We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Boutique Hotel Style Experience”
Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #8 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Boutique Hotel Style Experience”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Headland House is fantastic. It feels like a boutique hotel in every sense. Rooms are gorgeous and very hip (very Graham and Green style interiors) with colonial shutters, big comfy pocket spring beds and lovely bathrooms (ours had a roll-top bath).

Mark and Fenella are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. It's all the little touches that I was really impressed with which included: free complimentary tea, coffee and homemade cake (every afternoon), scented candles throughout the house and fresh lillies, books/DVD's, complimentary Sherry and Port and an honesty bar. They even provide cosy fleece blankets if you want to sit in the lovely garden on an evening and the breakfasts are fab!

Couldn't recomend it enough and I think the rates are very reasonable considering what you get for your money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jase1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
283
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed here in May, and we've been trying since then to think of something that hasn't already been said about this lovely hotel. We now have to admit defeat, and just confirm what all of the other reviewers have said about Headland House .. spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished, great breakfasts, lovely rooms, excellent service. It was lovely to return to after a day/night out, and find candles lit, and chill out music gently in the background., the snug with the complimentary cake and tea/coffee was a lovely touch, and it was this attention to detail that made the place so special. Could go on, but would only be repeating what everyone else has said. Would definitely recommend a stay here and if you get good weather as we did, you'll think you've died and gone to heaven as Carbis Bay and St Ives have the most glorious beaches.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wurzburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I spent five nights in Headland House and I wish I had booked more than that.
Having travelled quite a lot in Great Britain and having stayed in lots of Guest Houses and Hotels I found Headland House to be the perfect home from home.
The location is wonderful, the garden well-tended and the room I was staying in
was very clean, nicely furnished and had views from a bay window to die for.
I could have sat there all day and watched the sky and the sea.

The breakfast was lovely, too, and Fenella even offered me cheese and croissants,
because a cooked breakfast is not my cup of tea.

Being a solo traveller it was the first time I really felt at ease in a guest house,
because Mark and Fenella were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to
make this holiday special for me.

If I ever return to beautiful Cornwall, it will be to Headlands House in Carbis Bay!

Thank you very much, Mark and Fenella!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dagmark_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Stayed for long weekend felt longer as you unwind the moment you arrive. Perfect location seaviews & lovely beach walks.headlands house is much more than the pictures could show.

Fenella & mark are the perfect hosts, very friendly & helpful all the time. (the breakfasts were very special)

Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyholiday_10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights on a last minute break. We stayed in Mousehole which i imagine is the smallest room but has a huge luxury bathroom with a dressing area. I has really high expectations from reading reviews on here and I have to admit that it was even lovelier than I imagined.

After a 7 and a half hour drive, Fenella met us and showed us around and to our room. She was friendly but sensitive to the fact that we's been driving for a long time and were tired. When we came down later we wnet down to the snug for a drink. They operate an honesty system which seems to work very well.The red wine they had on offer was excellent. it was almost half 9 and Mark told us to go for a meal at The Firehouse (which by the way was excellent.)

Everywhere in the B and B is immaculate and looks like it is from a page in a magazine however the owners are unpretentious and friendly. Their home adjoins the B and B but they are in no way intrusive. Their breakfast is lovely and is served in a beautiful room overlooking the sea.

The location of the b and b is ideal. We were fortunate to have 2 days of beautiful sun and relaxed on Carbis Bay which is one of the loveliest beaches in the area. The owners were happy to let us use windbreakers and told us where was best to go. In the evenings we got taxis to St Ives which were very reasonable (£5-6 each way) but you can get the train if you are not out too late.

We ate at the Porthminster Cafe one night on the owners recommendation where we ate a delicious meal (service miserable though!) and then walked up to St Ives where the shops are open late in high season.

Overall, I cannot recommend this B and B more highly. We would like to some back next year and stay in the 'Sennen' room which has a view of the sea. It is worth mentioning that "Mousehole" does not have a stand up shower which wasnt a problem for a short break really. It has a luxury roll top bath with a hand held shower which was fine for me but b/f prefers a shower!

This place is not a b and b at all but a beautiful luxury hotel where every need has been considered. it is perfect for a romantic break. The price offers real value for money. We will definitely be back for another stay.

Thank you Mark and Fenella.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppyprew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

my boyfriend + i stayed in headland house luxury b&b for 5 nights, everything was perfect, i couldn't have asked for better, we both agreed its the nicest accomodation we've ever stayed at, even better than some 5star hotels! the rooms are amazing, we stayed in room 1 which has a lovely view of st ives, the breakfast was beautiful and the owners, mark+fenella couldn't have been any nicer, they were so welcoming, friendly, accomodating + helpful. there is complimentary home made cake, tea+coffee in a 'snug' room in the afternoons which is lovely to come bk to after a day of sightseeing. the b+b is a 2 minute walk to the train station, you get on at carbis bay where you can take the train to st ives, it takes maybe 3 mins to get to st ives + is £1 for a single ticket. if you want to walk in, its approx 30mins and a very enjoyable walk, we really enjoyed our stay at headland house. it is especially perfect for couples.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

What can I say that hasn't been said already? We booked our stay here on the strength of the reviews here, and they are right. Headland House is in a perfect location. Our room had beautiful views straight out to sea, the station is a 5 minute walk away for a 3 minute train journey into St Ives, or you can take a 25 minute walk there with lovely sea views all the way.

Headland House is the perfect B&B which feels more like a hotel - in a good way. The rooms are beautifully furnished, there are two comfortable rooms downstairs to sit in with free tea and cake in the afternoon or sherry in the evening (which we thought was a nice touch), the breakfasts are fantastic, and Mark and Fenella are the perfect hosts. They are friendly, chatty and hospitable with great recommendations for restaurants or days out when you want them, and totally unobtrusive and off doing their own thing in their part of the house when you'd rather be left alone.

I think I've used the word 'perfect' there three times. Because it is. Mark and Fenella really know how to run a top class bed and breakfast. Really I don't know what else they need to do to make it to No.1 in the Trip Advisor Ratings. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Property: Headland House
Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Headland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing