We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back tomorrow ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eleven Sea View Terrace
Ranked #23 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would go back tomorrow ”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but I can honestly say 11 sea view terrace was absolutely fantastic and I would go back in a flash. From the immaculately clean rooms to the beautiful views this place covers everything you need if you want to visit st Ives. The rooms were huge and beautifully decorated with a really relaxing feel. There is a fridge in your room with water and milk in and plenty of room to chill a good few bottles. The view looks straight down onto the harbour and to get there is about a 3 minute walk. And to top it off the guys that run this place are FAB!!!! So friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They had lots of choice for breakfast, great when you don't want a full English but want more than just cereal. I don't eat breakfast but my partner said it was so nice he asked for the same the next day. We were allowed to leave our car outside after check out and ice packs were frozen for us during our stay. And to top it off they were so welcoming and enjoyed having a joke with you. We stayed in 4 different places in Cornwall and this tops all of them by far. I just want to say thank you for such an amazing few days
Hazel, Royston x x

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hazelcoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
183
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our second visit to Eleven Sea View Terrace did not disappoint. The warm welcome from Grahame and John gave our stay a very good start. This time we had the rear facing suite with private roof terrace which was a sunny green oasis and sheltered from the sea breeze...almost worth missing the sea view for.
Grahame's now legendary local restaurant review is accurate and well worth following. Our favourite was the Porthmeor Cafe in front of the Tate, which has the best sunset too.

Breakfast was first class as expected, as was the whole experience.

This Is THE place to stay in St.Ives.

Travel tip - ignore the sat nav, ours took us to the wrong street. Road signage and instinct worked much better for us.

Room Tip: All 3 suites are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My sister and I have just spent a fantastic weekend in Suite 1 of this amazing B&B. The location is perfect with stunning views over St Ives harbour. The town - shops and restaurants - is only a short walk away. Fantastic to have been able to park at the B&B too - something not many other B&Bs in the town can offer.

Graham and John were perfect hosts; nothing was too much trouble, they were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The whole B&B was immaculate - spotlessly clean and stylish (a 'Boutique' hotel experience); and the front garden seating area was really attractive and inviting for sitting out with a bottle of wine.

We felt like we were the only people to have ever stayed in Suite 1 as the furnishings were so clean and fresh looking. The beds were made up as twin beds and were incredibly comfortable with luxuriously soft pillows and crisp white bed linen. So often in hotels and B&Bs, carpets can be slightly stained or worn in commonly walked on areas like beside the bed, but definitely not so here; everything was immaculate.

The breakfast was the best we have had in any previous hotel or B&B. No 'wet' unappetizing bacon, but lovely perfectly cooked grilled bacon, perfectly cooked scrambled eggs - neither too wet or too dry - and toast from fresh organic bread rather than the cold, soggy triangles of toast that are so often served in hotels. There was an excellent choice of fresh fruit salad, croissants, cereals, fruit juices etc, including home made marmalade - all completely fresh and displayed in a really appetizing way.

I would absolutely agree with previous reviews that this is as good as any 5* hotel, and better than many. We couldn't fault it. An added bonus was use of the B&B's card to get into the Tate Gallery and the Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Gardens for free.

By the way, anyone using the B&B's website directions to locate it, should not look for the Porthminster Hotel as this has now changed it's name to the St Ives Harbour Hotel.

All in all, a perfect stay and I would advise anyone looking for B&B accommodation in St Ives to try here FIRST! (Also, don't miss The Hub bar on the harbour front, for excellent home made burger/chips style food and lively atmosphere; and The Black Rock Restaurant for excellent 'fine dining' - couldn't fault either for quality of food, service and atmosphere).

Room Tip: Only 3 Suites - all looked lovely from the website, and we originally chose Suite 2, but were deligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flips64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I feel a bit mean giving only 4/5 however it should also be noted that I only give 5/5 for exceptional places. Over all this place is up there with others in its price range and for a luxury/boutique B&B; very nicely presented decor wise, breakfast very good etc. and of course parking outside - which in St ives is a great bonus.

We knew room 3 was the smaller of the rooms and yes it does have its own terrace. However, the space is quite tight and we are not heavy people. Perhaps a little too much furniture for the space. 1 armchair blocks access to the chest of drawers completely - had to be moved every time we wanted to get to the drawers - where it moved to then blocked the door to the terrace. No space to put up the luggage stand so unpacked our bags completely and put empty bags back in our car (we were offered storage for these). it felt as though we were always squeezing past things or each other to move around in the room. The ensuite - very nicely fitted out (shower no bath) was also 'cosy'. We were there 3 nights and the weather was fabulous so we weren't in our room much. In high season there is only £5 / day price differential to the much larger suite 2. I think this is my main problem for £120 a night the room is just not big enough.

The hosts were very helpful with directions/recommendations etc.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 only
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame13, Owner at Eleven Sea View Terrace, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay at Number 11. It appears from your comments that in most respects you enjoyed your visit and I am grateful for the elements of positive feedback. However, I am sorry to hear that the actual room did not live up to your expectations. The photograph of Suite 3 on my website shows all the furniture and the access to and from the roof terrace and also states that it has an en suite shower room not a bathroom so I am a little surprised why you felt the need to state that it does not have a bath. Your reservation was made knowing at the time it was the only available accommodation and you did not express any dissatisfaction during your stay!

For the benefit of anyone reading this response the room which internally measures 15ft x 9ft is more generous than accommodation to be found in many B & B's and has worked successfully for 9 years whether as a small double or as a single and many repeat guests request it specifically as they like the added advantage of the 12ft square roof terrace. I always offer to store large or bulky luggage so I am struggling to understand why the room appeared to be such an obstacle course on this particular occasion!

We all perceive value for money in different ways so I make no comment in this regard except to say that the combined internal and external floor area of Suite 3 is greater than that of the internal area of the other 2 suites. The current price structure for Suite 3 takes account of the combined floor area minus the sea view and seems therefore to strike a fair balance when compared to the other 2 suites which do not have any exclusive external space.

I am not planning to make any changes!

Regards,

GRAHAME WHEELBAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Spent 3 nights there recently. Cant really add anything to the other reviews here. Hosts are excellent , cleanliness superb , location great ... car parking is usable but was a tad tight for me in my bigger car but having ANY parking in St Ives is invaluable so its very positive the fact they have parking for all guests.

Breakfast is lovely , freshly made to order ..

Had an excellent time and if i return to St Ives I know I wont stay anywhere else..superb.. Thank you to our hosts..worth every penny...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkinghrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at 11 Sea View Terrace. The room was outstanding, the view unforgettable and our expectations were more than exceeded. The whole house is so tastefully decorated and the setting is perfect. The service provided by our hosts was impeccable. They were helpful, attentive and gave great advice on where to eat. The breakfast served was excellent and everything served was fresh. We enjoyed every minute of our time there. If we are in the area again we will definitely be staying at 11 Sea View Terrace. We will definitely recommend the house to our friends and family if they are travelling to St. Ives.

Room Tip: Ask for Suite 1 the view is incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Flyer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just spent a fantastic week in this lovely B&B in St Ives. We stayed in two different suites both really comfortable, tastefully decorated ( like the rest of the B&B ) but suite 1 marginally better because of the fantastic views across the harbour. This really is a very tasteful and upmarket B&B and the attention to detail is excellent from the facilities in the rooms to the breakfast, the decor, the art on exhibit. However the thing that set this apart for us were the two hosts Grahame and John who quite clearly are very committed to the B&B and ensuing their guests are made welcome and get the most out of their visit to St Ives and its environs. They are both very charming hosts. They really made our visit very easy indeed. Can't recommend this B&B enough!!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with the harbour view but if you can't get it don't let that stop you goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#24 of 102 in St Ives
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Atlantic
The Atlantic
#7 of 7 in Carbis Bay
31 reviews
2.6 mi away
Halwell Lodge
Halwell Lodge
#18 of 102 in St Ives
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Leaf Guest House
Little Leaf Guest House
#3 of 102 in St Ives
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleven Sea View Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleven Sea View Terrace

Property: Eleven Sea View Terrace
Address: 11 Sea View Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Eleven Sea View Terrace Hotel St Ives
11 Sea View Terrace
Eleven Sea View Terrace St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing