We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful luxury B and B in perfect location”
Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #10 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights on a last minute break. We stayed in Mousehole which i imagine is the smallest room but has a huge luxury bathroom with a dressing area. I has really high expectations from reading reviews on here and I have to admit that it was even lovelier than I imagined.

After a 7 and a half hour drive, Fenella met us and showed us around and to our room. She was friendly but sensitive to the fact that we's been driving for a long time and were tired. When we came down later we wnet down to the snug for a drink. They operate an honesty system which seems to work very well.The red wine they had on offer was excellent. it was almost half 9 and Mark told us to go for a meal at The Firehouse (which by the way was excellent.)

Everywhere in the B and B is immaculate and looks like it is from a page in a magazine however the owners are unpretentious and friendly. Their home adjoins the B and B but they are in no way intrusive. Their breakfast is lovely and is served in a beautiful room overlooking the sea.

The location of the b and b is ideal. We were fortunate to have 2 days of beautiful sun and relaxed on Carbis Bay which is one of the loveliest beaches in the area. The owners were happy to let us use windbreakers and told us where was best to go. In the evenings we got taxis to St Ives which were very reasonable (£5-6 each way) but you can get the train if you are not out too late.

We ate at the Porthminster Cafe one night on the owners recommendation where we ate a delicious meal (service miserable though!) and then walked up to St Ives where the shops are open late in high season.

Overall, I cannot recommend this B and B more highly. We would like to some back next year and stay in the 'Sennen' room which has a view of the sea. It is worth mentioning that "Mousehole" does not have a stand up shower which wasnt a problem for a short break really. It has a luxury roll top bath with a hand held shower which was fine for me but b/f prefers a shower!

This place is not a b and b at all but a beautiful luxury hotel where every need has been considered. it is perfect for a romantic break. The price offers real value for money. We will definitely be back for another stay.

Thank you Mark and Fenella.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppyprew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Headland House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

my boyfriend + i stayed in headland house luxury b&b for 5 nights, everything was perfect, i couldn't have asked for better, we both agreed its the nicest accomodation we've ever stayed at, even better than some 5star hotels! the rooms are amazing, we stayed in room 1 which has a lovely view of st ives, the breakfast was beautiful and the owners, mark+fenella couldn't have been any nicer, they were so welcoming, friendly, accomodating + helpful. there is complimentary home made cake, tea+coffee in a 'snug' room in the afternoons which is lovely to come bk to after a day of sightseeing. the b+b is a 2 minute walk to the train station, you get on at carbis bay where you can take the train to st ives, it takes maybe 3 mins to get to st ives + is £1 for a single ticket. if you want to walk in, its approx 30mins and a very enjoyable walk, we really enjoyed our stay at headland house. it is especially perfect for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EveDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

What can I say that hasn't been said already? We booked our stay here on the strength of the reviews here, and they are right. Headland House is in a perfect location. Our room had beautiful views straight out to sea, the station is a 5 minute walk away for a 3 minute train journey into St Ives, or you can take a 25 minute walk there with lovely sea views all the way.

Headland House is the perfect B&B which feels more like a hotel - in a good way. The rooms are beautifully furnished, there are two comfortable rooms downstairs to sit in with free tea and cake in the afternoon or sherry in the evening (which we thought was a nice touch), the breakfasts are fantastic, and Mark and Fenella are the perfect hosts. They are friendly, chatty and hospitable with great recommendations for restaurants or days out when you want them, and totally unobtrusive and off doing their own thing in their part of the house when you'd rather be left alone.

I think I've used the word 'perfect' there three times. Because it is. Mark and Fenella really know how to run a top class bed and breakfast. Really I don't know what else they need to do to make it to No.1 in the Trip Advisor Ratings. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We visit Cornwall once a year for a long weekend. This is the third time we have gone back to Headland House and it is one that we will continue to visit as it provides the perfect retreat for us.

St Ives is a lovely town and the hotel is situated in Carbis Bay which is a very short drive/train ride away. It's close enough to have a relaxing evening/day out but also far enough out of the town centre not to feel crowded by the summer rush.

Headland house is not so much a bed and breakfast for us but a very small intimate hotel. The decor is simple, light yet very homely, and having stayed inboth Room 1 and Room 3 (and having asked the owners to show us around all the other rooms too!), it is clear that they have been decorated to a very high standard, which includes flat screen tv/integrated DVD player, lovely soft beds and lush linnen and very well appointed bathrooms.

Our personal favourite is room 1 as we personally opt for a view of the coast as opposed to one of the back rooms (room 3 and Mousehole) which have larger bathroom and roll top baths. Room 3 however is lovely as well but we just prefer to have the view.

Breakfasts are fantastic. Served in a very nice conservatory there is a great range of buffet cereals, fruit and yogurts and there are plety of options for the very very good cooked breakfasts on offer. Coffee is served freshly brewed in a caffetiere and the toast just keeps on coming.

The hotel has a very cosy "snug" complete with a large cinema system, plenty of DVD's and an honesty bar complete with wines, beers and complimentary cake. We spent one evening relaxing with a bottle of wine and watching a great film which was a nice change of scenary from the usual dining out.

FInally, Mark and Fenella are wonderful hosts. Both extremely passionate about what they do, very knowledgable about the area and they strike the perfect balance between warm hosts and leaving you to have some privacy. It's always a pleasure to catch up with them after a huge fry up!

In summary, Headland house, in our opinion, represents excellent value for money. Having tasted a number of English B&B's, this is one of the best hotels around for the price. There's certainly a lot more similarly priced B&B's at significantly lower qualities and the hosts really make this place special too.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevetrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We loved this place and would like to strongly recommend it.
Headland House is a stylish, cosy and ultra-comfortable bed and breakfast with nice seaviews, run by a lovely English couple, Marc and Fenella. They are extremely kind and will give you all the good tips (on places to visits, restaurants, etc...) to make you fully enjoy your stay in Cornwall. And the also cook delicious eggs for breakfast ! (with bacon, etc. but the vegetarian option available). In a nitpicking spirit we could comment that their breakfast could be a bit more varied, but however the quality is very high.
This is an ideal base for a few days of relax, as it is located in Carbis Bay, a stone throw from central St Ives, but without the crowds of this beatiful Cornwall town, which is however reachable with a £6 taxi ride or by train in 5 minutes (the station is a 3 minute walk from the b&b).
We really look forward to our next stay at Healand House!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Myself and husband stayed here for a week in the Porthcurno Room. We found this accommodation to be perfect and the owners very friendly. The room was decorated to a high standard, comfortable and clean. The view of the sea from the window was absolutely stunning. The cooked breakfast was lovely and they were very accommodating to you exact diatery requirements. I also found the afternoon cake to be lovely, especially the asparagus cake as it tasted great. The parking was good and the location was great for getting out and about or for just visiting St Ives.

St Ives and the surrounding areas were lovely, I would recommend taking the train into St Ives (just at the end of the road) as the roads and parking in St Ives main area seemed very limited. We also visited Porthcurno Beach on the way from Lands End and found this to be a beatuiful little beach (thought I was in the med!).

I was very sad to leave and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidaymaniaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Luxury B&B, Run by a genuine friendly couple. Very relaxed atmosphere and idyllic settings. The hotel has a beautiful private garden for use, which includes seating, even hammocks! A 'snug bar' with an honesty bar and free tea/coffee and cake availaible every day :) The breakfast served has lots of variety and is of a good standard. They bedrooms are intricate and all have there own uniqueness, they beds are huge and very comfy! I would really reccomend thisB&B as a great place to stay and will definately be returning there myself in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaandCharlieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
774 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £161 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Headland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing