We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY COMMENT ON MrandMrsMarley REVIEW 06/09/10 FROM A PREVIOUS GUEST”
Review of The Nook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Nook
Ranked #35 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“MY COMMENT ON MrandMrsMarley REVIEW 06/09/10 FROM A PREVIOUS GUEST”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We as a family of 4 have only stayed at the Nook once since new ownership and probably 20 times when the previous owners had it (Mr/s Dodd)

I was sat at work poking round the internet (as you do!!!) when I spotted this review from MrandMrsMarley and just had to pass comment on what in our opinion is blatant stupidity on behalf of the guest!!

We stayed for a week a few years ago and can only say that the owners are the nicest people you could ever hope to meet and the service was second to none. I in my line of work meet 1000,s of people every year from all walks of life so am fully qualified in passing this comment.

Anybody looking for a perfect holiday, with perfect people and in a perfect location (yeh alright its a 10 minute walk but your on holiday!!) This is the ideal place to stay.

it's inspired me to think that we need to go back. We are going to St.ives in August this year and staying at Ayr caravan park round the corner in a static caravan. Which by the way is more expensive!! Think we might pop in for a drink if youll have us?

Stay at the Nook you will not regret it.

regards

The Oliver family

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryhs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Wow - thank you so much for your comments Mr Oliver. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time and trouble to write this fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you in August for a cup of tea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    73
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
130
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed hear a few years ago and we were not disappointed on our return this time.
The rooms are nice and clean and have all the facilities you can require in a B&B including a carparking space ( a rare thing in St Ives )
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Nook again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank may_an_mar_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your review. It is always great when guests return as this is a true measure of our services. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

After reading some of the reviews we had some reservations about staying at the Noock, but prooved to be quit wrong! We thouroughly enjoyed our stay here! Very friendly and warm welcome made us feel right at home.
Rooms are new, modern and nicely decorated, bathrooms not large but sufficient space and well put together. Nice new fluffy towels. Everything was very clean.

Plenty of choice at breakfast, all freshly coocked to order. Can imagine rooms might get a little warm during hot summer days, but there are fans available for use. Luckily we had very quiet neighbours, but the walls between rooms are a little thin. To be expected in a guesthouse though, it is not a hotel.
Very much enjoyed our stay, and will definetely come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InspectorGotcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and pointing out that we are in fact a guest house and not a hotel. We always market ourselves as a guest house but sometimes it does get misrepresented. John and I are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you to The Nook in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Stayed here for the weekend first the plus points very clean, nice people, great breakfast. near the Tate.
Not so good small room, paper thin walls (you can here a whisper in the next room) very hot rooms. Staff (Lady) could not recommend the best places to eat, we were told to look around and see what looked good and then book for the evening,
Good value for the price, better than the chintz that seems to be the norm for a few more of the B&Bs

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast selection and the decor. We try very hard to keep the guest house as modern and contemporary as possible.

St Ives is fortunate to have a huge number of high quality restaurants and it is difficult for us to gauge guests' personal tastes. Therefore unless guests are seeking a particular style of food we do suggest that they take time to explore the town and the menus.

We rarely receive any feedback on noise but we are sorry if you experienced this during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

From our first contact with the Nook owners we were put at ease,so helpful especially when we had to cancel 1 room.Joan greeted us & throughout our short stay impressed us with her professional manner.
We loved the Nook ,what a brilliant idea to have a communal lounge area must be a real hit during the summer with families.
We enjoyed St Ives & must say that the Sloop was fab buzzing & had really good food.
Thankyou we will be back

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments. We appreciate people taking time to provide excellent feedback and letting us know what we do well as this helps us maintain our standards.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Nook in the future.

John and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2011

What a fantastic place to stay pure quality very clean very well decorated lovely people.
good breakfast too

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gee891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your kind comments.

John and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed at the Nook for 3 days over the new year period, and having read the reviews before we booked we were pretty confident that we were in for a good stay. Well, we actually had a great stay! The welcome on arrival (were even offered a tea on arrival in the lounge area), the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, the service and standards were all top drawer. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed every other day.The free wi fi was also a great perk to look up local attractions and things to do. There was nothing we could fault at all here. The location is ideal for the town, and if you know St Ives where parking is a premium, this was as close to the town with parking included. We were in and out of town daily and had no issues with the hills. St Ives is built on hills so we knew what to expect.
Great breakfast also with a selection of different options from healthy and light, to the full English. I rate a hotel by it's sausages, and they were great ! Butchers own standard all round.We will be going back again and will look to book one of their premium rooms next time for a little more space and perhaps a view.
Thanks very much the Nook, see you again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your excellent feedback. We really appreciate your comments.

John and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#13 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#11 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nook

Property: The Nook
Address: 5 Ayr Terrace, St Ives TR26 1ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nook 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nook guest house in St Ives, Cornwall, is close to the Porthmeor Surfing Beach, the Tate Gallery, St Ives Harbour and town centre.Our on-site car park means the guest house is an ideal base for exploring Cornwall’s spectacular coastline, gardens and countryside. If you want to stay closer to home you could simply soak up the beauty and atmosphere of St Ives with its art galleries and cobbled streets. The Nook offers bedrooms with full en-suite facilities and a modern and contemporary feel and has been awarded an AA 4 Star Gold Star Award for Guest Accommodation.For the safety and comfort of all our guests we operate a no smoking policy. Guests wishing to smoke may use the outside patio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Nook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nook Hotel St Ives
Nook St Ives
Nook Hotel St Ives
The Nook St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing