to you exact diatery requirements. I also found the afternoon cake to be lovely, especially the asparagus cake as it tasted great. The parking was good and the location was great for getting out and about or for just visiting St Ives.

St Ives and the surrounding areas were lovely, I would recommend taking the train into St Ives (just at the end of the road) as the roads and parking in St Ives main area seemed very limited. We also visited Porthcurno Beach on the way from Lands End and found this to be a beatuiful little beach (thought I was in the med!).

I was very sad to leave and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaymaniaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Luxury B&B, Run by a genuine friendly couple. Very relaxed atmosphere and idyllic settings. The hotel has a beautiful private garden for use, which includes seating, even hammocks! A 'snug bar' with an honesty bar and free tea/coffee and cake availaible every day :) The breakfast served has lots of variety and is of a good standard. They bedrooms are intricate and all have there own uniqueness, they beds are huge and very comfy! I would really reccomend thisB&B as a great place to stay and will definately be returning there myself in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandCharlieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Went to this guesthouse for a few days to celebrate our 70th and 80th birthdays - found it entirely lived up to the reviews already posted. Very relaxed and comfortable, and the breakfast was amazing. The only 'fault' as far as my husband was concerned was the walk up from the lower car park to the house, but this did not spoil our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenjay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at Headland House for three nights in June this year and it really was everything that the other reviews I read on here said it would be...

Mark and Fenella are so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Mark gave us tips on where to eat and what beaches were the best etc. You can come and go as you please and because there is lots of space for guests downstairs (the garden & the lounge for example), we didn't feel like we were intruding in anyones space which is how we have felt in other B&B's....we were just utterly relaxed and welcomed all the time.

The breakfasts were just to die for! I really can be very funny about my cooked breakfasts, especially how people cook eggs etc but I couldn't fault a single bite. There was free cake in the afternoons (scrummy!) and an honesty bar with wine and draft beer which was a lovely touch.

The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated, clean, spacious and relaxing to be in. We borrowed a dvd from the breakfast room (loads to choose from, as well as books and magazines) and watched that in our room over the three nights when we had got in from dinner.

The location is great because we were a short walk from St. Ives, a beach and the train station which goes directly to Penzance and other desirable locations.

You do admittedly pay slightly more when you book somewhere like Headland House over other B&B's but it was just worth every penny and for the level of service & accomodation we received, I feel it was very good value for money.

We would happily go back to Headland House everytime we go to St. Ives.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KoloandFynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Had lovely 3 night break at Headland House, was a birthday break from my other half.we couldnt have chose a more relaxing lovely place this time on our visit to Carbis Bay.
Mark & Fenella were truly lovely and nothing is too much trouble and every detail thought off so you dont have too,
We loved the complimentary afternoon tea and cake tho i chose wine and cake on the verrandah whilst my other half lounged in the hammock, very relaxing.
The room we had was room 3 soo beautiful clean and even watched a couple of DVD s from their complimentary libary,
FOOD was excellent and lots of choice , even the little touches of fresh fruit on the yoghurt was lovely.
The 'Honesty ' Bar is a fab idea and loved the wine choice too.
Would certainly recommend this hotel and return when we go back to St Ives. Carbis bay.
thank you for a great stay :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank met9013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Property: Headland House
Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Headland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing